advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Molly

Active Member
We increased molly's dose from 2.0 to 2.25 two days ago (pls see ss _ on a crackberry, hard to do this). Stopped home for 5 minutes and tested her. At +10.5 she was 58. I have no idea if she was lower as I've been at work the last 2 days. I will b heading home for pm shot time. From ur experience and knowledge' what would u give tonight? 2.0 or 2.5?
 
I forgot to add that I fed a little low carb ff before walking out door (I doubt she's going lower then 58 @10.5 but just in case).
 
You were getting results with the 2.25 so I would stay there. I know it is hard for you to shoot those lower numbers, but since you would be getting a before bed check in tonight, I probably would have gone with the same dose on the PMPS 125, but no matter.

She seems to be getting movement now on the 2.25 and the 2.0 unit dose doesn't seem to be working so I wouldn't go back to that. Again, I know it is hard not being able to be there during the weekdays, but please do not skip those before bed checks at least.
 
I understand your discomfort at shooting the lower numbers and I understand why folks encourage you to shoot them.....Can you compromise at pulling the 2.25u dose and squeezing off 1drop? Maybe get you at around 2.15 or 2.1 to get Molly lower, but not so low.

I'm thinking you need to get to a dose you can comfortably and reliably shoot so you can accumulate enough time ona dose to get a proper curve and re-evaluate.

My 3.5 cents worth ;-) ( American $ )
 
I would have done just what you did - not saying that is the "right" thing to do....

I always read, and expected to follow, "shoot low to stay low". The problem was that Beau never ready that. (I'm not sure if Jeddie has or not). So I went ahead and shot on a PS of 89 or something, can't remember. And down he went! It was an evening or weekend, so I knew I would be home to test.

I guess my advice would be to make sure the first few times you shoot a full dose on a lower PS like this that you will be home to get some spot checks. Then you will know how she will react and if it is safe. You also have to consider if she was lower earlier. She very well might have been, so I don't find a reduction all that bad.

And you may find that she needs more than 2u and less than 2.25u, so you should try what Melissa suggested with giving 2.15u (or there about).
 
No closer to figuring out the correct dose. It really appears that somewhere btw 2u and 2.25u is the best dose. How to shoot that amount is beyond me as it's not just me shooting but also Will.

Yesterday:
amps 252 shot 2.25
+4.5 186
+9.6 58
pmps 125 shot 2
+3 128

Today:
amps 230 shot 2.25
+3 204
+6 74 -had to leave and was afraid she'd go lower so i gave a sm. amount of FF
+10 105
 
Can't help with the dosing dilemma other than to say 58 is actually a normal BG so it does not necessarily mean a dose reduction is needed. She was late enough in the cycle for that to be nadir and typical to see 50s at nadir on Lev.

The important thing is determining if she's going to go lower, or has been lower. Only a complete curve on a steady dose (one that has been held for 3 days with no schedule disruptions or diet/feeding changes) is going to give the complete picture.

I'd stay with the 2.25U
 
I have no dosing advice......

but wanted to point out that it looks like Molly has gotten herself out of the 300's - I haven't been around, so maybe you already noticed, but I'm impressed!

(Emoticons bit the dust with the old computer, to my deep sorrow. Pretend there's a cheerleader here!)
 
I think you're all right - i think i need to stick with the 2.25u for a few days and then conduct a curve. Not going to lie, i'm a little scared of shooting 2.25u and then walking out the door given the 58 @ +9.5 (did she go lower earlier?) and the 74 @ +6 (did she go lower afterwards?). My gut -which is what i really need to go with- tells me that 2.25 is perfectly fine and i need to stick with it unless data indicates otherwise.

Here's the past 3 days (including the dose yo-yo effect)...

Saturday 3/6:
amps 252 shot 2.25
+4.5 186
+9.6 58
pmps 125 shot 2
+3 128

Sunday 3/7:
amps 230 shot 2.25
+3 204
+6 74 -had to leave and was afraid she'd go lower so i gave a sm. amount of FF
+10 105
pmps 165 shot 2u
+3 213

Today 3/8
amps 288 shot 2u
pmps 307 :cry: shot 2.25
 
Michele&Molly said:
I think you're all right - i think i need to stick with the 2.25u for a few days and then conduct a curve. Not going to lie, i'm a little scared of shooting 2.25u and then walking out the door given the 58 @ +9.5 (did she go lower earlier?) and the 74 @ +6 (did she go lower afterwards?). My gut -which is what i really need to go with- tells me that 2.25 is perfectly fine and i need to stick with it unless data indicates otherwise.

Here's the past 3 days (including the dose yo-yo effect)...

Saturday 3/6:
amps 252 shot 2.25
+4.5 186
+9.6 58
pmps 125 shot 2
+3 128

Sunday 3/7:
amps 230 shot 2.25
+3 204
+6 74 -had to leave and was afraid she'd go lower so i gave a sm. amount of FF
+10 105
pmps 165 shot 2u
+3 213

Today 3/8
amps 288 shot 2u
pmps 307 :cry: shot 2.25

Try to get a before bed check tonight okay?

Can you get that spot check we talked about before right before you head out the door for work? You feed at 6AM and then a spot check at 8AM? Can Will do it?

As this steady dose builds up, you may be faced with a lower than normal preshot than what you are used to. For now just do what you are comfortable with, okay? Unless you are going to be home...well then, you decide. :)

Maybe the dose is somewhere between the 2.0 and 2.25 like Sheila and Melissa said, we will see. Vicky is right...we just don't know the complete picture.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top