Advice on BG numbers and vetsulin dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.
let us know how it goes, Good luck, feel the vet first, ask questions, you have already know from this forum what your diabetic cat needs to stay healthy, bring up what you already know without hesitation, let the vet know you know what you want and what you are doing so there will be no fooling around, on superficial or unhealthy treatments, tell the vet about this forum, see how the vet react and follow your instincts!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Also I do not see any test or dose for today after AMPS on the SS?
Thank you. I'm waiting to hear back from one of the vets that was recommended to me. She said she was going to set aside time today to call me and answer any questions I have. I'm hopeful. I haven't updated her spreadsheet yet. I keep it written down, but I just haven't entered it yet. Unfortunately for us, we're passing around some kind of cold/stomach bug.
 
Yes there is, what do you want to do get up earlier to test , feed wait 30 minutes then give Sugar the insulin? Did you give any insulin last night 1-29 can you please update your spreadsheet. You also should have given 0.25 on the morning of 1-29

What about today 1-30 ? Any tests ? Nothing on your spreadsheet

I think this is how you would do it
You can move shot time back by 30 minutes a day.
I asked @Suzanne & Darcy so let's see if this is correct

As Suzanne said
Even on a day when you skip a shot, it’s valuable information to see how high they may go. And it’s very helpful to have a few nighttime tests as well. Day and night cam sometimes be different and don’t always follow the same patterns.

Sugar also earned a reduction because she dropped under 90 on 1-28 during the day cycle. You should have reduced the dose to 0.25 for the PM dose on 1-28

You have shot lower numbers before on 1-17 and 1-18

@Jessee07
Thank you for this. I haven't updated her spreadsheet yet. We're passing around a stomach bug of some kind. I will get it filled out today. 1/29 she had a BG of 196 and I gave her .5 units. I did keep testing her throughout the day, I tried to make sure I did it every 2 to 3 hours. I'm so sorry but I am so behind on how to know when to reduce the amount of insulin, I apologize if it's listed here somewhere. I feel like I've read so much over the past couple of weeks that I'm not sure what is up anymore. Is there a sticky somewhere, where I can find that information out? Thank you again.
 
That's bull crap,. Maybe you should tell your vet this Almost most of our members use human meters . I used the Relion and got Tyler into remission for 3 years and 4 months but I had to let him go because he got cancer in Aug 2024:(
I know he still would have stayed in remission if he was still here and this is because I took the advice from all the experienced members here I think you should find a new vet and I think other members mentioned bto you here that Vetsulin is used for dogs. Lantus or Prozinc is better . Most of us use Lantus or the generic. If down the road you do find another vet and they let you use Lantus or the generic we can help you out with that and what changes you would have to make the
@Jessee07
I'm so sorry you lost your boy. I was so angry. I immediately started looking around for a new vet, got a couple recommendations from people. I wanted to tell her how wrong she is, it was very clear that I know more than she does about FD and I've been researching this for like 15 days. I'm waiting to hear back from one of the other vets here in town, people have said she is way more knowledgeable and more willing to listen to people and explain why she disagrees if she does instead of the "I'm the vet, I said so." It's beyond frustrating. I have read a lot, and I saw were its stated that a cat's best chance at remission is from diagnosis date to like 6 months, but they need to be on Lantus for the best chance. I tried to explain this to the vet, but she told me vetsulin is just fine for cats. It was like talking to a brick wall.
 
Regarding human versus pet meters, if human meters are no good for pets, then why do so many vets recommend putting Libre sensors on cats? The Libre continuous glucose monitor is a human product. Also, the pet meters are a much more recent invention. For many years before there even was such a thing as a pet meter, vets used human handheld glucometers. My vet still uses one. Some of our members with obstinate vets will have an Alpha Trak Meter that they only use to run the occasional curve and give the numbers to their vet. There is no reason why you should have to go to all the expense of those expensive test strips. There is no reason to not do your own curve at home. Tell the vet that the stress will raise her blood glucose and give elevated numbers. Tell the vet that you will save your money for other veterinary expenses for things that cannot be done at home.
I tried to explain it to her. I tried to explain that she needed to be on a low carb wet food diet, that the prescription foods she recommended where too high in carbs, that it needs to be under 10%. I tried to explain her best chance at remission is within 6 months of diagnosis IF she's on lantus. I tried to explain the stress induced hypoglycemia. It was like talking to a brick wall. She told me that in her expert opinion we needed to run at least one glucose curve in house and then I "could do whatever I want after that." I was stunned. I'm not trying to pretend that I'm a vet, I know where my "experience" is. BUT I also know without a doubt that over the past 15 days since she was diagnosed, I have read more about FD than my (ex) vet has in probably her entire career. It just made me so mad, I was shaking.
 
Definitely no need to apologize. Many of us have been in this same position. And it helps to vent sometimes. You CAN do this and help Sugar. Really all you need a vet to do at this point is give you an Rx for the insulin or sell you a bottle of insulin. I am not saying that later on you may need some veterinary assistance, but for this right now… insulin and the FDMB is all you need!
I'm beyond relieved to hear that, really. I am so frustrated at this point. We're in the 3rd largest city for our state but we have like 4 vet options in town, and one is already off the table as so many of us here in town have had horrible experiences with them since the original vet retired. So that leaves two after the one I'm now planning to leave. I'm more than willing to drive the 30 minutes or so to another town for their vet if need be. It's not like I want to be the one that decides everything. I just want it to be a collaborative thing. Like if you don't agree with me, explain why, hear me out and then we can discuss it and come to an agreement. Don't just tell me that you're the vet and I'm not, so do what I say. I mean, common. I wouldn't tell someone that when it comes to treating themselves or their family. What kind of professional attitude is that?
 
I agree with Suzanne ,,take her advice very serious, she has been the one who has helped me take Corky were he is right now, after the Libre nightmare I have only used the ReliOn human meter and strips, never gone wrong
This is honestly so reassuring to hear. It really felt like the vet I knew is gone and replaced by someone who only cares about their ego and money. It's really sad. I'm glad to hear from others who have been where we are now, that we're doing right by her. I know I'm not perfect, I'm still learning how to take readings properly, administer at a time that makes sense and struggling to figure out proper dosages...but I truly just want what's best for her. She's what matters.
 
Your two cats in your photo are so cute together. Is that Sugar and her sister? They must be close since you said she doesn’t do well at the vet away from her sister.

I have a cat like that who needs her sister. Sometimes when we take Esther (scaredy cat) to the vet, we also pop Ruth into a carrier with her for comfort. Ruth is the adventurous one. She enjoys car rides and exploring at the vet. Esther seems calmer then, although Ruth wants to get out of her carrier and walk all over the car (occasionally I will let her, but only if I have someone else in the car to control her. She also wants to get out at the vet and look around. Once the vet tech asked, “and who is that … and what is she here for?” We are known for sometimes bringing multiple cats to the vet to be seen. We said it was just Esther’s sister and she was here for comfort. They thought that was funny.

It sounds like you need to keep Sugar at home as much as possible. Too bad you don’t have a good mobile vet around. We have one that I used years ago, but she and I didn’t see eye to eye on vaccines so I let her go. She was a decent vet for the most part.

I hope you can find another vet who will not be so totalitarian with you and will be willing to also prescribe a different insulin for Sugar.
Thank you, yes that's her sister. They technically aren't littermates, but we got them at the same time, and they are inseparable. I'm really working to do what's best for her. It's proving to not be easy with the vet.
 
Thank you for this. I haven't updated her spreadsheet yet. We're passing around a stomach bug of some kind. I will get it filled out today. 1/29 she had a BG of 196 and I gave her .5 units. I did keep testing her throughout the day, I tried to make sure I did it every 2 to 3 hours. I'm so sorry but I am so behind on how to know when to reduce the amount of insulin, I apologize if it's listed here somewhere. I feel like I've read so much over the past couple of weeks that I'm not sure what is up anymore. Is there a sticky somewhere, where I can find that information out? Thank you again.
@Jessee07

I'm sorry you and your family haven't been feeling well, I hope you will all feel better soon
Here is the information on when to increase or to decrease the dose

Changing the Dose

Hold the starting dose for at least a week UNLESS

  • your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12-hour curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours) OR perform an 18 hour curve (i.e., testing every 3 hours). Note: Random spot checks are essential in order to "fill in the blanks" on your kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
Here is the link for all the information about Vetsulin
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/


If you do find a vet that will prescribe Lantus or the generic which is fine ,a lot of members use the generic. Here's some information
You don't want the vials , almost all the members use the pens , usually 5 pens , each one will last about 6 months , I've used them to the last drop. They will all have the expiration dates on them
Keep them in the fridge middle shelf.
Even though the manufacturer says after 28 days or the pharmacist says to ditch them, that just pertains to humans .
it is designed for humans to last 28 days and be carried in a purse or pocket. We keep it in the refrigerator so it will last much longer. You should be able to use it to the last drop if you store it correctly.


You would also need different syringes for Lantus
They would be
U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in 5/64 inch (6mm), ½ inch (8mm) or 5/16 inch (12.7mm) needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

  • Don't reuse syringes. You'll not only run the risk of contaminating the vial/cartridge/pen, but re-using a syringe may be very uncomfortable for your cat:
We use the ones with half unit markings because we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time


You can order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings from Amazon without a doctors script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Just keep asking questions
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/



You would take your syringe and push the plunger all the way in before you draw out the insulin then just insert the syringe how much you need , if you might over draw squeeze the rest out in the sink never the pen
Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen! You will see a small gray rubber stopper, insert the syringe there
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
Last edited:
@Jessee07
You can definitely get 5 pens of Lantus or the generic Glargine

You can Check
CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens either Lantus or the generic Glargine , plenty of members use the generic
Just call around and see who has the cheapest price , it's really not that expensive
With the pens just keep them in the fridge middle shelf , they all have the expiration date on them .

Also
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus

If you use the Good Rx
GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822


GoodRx coupon.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menu says generic glargine 1 carton of 5 3ml pens.


Also
A membersaid she followed this prescription info exactly and it worked perfectly. Hope this helps!
Then go to the Lantus site to generate the coupon as in second image.
upload_2023-12-1_6-57-52-png.68163

upload_2023-12-1_6-59-16-png.68164
 
Last edited:
@Jessee07

I'm sorry you and your family haven't been feeling well, I hope you will all feel better soon
Here is the information on when to increase or to decrease the dose

Changing the Dose

Hold the starting dose for at least a week UNLESS

  • your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12-hour curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours) OR perform an 18 hour curve (i.e., testing every 3 hours). Note: Random spot checks are essential in order to "fill in the blanks" on your kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
Here is the link for all the information about Vetsulin
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/


If you do find a vet that will prescribe Lantus or the generic which is fine ,a lot of members use the generic. Here's some information
You don't want the vials , almost all the members use the pens , usually 5 pens , each one will last about 6 months , I've used them to the last drop. They will all have the expiration dates on them
Keep them in the fridge middle shelf.
Even though the manufacturer says after 28 days or the pharmacist says to ditch them, that just pertains to humans .
it is designed for humans to last 28 days and be carried in a purse or pocket. We keep it in the refrigerator so it will last much longer. You should be able to use it to the last drop if you store it correctly.


You would also need different syringes for Lantus
They would be
U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in 5/64 inch (6mm), ½ inch (8mm) or 5/16 inch (12.7mm) needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

  • Don't reuse syringes. You'll not only run the risk of contaminating the vial/cartridge/pen, but re-using a syringe may be very uncomfortable for your cat:
We use the ones with half unit markings because we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time


You can order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings from Amazon without a doctors script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Just keep asking questions
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/



You would take your syringe and push the plunger all the way in before you draw out the insulin then just insert the syringe how much you need , if you might over draw squeeze the rest out in the sink never the pen
Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen! You will see a small gray rubber stopper, insert the syringe there
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
Thank you for this. The new vet that I talked to today said she doesn't really like glucose curves, especially not done in the office due to stress on the cat but I can do them at home if it makes me more comfortable. She also she's she prefers to use proZinc but said we could discuss it. She wants to do a fructosamine test on Feb. 27th. She said she agrees with the low carb wet food and not to use dry food nor does she like the use of prescription foods. She said a lot of vets like to treat cats the way they would dogs and that just doesn't work for cats. I feel pretty confident in the choice to switch to her, she seems far more knowledgeable and willing to hear me out and discuss things with me. Plus, they have a pet portal so I can see all of her test results and what not without it having to be sent to me. The previous vet wouldn't share anything without a fight. I guess only time will tell but I'm hoping for the best.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Sugar dropped under 90 yesterday 1-31
Should she reduce the dose to 0.1

@Jessee07
Jess Did you give any insulin last night 1-31 for the night cycle?

See the 0.1 dose below
I have only given the morning dosage for 1/31 since it's only 2:40p where I am right now. I will give a dose tonight, but her numbers have been running kind of low today. Her highest has only been 102, the lowest was 78 this morning.
 
Thank you for this. The new vet that I talked to today said she doesn't really like glucose curves, especially not done in the office due to stress on the cat but I can do them at home if it makes me more comfortable. She also she's she prefers to use proZinc but said we could discuss it. She wants to do a fructosamine test on Feb. 27th. She said she agrees with the low carb wet food and not to use dry food nor does she like the use of prescription foods. She said a lot of vets like to treat cats the way they would dogs and that just doesn't work for cats. I feel pretty confident in the choice to switch to her, she seems far more knowledgeable and willing to hear me out and discuss things with me. Plus, they have a pet portal so I can see all of her test results and what not without it having to be sent to me. The previous vet wouldn't share anything without a fight. I guess only time will tell but I'm hoping for the best.
That's great, I myself prefer Lantus , sometimes Prozinc has a very late nadir .
Try to talk her I to giving you Lantus
@Jessee07
 
That's great, I myself prefer Lantus , sometimes Prozinc has a very late nadir .
Try to talk her I to giving you Lantus
@Jessee07
I definitely will. She said she was more than willing to listen to all the information that I have gathered. I told her I had a bunch of print outs to show why I feel the way I do. She kind of laughed and said I seem very prepared. I told her this has been my main focus since Sugar got diagnosed. I've spent like 4 hours a day reading everything I can about feline diabetes and how to best treat it. She said her overall goal is to work us towards remission if possible. That was really nice to hear since the previous vet didn't even mention the possibility of remission at all.
 
I have only given the morning dosage for 1/31 since it's only 2:40p where I am right now. I will give a dose tonight, but her numbers have been running kind of low today. Her highest has only been 102, the lowest was 78 this morning.
@Jessee07
I actually thought today was Feb 1st lol because I flipped my calendar page already to Feb
Sorry about that

So I asked @Suzanne & Darcy if you should shot 0.1 tonight
 
@Jessee07
I actually thought today was Feb 1st lol because I flipped my calendar page already to Feb
Sorry about that

So I asked @Suzanne & Darcy if you should shot 0.1 tonight
I understand, I spent all day yesterday thinking it was Friday. It's been a long week. I have the ulticare vetrx u-40 3/10cc syringes. I'm not sure where to go on that particular syringe to get her to a .1. I have insulin syringes that are u-100, I wasn't sure whether or not I could switch to using those or not.
 
I understand, I spent all day yesterday thinking it was Friday. It's been a long week. I have the ulticare vetrx u-40 3/10cc syringes. I'm not sure where to go on that particular syringe to get her to a .1. I have insulin syringes that are u-100, I wasn't sure whether or not I could switch to using those or not.
The U-40 syringes do they have the half unit markings
I wouldn't use the U-100 syringes
@Jessee07
 
@Jessee07
I think you have a good chance at getting Sugar in remission with Lantus. Believe it or not it took me 2 years for me to get Tyler into remission. I started with Vetsulin, used a dumb pet meter then finally switched to Lantus and the Relion Meter and the dosing method TR.
There are 2 dosing methods for Lantus one is SLGS
Start Low Go Slow. The other is TR. Tight Regulation
If you want to you can read about them here

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

You can read all about Lantus here
I loved Lantus

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Prozinc is 101.27 just for a while and if the vet has it it's probably the same price
 
Last edited:
@Jessee07
I think you have a good chance at getting Sugar in remission with Lantus. Believe it or not it took me 2 years for me to get Tyler into remission. I started with Vetsulin, used a dumb pet meter then finally switched to Lantus and the Relion Meter and the dosing method TR.
There are 2 dosing methods for Lantus one is SLGS
Start Low Go Slow. The other is TR. Tight Regulation
If you want to you can read about them here

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

You can read all about Lantus here
I loved Lantus

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Prozinc is 101.27 just for a while and if the vet has it it's probably the same price
Thank you so much. I will be printing out everything and bringing it with me to discuss with her. She said she's open to talking it out and finding something that makes us both happy. I'm just so happy to finally have someone who will listen and not think that I'm trying to say I'm better at their job than they are. It's a huge relief.
 
Thank you for this. The new vet that I talked to today said she doesn't really like glucose curves, especially not done in the office due to stress on the cat but I can do them at home if it makes me more comfortable. She also she's she prefers to use proZinc but said we could discuss it. She wants to do a fructosamine test on Feb. 27th. She said she agrees with the low carb wet food and not to use dry food nor does she like the use of prescription foods. She said a lot of vets like to treat cats the way they would dogs and that just doesn't work for cats. I feel pretty confident in the choice to switch to her, she seems far more knowledgeable and willing to hear me out and discuss things with me. Plus, they have a pet portal so I can see all of her test results and what not without it having to be sent to me. The previous vet wouldn't share anything without a fight. I guess only time will tell but I'm hoping for the best.
This sounds really promising!
 
I understand, I spent all day yesterday thinking it was Friday. It's been a long week. I have the ulticare vetrx u-40 3/10cc syringes. I'm not sure where to go on that particular syringe to get her to a .1. I have insulin syringes that are u-100, I wasn't sure whether or not I could switch to using those or not.
You can use U-100 syringes with ProZinc as long as you are comfortable using the conversion chart.
upload_2025-1-31_21-0-33.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-31_21-0-33.png
    upload_2025-1-31_21-0-33.png
    108.8 KB · Views: 184
Honestly, Sugar is doing pretty well on a very small dose. I think you could also use ProZinc and we might be able to get her into remission. Either way, I think she has a good shot. If your new vet wants to try ProZinc, we can go for it. Do you have any idea what may have caused her to become diabetic to begin with?
 
Honestly, Sugar is doing pretty well on a very small dose. I think you could also use ProZinc and we might be able to get her into remission. Either way, I think she has a good shot. If your new vet wants to try ProZinc, we can go for it. Do you have any idea what may have caused her to become diabetic to begin with?
I really hope we can get her there. The former vet said it was most likely genetic luck of the draw but that doesn't seem right to me. At one point she was overweight at about 14 or so pounds and I think that's likely the reason. Overweight and dry food but then again our resident grumpy cat is 13 and overweight (working to fix that) with no health issues other than patellar luxation which makes it hard to get her moving.
 
Do you have any idea what may have caused her to become diabetic to begin with?
I was wondering the same thing. @Jessee07 Has Sugar had any steroids recently (oral, topical, or injections)? That can trigger transient diabetes. So can a lifetime of high-carb dry food for some cats — just like humans, sometimes what we can get away with when we’re younger no longer works as we age (perhaps why I no longer live on coffee and pop tarts, lol). Infection and inflammation can also trigger elevated BG numbers.

A lot of cats see a marked decrease in BG once switched to a low-carb canned food. My first diabetic was what I call a “garden variety diabetic” —he was middle aged, overweight, and spent a lifetime eating what I thought was a quality food, but it was in reality high-carb dry food. He became diet-controlled quickly after I switched him to low-carb canned. It was like years of stressing the pancreas finally wore it down and it needed a break.

It’s important to note that once diabetic, always diabetic, so even if you’re lucky enough for Sugar to go into remission, you’ll want to remain vigilant with food choices.
 
I was wondering the same thing. @Jessee07 Has Sugar had any steroids recently (oral, topical, or injections)? That can trigger transient diabetes. So can a lifetime of high-carb dry food for some cats — just like humans, sometimes what we can get away with when we’re younger no longer works as we age. Infection and inflammation can also trigger elevated BG numbers.

A lot of cats see a marked decrease in BG once switched to a low-carb canned food. My first diabetic was what I call a “garden variety diabetic” —he was middle aged, overweight, and spent a lifetime eating what I thought was a quality food, but it was in reality high-carb dry food. He became diet-controlled quickly after I switched him to low-carb canned. It was like years of stressing the pancreas finally wore it down and it needed a break.

It’s important to note that once diabetic, always diabetic, so even if you’re lucky enough for Sugar to go into remission, you’ll want to remain vigilant with food choices.
I was thinking the same thing— with the low numbers on this small dose so quickly after switching to low carb food and starting insulin. I am hoping for the best!
 
I really hope we can get her there. The former vet said it was most likely genetic luck of the draw but that doesn't seem right to me. At one point she was overweight at about 14 or so pounds and I think that's likely the reason. Overweight and dry food but then again our resident grumpy cat is 13 and overweight (working to fix that) with no health issues other than patellar luxation which makes it hard to get her moving.
I am only going to mention this as food for thought for the future, but I have a cat with luxating patellas, as well. She was limping around pretty badly. In December 2023 she had surgery to correct it in one knee. Both knees are affected, but one was markedly worse than the other. She just recently had her one year anniversary of getting out of her crate post-surgery. She has been doing great ever since she got out and is soooo much happier now. She doesn’t limp at all.

Right now you have your hands full with the diabetes, but since your girl is only 7, it would be worth considering the patellar stabilization surgery. They do have to be confined to a large dog crate for about 6 weeks and that is probably the worst part. I was anxious to get my Little Girl home so I brought her home as soon as they would let me (I think it was the next day.) In hindsight, I should have left her there a day or two longer while she figured out how to get around on three legs in the crate. My regular vet is very experienced with orthopedic surgeries and is well-known in our area for doing them so I didn’t have to travel for the surgery. If Sugar’s knees aren’t that bad you may not need the surgery. Over time though, the bones can become worn down from the patella not sitting in the proper groove. I have another cat - a Siamese- with the same condition. We haven’t done surgery on him yet because he gets around pretty well. His kneecap seems to pop in and out at times. He will get a “kink” and he sits down to poo it back in place. At least he has pet insurance. It’s always something around here.
 
I was wondering the same thing. @Jessee07 Has Sugar had any steroids recently (oral, topical, or injections)? That can trigger transient diabetes. So can a lifetime of high-carb dry food for some cats — just like humans, sometimes what we can get away with when we’re younger no longer works as we age (perhaps why I no longer live on coffee and pop tarts, lol). Infection and inflammation can also trigger elevated BG numbers.

A lot of cats see a marked decrease in BG once switched to a low-carb canned food. My first diabetic was what I call a “garden variety diabetic” —he was middle aged, overweight, and spent a lifetime eating what I thought was a quality food, but it was in reality high-carb dry food. He became diet-controlled quickly after I switched him to low-carb canned. It was like years of stressing the pancreas finally wore it down and it needed a break.

It’s important to note that once diabetic, always diabetic, so even if you’re lucky enough for Sugar to go into remission, you’ll want to remain vigilant with food choices.
She's been, up until now, perfectly healthy. She was overweight at around 14 maybe 15 pounds and was like that for a while. Our old vet said it was just the genetic luck of the draw but I think it's far more likely it was high carb dry food and being overweight. As soon as she got diagnosed I searched online and found she needed to be on low carb wet food or raw food and made the switch that day, she was on bexacat at the time. I still have her on fancy feast pates. I've been working to switch all of our cats now. I really want to try raw food but I'm going slowly because this is all a lot to take on at one time.
 
I am only going to mention this as food for thought for the future, but I have a cat with luxating patellas, as well. She was limping around pretty badly. In December 2023 she had surgery to correct it in one knee. Both knees are affected, but one was markedly worse than the other. She just recently had her one year anniversary of getting out of her crate post-surgery. She has been doing great ever since she got out and is soooo much happier now. She doesn’t limp at all.

Right now you have your hands full with the diabetes, but since your girl is only 7, it would be worth considering the patellar stabilization surgery. They do have to be confined to a large dog crate for about 6 weeks and that is probably the worst part. I was anxious to get my Little Girl home so I brought her home as soon as they would let me (I think it was the next day.) In hindsight, I should have left her there a day or two longer while she figured out how to get around on three legs in the crate. My regular vet is very experienced with orthopedic surgeries and is well-known in our area for doing them so I didn’t have to travel for the surgery. If Sugar’s knees aren’t that bad you may not need the surgery. Over time though, the bones can become worn down from the patella not sitting in the proper groove. I have another cat - a Siamese- with the same condition. We haven’t done surgery on him yet because he gets around pretty well. His kneecap seems to pop in and out at times. He will get a “kink” and he sits down to poo it back in place. At least he has pet insurance. It’s always something around here.
I'm glad to have someone else who has experienced luxating patella, our old vet said she had never seen it in a cat only in small dogs. It's not Sugar fortunately. It's our older cat Sassy. She's 13 and our old vet said surgery was the best option but with her age and being overweight she was concerned. As soon as Sugar sees the new vet and I get a better feel for her, I'll be bringing in Sassy to see if she has a different opinion. For now, we're slowly working on getting her diet completely switched to wet food (she's never liked it) and working to get her weight down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top