Alex - 9/21 - AMPS 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
Last night, I fed Alex a bigger bedtime snack and this morning ---AMPS was 147. Any relationship to the increased food?
Hubby, when not travelling for business, takes care of the morning poke and shot, and doesn't know about getting a low number and waiting for 15-20 minutes to check again. So, he got the 147 and fed Alex. Fortunately, I did "train" him not to shoot a full dose at this number.
After b'fast, Alex was at 187 and we shot 1 unit.

Good decision? Bad decision?
 
Food could have made his number rise. Keep an eye on him and test today. You can always try to get some medium carb food in him if he looks like he’s dropping too fast.
You’ll be fine, you know what to do :)
 
I would love to know what he did all day, but unfortunately I couldn't work from home today, but his PMPS was high at 354.
I guess I shouldn't have lowered his AM dose so much?
 
Rock and a hard place, Ginny. It's always on days like this that kitty is going to throw you a curveball. Tough not to reduce on a low AMPS when you know you aren't going to be around during the day. Even with the lower dose, he may have went low and his liver panicked.

We all need some Prozanc!

Carl
 
Ginny & Alex said:
I would love to know what he did all day, but unfortunately I couldn't work from home today, but his PMPS was high at 354.
I guess I shouldn't have lowered his AM dose so much?

Or he could have gone low, that is just another option to consider.
 
I am thinking like Robin.....could have gone low just as likely as thinking the dose was short.
 
Nice +4, a little early but still nice. You have plenty of room to drop.

That makes me think that he went low today. They are more sensitive to insulin after going low which would explain why you are getting a nicer +4.
 
I agree, he probably saw some green action when you couldn't be there to test and had a bounce.
Looking good today!
 
I was thinking he might go low, that’s why I asked if you could test. So low, then a bounce is my vibe too on what happened....
 
I will take those two preshots....even on +8 TID dosing!

Is Sir Alex going to make the trip with you to your parents?
 
we'll take Alex on another ride this weekend to see how he does, but that's the plan. It should make for an interesting trip!! The trip is the first weekend in Oct.
 
Ginny, what will you do with him when you get there? Has he ever visited before? And what about Audrey?
 
Ginny & Alex said:
Last night, I fed Alex a bigger bedtime snack and this morning ---AMPS was 147. Any relationship to the increased food?
Hubby, when not travelling for business, takes care of the morning poke and shot, and doesn't know about getting a low number and waiting for 15-20 minutes to check again. So, he got the 147 and fed Alex. Fortunately, I did "train" him not to shoot a full dose at this number.
After b'fast, Alex was at 187 and we shot 1 unit.

Good decision? Bad decision?

When was that late night snack in relation to the PM shot?
Here's my theory....
The boost from eating the snack gave him just enough BG to stop his liver from kicking in. No liver panic, no high AMPS. So the late snack served as "prozanc".... if this is in fact what happened, it would be a great way to control mid cycle overnight lows resulting in unwanted bounces.

Carl
 
Barbara said:
Ginny, what will you do with him when you get there? Has he ever visited before? And what about Audrey?

Fortunately, my parents also own the house that used to belong to my grandparents and it's next door. So we get a house of our own. Alex and Audrey have been there--many years ago when they were kittens and youngsters. I think it's better to leave Audrey here b/c I'm afraid if Alex does get pissy and he's in their carrier, I'm afraid he will attack her.

carlinsc said:
When was that late night snack in relation to the PM shot?
Here's my theory....
The boost from eating the snack gave him just enough BG to stop his liver from kicking in. No liver panic, no high AMPS. So the late snack served as "prozanc".... if this is in fact what happened, it would be a great way to control mid cycle overnight lows resulting in unwanted bounces.

That snack was about +5 and I always give him a snack at about that time, but I had doubled the serving size to get that good AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top