Alex - 9/28 - Yikes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
So I increased Alex's dose last night to 1.6.
at +3 he was at 240 (flat since PMPS)

We had a lot of work problems, so I didn't sleep well and while I didn't test Alex, he seemed fine through the night. The outside temps are a little chilly so both Audrey and Alex were on the bed by my feet for several hours.

AMPS -- 117; 30 minutes later, 132.
We didn't give a shot and I had to leave for work.
I'm hoping to leave here around lunch time today to go see what's up.
 
WOW...what a change in one day!

Good Luck!

Sir Alex is a lot like Thumper....he always keeps it interesting!
 
Darn. Guess you need a chicken sh$& dose that you could give? Maybe .3 or .5 when you see those low numbers so you don't have to skip? As long as he is headed up.......

Anyway, nice morning number Alex.
 
I attended my morning meetings and then drove home. DH will have to take the bus home. :smile:

+18 - 232 (not too bad, huh?) and I shot .8.
 
Not bad at all. What are you thinking next? 1.5 when you get back on track? If you had been able to be home, it would have been nice to catch the 150 -200 number and gotten a little more aggressive.

Course, Alex may throw some curves. He seems to react to lower numbers with some higher stuff that second/third cycle. But I wonder if you could try a BAM dose this weekend and see if you could get him down in some lower numbers. The 1.6 might have gotten him down in the 40s overnight - or it might have been a nice manageable 60 and he just surfed into the amps........Then we would need a game plan for a lower amps, maybe shooting into a 150 range with something?

Let's see what others think. Barbara's numbers are making me think we need to be a little more agressive with the doses?
 
yes, I'm thinking about 1.5 tonight (depending of course on his PMPS). This is the weekend we're going to travel to my parents, hopefully with Alex, so I don't think that is the time to try a BAM dose--and could you be a bit more specific on what you think a BAM dose is? ;-) , but would certainly be willing to try it the following weekend.

After his 12:30 snack, he came running up the stairs with his ears laid back and full of energy. Hadn't seen that in a while. It did my heart good to see a glimpse of the old Alex.
 
Not the time for BAM. Let's talk about it when you get back. Hope your trip is calm and then, fun. One thing that helped us in the car was to take several things that smelled like home along - the pad he sleeps on and an old towel from his carrier. At least I imagine they helped.....

It is so good to hear he is tearing around the house again.
 
You are going to have to shoot later than usual, your usual PMPS will only be 6 hours after the .8u shot and that is too early to shoot again.

You got your BAM dose last night with the 1.6u and this mornings bg of 117. Now we want to keep him in these lower numbers. cat_pet_icon Good boy Alex.
 
OK. So let's talk about normal PMPS time. I did reduce the normal dose by almost half, so I'm not positive that Alex won't be shootable at +12. (We could start a casino and gamble on our sugar kitties. ) Plus DH will be home by himself tonight, so I need a plan.
 
GO ALEX!!
that is wonderful, and the +18 is great!
cant wait for tonight!

drinking24 ...Here's to keeping alex in good numbers!!
 
Does DH test? I think I've heard that you don't want to shoot any sooner than +9 to make sure they are past nadir and that their bg's are rising.

You could test and shoot after he's above 150 to 200 but shoot a reduced dose around 1 unit, less if around 150 more if closer to 200.

Remember that an early shot = a dose increase so for every hour early you are shave a .1u off the dose.

Good luck.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Does DH test?

Yes, hubby does test and shoot. He just doesn't make a lot of decisions about dose.

Rob & Harley said:
Remember that an early shot = a dose increase so for every hour early you are shave a .1u off the dose.

I don't understand this. If an early shot calls for a dose increase, shouldn't I be adding .1 instead of shaving it off?
 
I shot today at 12:30 pm when I normally shot at 6:30 AM. If I postpone my 6:30 pm shot to 9:30 pm, is this an early shot or a late shot? Sorry. Don't mean to be stupid.

At +18, he was 232 and I shot .8.
At +5, he's at 263.

I will be home by 9:00 or 9:30 tonight so will hold off until then before we shoot. That will be 9 hours since the previous shot.
 
If your second shot is 9 hours after your first, it is early. As long as he is rising, you should be fine.

By the BAM, I was thinking you would shoot the 1.6 (which gave you a long lower cycle ) and be ready to shoot a dose into lower numbers (150-200) if you get them at pre shot. Would require some extra monitoring and testing, so a weekend would be best.
 
Of all the times to do this, I shot a dang fur shot--maybe I partial b/c I know all the insulin didn't go in

His +9 was 329 and I shot 1.5. Guess we'll see what tomorrow brings.
 
BAM dose = for when they are stuck in higher numbers. Sometimes they seem to need a little extra oomph to break through the floor and down to better numbers. Presumably due to temporary insulin resistance that has set in.

Early shot acts like a dose increase, not calls for a dose increase.

Late shot acts like a dose decrease, not calls for a dose decrease.

It all goes to overlap - when you shoot early the previous shot is (ECID) still in their system a little bit, so it adds oomph to the shot, so you need to decrease the dose a little. When you shoot late, the earlier shot is even more worn off than it would be at +12, so (ECID) you need a little extra oomph to get results, hence you increase the dose a little.

I think of it like driving a car - you want to get to a nice cruising speed on 12/12 shots, where every 12 hours you are giving it enough gas to keep going at highway speed. A late shot is like you came to a stop by shot time, and have to accerate again to get to cruising speed = you need more gas. An early shot is like adding more juice when you are still at cruising speed - a little bit is good and can give you a nice boost to pass someone, but too much and you shoot ahead more than you want to. So you reduce the dose a little bit to be sure you don't break the speed limit. :mrgreen:

From your friendly neighborhood diabetes dictionary :-D

Yay blue PS!!!! Curve ball, but at least a good one, yippee!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Early shot acts like a dose increase, not calls for a dose increase.

Late shot acts like a dose decrease, not calls for a dose decrease.

Thanks, Joanna, the "acts" vs. "not calls" finally got through to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top