Advice with Lantus PM dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gilan Israel

Member Since 2023
Chairman Meow is still not regulated. We're still new to this, trying the Tight Regulation method with Lantus. Currently we're trying 1.25 units, but we're worried about we're worried about her going into hypo overnight. Daytime nadirs have been around 60-64. What should her BG be before the PM dosage? When it's something like 157 or 145, what kind of dosage should she get?

Previously when she was on 1 unit, we were seeing highs in the 400s and 500s.

Please advise.

Link to her chart:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1cdFZTrCyyZ5QF3hRTzkUIvu21-1C25hkeAKigNkE49Q/edit?usp=sharing
 
Hello and welcome. Before I get onto dosing, there is some information that you can provide us with in your signature that will give us some more detail and be helpful to us. Details in here:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Both of our dosing methods (tight regulation and start low go slow) don't really take the value of the preshot into consideration when determining what dose to shoot. We base that decision primarily on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. There are a couple of caveats to that. It is possible that the preshot value is too low to shoot - which is why we always test before shooting. The second caveat is how new you are to managing feline diabetes, and what blood sugar data you have collected so far. I see very little night time test data. Many cats go lower at night, and we need to see what is happening at night to see if kitty is getting a lower number that requires a dose reduction. When people are new here, and posting on this forum, we suggest not shooting below 200. Over time and with data, that number is lowered.

When you have the chance during the day, it's also be good to get some spot checks in the +4 to +7 time frame, as many cats have their lowest points then.
 
A few observations...

It is also important to get a minimum of one test during the PM cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle. If you are not testing during the PM cycle, you are missing half of your data. It also may mean that Chairman Meow's numbers could have potentially dropped to a point where a dose reduction was indicated. There are also times when numbers drop and a cat's liver and pancreas react to the drop in numbers by releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause blood glucose numbers to spike upward. Without seeing what's happening in the evenings, we can't really help to interpret what's going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top