Maddie & Kai
Member Since 2024
Hello fellow sugar kitty parents!
I don't really post much here, I'm more of a reader. However, I am seeking some advice and council about our current situation. Our goal is regulation not remission.
I'll start from the beginning and I apologies in advance, I tend to over explain things.
Kai was diagnosed in late 2020 with diabetes. Unfortunately, our window of opportunity for remission has come and gone, and I still blame myself for that. Now we are just struggling with a consistent regulation.
We started out on Vetsulin with his original vet who diagnosed him. They told us to feed him Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food mixed with 1/2 can of the wet food and to come back every 3-6 months for regular fructosamine test to have his insulin dose adjusted. I know now, that is not a great way to manage feline diabetes. During that time we thought he was doing well on 5.5 units of Vetsulin until August of 2023 when he had a hypoglycemic episode.
After that we switched to a new vet - a cat only vet. Our new vet immediately switched his insulin to Prozinc and encouraged us to do at home testing and glucose curves. At that time, I still had not found or joined this forum. So the at home testing was just a glucose curve here and there.
I had high hopes for the Prozinc until Kai had another hypo episode on January 2nd of this year. What a great way for us to start the new year off. After this hypo episode his numbers began to jump around and we couldn't figure out what was causing it. That was when I finally found this forum and joined it.
I will be honest, I was skeptical and pessimistic about this forum when I first found it. Was I really about to take advice from random strangers calming to know more about feline diabetes than my vet?
You bet I was!
I was desperate. And I'm so glad I took that chance. Since then, I have learned so much from this forum and the wonderful caring people who occupy it. Overall, I am embarrassed and ashamed about how poorly uneducated I was on feline diabetes after having a sugar kitty for nearly 4 years. If only I had known then what I know now... I probably could have gotten Kai into remission... or maybe not. The "what ifs" will always be there but for now I am going to continue trying to learn as much as a I can on how to help him.
After his 2nd hypo episode we continued to try and regulate him on the Prozinc with no success. As of April of 2024 we switched him to Lantus and I have been slowly trying to get him regulated on it. Very Very slowly.
In July I did have him up to 2 units and he seemed to be doing well on it. He was still running a little high but after 2 hypo incidents I would rather him be running a little high than too low (Note: I do test him regularly for Ketones). I was fully expecting we would eventually work our way up to at least 3 units. But overall, I could tell the Lantus was much gentler on him and working much better than the Prozinc.
I went out of town for the 4th of July and boarded him with his vet for a week. However, a week after I brought him home from boarding, his numbers began to bounce around again. But you wouldn't have know that just by looking at him, because he acted fine. In fact he acted like he felt great. But those blue and green numbers confused and scared the heck out of me. It was like holding ticking hypoglycemic time bomb. It was only a matter of time.
Our vet ended up putting him on an antibiotic. She believed that he could have some sort of infection or inflammation somewhere and that could possible be what was throwing his numbers off. His urine test at that time did show elevated leukocytes, but everything else looked fine.
We began taking the antibiotic and I also ended up reducing his insulin dose back to 1.5 units. Those two things seemed to help. Its has been a good while since I have recorded any random green numbers. However, his numbers overall still don't make sense and it has both me and the vet scratching our heads. We have run all sorts of tests that have failed to give us any clues as to what is going on with this cat. Other than a little diarrhea, which is probably from the antibiotic, this cat acts fine. At this point, she seems to think it may be a hormonal thing. She has referred us to two Internal Feline Medicine clinics. We won't be able to get a consult with either of them until December. So for now, I am going to try and continue to work with him on the Lantus and pray that we can get this under control ourselves before December. I'll be honestly, my "raining cats and dogs" funds are starting to dry up.
Which brings me to my question...
Last week we did a Fructosamine test and the results obviously showed Kai was averaging high on 1.5 units of Lantus. His spreadsheet also confirms that. My vet told me that if I felt comfortable, I could bump him up to 2 units and see how he reacted to that. She seems to think, that we could be paying too much attention to the glucometer numbers and not the cat.
So this morning I bumped Kai back up to 2 units with the plan to keep him on 2 units for the next several days and then preform a curve this Sunday. However his PMPS was in the blue this evening. I was expecting it to be in the yellow. I didn't think 2 units would really bring him down and keep him that low. Considering he was previously on 2 units and still running a little high. That scares me in to over thinking and second guessing my next move.
AMPS: 349-AlphaTrak (wasn't able to get ReliOn reading)
+6hr: 161-AlphaTrak/158-ReliOn.
PMPS: 176-AlphaTrak / 161-Relion
I am stalling an hour without feeding him to see if he will continue to rise. I have a feeling he will.
If he continues to rise then I will give him the full 2 units... maybe... it depends on how high he rises. But if he dosen't rise... I'm not sure... I may just give him a reduced dose of 1-1.5 units. But if I do that then I know I have to start over. And its only day 1.
I know its only the first day of an increased dose and his body needs time to adjust but I'm just so afraid of another hypo episode. But i'm also afraid that my timidness towards the blue and green numbers that show up in the AM and PM may be the real problem and I'm the one hindering progress.
Can someone please take a look at his spreadsheet and tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Is it me? Is it him? It's probably me.
Am I focusing too much on the numbers? Am testing too much? Am I testing too little?
I did just get a ReliOn meter so I can do a lot more testing without breaking the bank for a $60 bottle of the AlphaTrak test strips now.
Maybe i'm feeding him wrong? It's an all wet diet. Weruva Paw Lickin Chicken and Amazon Livin. All the good requirements. I have a whole separate tab for food research on his spreadsheet. His current food is highlighted in green. And I have also started adding food notes to each day. I recently altered his feeding schedule so he gets lunch, but sometimes he dosen't finish all of his breakfast so I finish feeding him that for lunch plus a little bit of extra, but then sometime he dosen't even eat all of that. Overall his calorie intake is like 210 - 250. Is that too much or too little? He has lost some weight since February. He went from 17lbs to 15.2lbs as of this month. But January was when I switched his food to all wet AND I have been trying to motivate him into exercising and play more. I would like for him to continue loosing weight, but not if its messing with his readings.
I thought maybe it could be the AlphTrak so I just purchased a ReliOn meter a few days ago and i'm doing side by side testing now. It's noted in his spreadsheet.
All his blood test come back clean and normal, other than the obvious diabetic cat things. Urine test show the same - everything is normal, no Ketones either. On paper he looks like a typical diabetic cat.
So what am I doing wrong?
I don't really post much here, I'm more of a reader. However, I am seeking some advice and council about our current situation. Our goal is regulation not remission.
I'll start from the beginning and I apologies in advance, I tend to over explain things.
Kai was diagnosed in late 2020 with diabetes. Unfortunately, our window of opportunity for remission has come and gone, and I still blame myself for that. Now we are just struggling with a consistent regulation.
We started out on Vetsulin with his original vet who diagnosed him. They told us to feed him Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food mixed with 1/2 can of the wet food and to come back every 3-6 months for regular fructosamine test to have his insulin dose adjusted. I know now, that is not a great way to manage feline diabetes. During that time we thought he was doing well on 5.5 units of Vetsulin until August of 2023 when he had a hypoglycemic episode.
After that we switched to a new vet - a cat only vet. Our new vet immediately switched his insulin to Prozinc and encouraged us to do at home testing and glucose curves. At that time, I still had not found or joined this forum. So the at home testing was just a glucose curve here and there.
I had high hopes for the Prozinc until Kai had another hypo episode on January 2nd of this year. What a great way for us to start the new year off. After this hypo episode his numbers began to jump around and we couldn't figure out what was causing it. That was when I finally found this forum and joined it.
I will be honest, I was skeptical and pessimistic about this forum when I first found it. Was I really about to take advice from random strangers calming to know more about feline diabetes than my vet?
You bet I was!
I was desperate. And I'm so glad I took that chance. Since then, I have learned so much from this forum and the wonderful caring people who occupy it. Overall, I am embarrassed and ashamed about how poorly uneducated I was on feline diabetes after having a sugar kitty for nearly 4 years. If only I had known then what I know now... I probably could have gotten Kai into remission... or maybe not. The "what ifs" will always be there but for now I am going to continue trying to learn as much as a I can on how to help him.
After his 2nd hypo episode we continued to try and regulate him on the Prozinc with no success. As of April of 2024 we switched him to Lantus and I have been slowly trying to get him regulated on it. Very Very slowly.
In July I did have him up to 2 units and he seemed to be doing well on it. He was still running a little high but after 2 hypo incidents I would rather him be running a little high than too low (Note: I do test him regularly for Ketones). I was fully expecting we would eventually work our way up to at least 3 units. But overall, I could tell the Lantus was much gentler on him and working much better than the Prozinc.
I went out of town for the 4th of July and boarded him with his vet for a week. However, a week after I brought him home from boarding, his numbers began to bounce around again. But you wouldn't have know that just by looking at him, because he acted fine. In fact he acted like he felt great. But those blue and green numbers confused and scared the heck out of me. It was like holding ticking hypoglycemic time bomb. It was only a matter of time.
Our vet ended up putting him on an antibiotic. She believed that he could have some sort of infection or inflammation somewhere and that could possible be what was throwing his numbers off. His urine test at that time did show elevated leukocytes, but everything else looked fine.
We began taking the antibiotic and I also ended up reducing his insulin dose back to 1.5 units. Those two things seemed to help. Its has been a good while since I have recorded any random green numbers. However, his numbers overall still don't make sense and it has both me and the vet scratching our heads. We have run all sorts of tests that have failed to give us any clues as to what is going on with this cat. Other than a little diarrhea, which is probably from the antibiotic, this cat acts fine. At this point, she seems to think it may be a hormonal thing. She has referred us to two Internal Feline Medicine clinics. We won't be able to get a consult with either of them until December. So for now, I am going to try and continue to work with him on the Lantus and pray that we can get this under control ourselves before December. I'll be honestly, my "raining cats and dogs" funds are starting to dry up.
Which brings me to my question...
Last week we did a Fructosamine test and the results obviously showed Kai was averaging high on 1.5 units of Lantus. His spreadsheet also confirms that. My vet told me that if I felt comfortable, I could bump him up to 2 units and see how he reacted to that. She seems to think, that we could be paying too much attention to the glucometer numbers and not the cat.
So this morning I bumped Kai back up to 2 units with the plan to keep him on 2 units for the next several days and then preform a curve this Sunday. However his PMPS was in the blue this evening. I was expecting it to be in the yellow. I didn't think 2 units would really bring him down and keep him that low. Considering he was previously on 2 units and still running a little high. That scares me in to over thinking and second guessing my next move.
AMPS: 349-AlphaTrak (wasn't able to get ReliOn reading)
+6hr: 161-AlphaTrak/158-ReliOn.
PMPS: 176-AlphaTrak / 161-Relion
I am stalling an hour without feeding him to see if he will continue to rise. I have a feeling he will.
If he continues to rise then I will give him the full 2 units... maybe... it depends on how high he rises. But if he dosen't rise... I'm not sure... I may just give him a reduced dose of 1-1.5 units. But if I do that then I know I have to start over. And its only day 1.
I know its only the first day of an increased dose and his body needs time to adjust but I'm just so afraid of another hypo episode. But i'm also afraid that my timidness towards the blue and green numbers that show up in the AM and PM may be the real problem and I'm the one hindering progress.
Can someone please take a look at his spreadsheet and tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Is it me? Is it him? It's probably me.
Am I focusing too much on the numbers? Am testing too much? Am I testing too little?
I did just get a ReliOn meter so I can do a lot more testing without breaking the bank for a $60 bottle of the AlphaTrak test strips now.
Maybe i'm feeding him wrong? It's an all wet diet. Weruva Paw Lickin Chicken and Amazon Livin. All the good requirements. I have a whole separate tab for food research on his spreadsheet. His current food is highlighted in green. And I have also started adding food notes to each day. I recently altered his feeding schedule so he gets lunch, but sometimes he dosen't finish all of his breakfast so I finish feeding him that for lunch plus a little bit of extra, but then sometime he dosen't even eat all of that. Overall his calorie intake is like 210 - 250. Is that too much or too little? He has lost some weight since February. He went from 17lbs to 15.2lbs as of this month. But January was when I switched his food to all wet AND I have been trying to motivate him into exercising and play more. I would like for him to continue loosing weight, but not if its messing with his readings.
I thought maybe it could be the AlphTrak so I just purchased a ReliOn meter a few days ago and i'm doing side by side testing now. It's noted in his spreadsheet.
All his blood test come back clean and normal, other than the obvious diabetic cat things. Urine test show the same - everything is normal, no Ketones either. On paper he looks like a typical diabetic cat.
So what am I doing wrong?
Last edited:

