@Jessee07
I'm sorry you and your family haven't been feeling well, I hope you will all feel better soon
Here is the information on when to increase or to decrease the dose
Changing the Dose
Hold the starting dose for at least a week UNLESS
- your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12-hour curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours) OR perform an 18 hour curve (i.e., testing every 3 hours). Note: Random spot checks are essential in order to "fill in the blanks" on your kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
- HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
Here is the link for all the information about Vetsulin
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/
If you do find a vet that will prescribe Lantus or the generic which is fine ,a lot of members use the generic. Here's some information
You don't want the vials , almost all the members use the pens , usually 5 pens , each one will last about 6 months , I've used them to the last drop. They will all have the expiration dates on them
Keep them in the fridge middle shelf.
Even though the manufacturer says after 28 days or the pharmacist says to ditch them, that just pertains to humans .
it is designed for humans to last 28 days and be carried in a purse or pocket. We keep it in the refrigerator so it will last much longer. You should be able to use it to the last drop if you store it correctly.
You would also need different syringes for Lantus
They would be
U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings
- U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
- BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
- Syringes come in 5/64 inch (6mm), ½ inch (8mm) or 5/16 inch (12.7mm) needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
- Full and half-unit syringe scales:
- Don't reuse syringes. You'll not only run the risk of contaminating the vial/cartridge/pen, but re-using a syringe may be very uncomfortable for your cat:
We use the ones with half unit markings because we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time
You can order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings from Amazon without a doctors script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Just keep asking questions
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
You would take your syringe and push the plunger all the way in before you draw out the insulin then just insert the syringe how much you need , if you might over draw squeeze the rest out in the sink never the pen
Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen! You will see a small gray rubber stopper, insert the syringe there