Advice needed-give microdose...or hold?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PrettyBlueEyes

Member Since 2012
Hello fellow PZI parents,

I am faced this morning with a decision. I'm terrible at decisions!

My little Leo, age 13, PZI kitty since 5/11 of this year, has been having very low nadirs on 1.25 u BID. Yesterday, I cut the dose in half and he surprised me by never getting above 200 (my no shoot number) the entire day. I held yesterday evening's dose. Full details with advice from veteran members over the last couple of days can be found here:

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=71661&p=778759#p778759

I expected Leo to hand me a shootable number this morning for sure. However, he gave me a beautiful 197, with a double-check value (because I just couldn't believe it!) of 192.

Should I go ahead and give him .25 after his breakfast? Or would more experienced folks hold off in this situation?

Any thoughts/advice will be greatly appreciated.

Kate & Leo
 
Hope this isn't too late to help. Will you be around to monitor? If so, you could try the .25.

Did you get the U 100 needles? You are definitely going to need them. Looks like he wants off insulin. (anti jinx)
 
I decided to give him .25 after his breakfast. BF will be home all day today to monitor.

I will be picking up the U100 syringes and printing a conversion chart after work. Keeping my fingers crossed...
 
I got my needles @ sams club. They are really helpful with smaller dosing. Since Leo is starting to have lower BG it could be a sign the pancreas is trying to work. That is where the smaller dosing really comes in handy. It helps not strain the pancreas. Just a little insulin to help support the pancreas so it could possibly heal itself.

Keep up it you are doing well.
 
Hi Kate,
I think going with the .25 dose was the right choice.
Carl
 
That is awesome-thanks for the visual on the syringes. It will help me make sure I'm getting the right ones.
BF said that nadir this morning was 152. He also said that Leo ate quite a bit-we switched him over to FF classic yesterday because it had become such a struggle to get him to touch the Purina DM. I could only manage to get him to eat a small bit, then I would have to mix another small bit 50/50 with chicken, and then finally give him a few chunks of chicken all by itself. BF said that he destroyed the can I gave him for breakfast and seemed quite pitiful in his begging for more, so he gave him another can. (What can I say...BF is a very soft touch :smile: )This was a few hours before the check at nadir so maybe the value is colored by the food a bit. Hoping that he stays reasonably low and we get another nice value later today...let's see what PMPS brings us!
 
So glad he is eating. Very few cats like the DM for long. Yes, the food probably influenced the nadir but the number is still nice. If there is a chance to get a +8 or so, that may tell you more about what is going on. At this point, you need to see the process as gathering data. The more you see how the insulin at different doses affects his bg levels, the better you can predict what will happen the next time.
 
Over the long weekend we're planning on a full curve-probably Saturday. Not looking forward to poking him every two hours, but we'll have a clear idea of what's happening with the little guy.
 
Oh yes-I always make sure I have plenty of chicken on hand!

PMPS = 205 = happy mom! Picked up my U100 syringes after work and have my conversion chart at the ready.
 
AMPS this morning was at +14-Leo let me sleep in. :smile: He gave me a 93!!

Leo sends head butts to Sue, Carl, Jenn, & everyone who's been keeping an eye on us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top