Advise please....Low pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.
Casey's pmps is 185. This is her first day all canned. If she doesn't rise up in a retest in 20 what do you think I should do? Skip?
 
It looks like she is definitely headed up and she is close to 200. If you shoot, can you get a before bed test to be sure she is staying high enough? I think I might reduce to .5. It might not be enough, but with a new diet, she might drop longer than she has in previous cycles. You hold the syringe; you decide. Regardless, I would definitely reduce the dose to less than 1.5
 
She dropped from 256 to 159 on 1.5 units which means 1 unit might drop her about 85 mg/dL. 0.5 is more likely to be safe and not turn your hair white.
 
It looks like she is definitely headed up and she is close to 200. If you shoot, can you get a before bed test to be sure she is staying high enough? I think I might reduce to .5. It might not be enough, but with a new diet, she might drop longer than she has in previous cycles. You hold the syringe; you decide. Regardless, I would definitely reduce the dose to less than 1.5
She dropped from 256 to 159 on 1.5 units which means 1 unit might drop her about 85 mg/dL. 0.5 is more likely to be safe and not turn your hair white.


Thanks for the help! I gave her .5 to be on the safe side. Also, she didn't eat all her food. The vet said she should get 325 calories per day. I am not used to feeding canned so according to the can that would be 2 5.5 cans per day. But, she doesn't eat it all. This morning she ate about 3/4. When I got home from work at 5 she still had not eaten the rest. I just gave her another can and she only ate a little more than half. Am I giving her too much? She is 13 lbs but was 16 prior to the diabetes and overweight...still pudgy if you ask me.
 
Sometimes it takes them awhile to get really interested in new food. You might try adding a small amount of warm water the food and making a gravy. The pate may be chunkier than they are used to. You can also "dress" the top of the food with a treat she likes.

The dose sounds good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top