Advice about raising Joe's dosage faster

Status
Not open for further replies.
My cat Magic was just put on ProZinc... My vet indicated that dosages need to remain the same for a minimum of three cycles (basically 36hr) and they can be increased on the 4th (at 48hr) if necessary. Only exception he said was if he dropped too low. He said anything quicker than that doesn't allow for the adaption time needed to see the full effect of the change. Since every cat is different that may or may not work for Joe. I'd recommend asking your vet what he or she recommends.
 
Last edited:
Are you aware
hey there. Your call, but I'd go to 2.75 first rather than raising a whole 0.75. I'd do 2.75 for several days and reevaluate. :D
that he is at 2.25 now Janet? Making that a .50 jump if I go to 2.75. I feel like it would be alright just want to make sure you know the circumstances (I always listen to you)
 
Are you aware

that he is at 2.25 now Janet? Making that a .50 jump if I go to 2.75. I feel like it would be alright just want to make sure you know the circumstances (I always listen to you)
Yep I am aware. If it makes you nervous then do 2.5. Any time you can get a reading 5-7 hours past the shot
 
Joe is throwing me curveballs again. 146 at testing time.
Stalled 30 minutes and got 147
 
Last edited:
Whoah, curveball indeed. Threw you a 92 out of nowhere. Go Joe!
I’d give him Medium Carb food with that +2 in the future. And get another reading in an hour to see how it effected him.

One thing to remember that helped me when I got my first low PS. You’re not shooting the number he is now, you’re shooting the number he’s going to be in 2 hours (or when his insulin kicks in).
That made it seems less scary to give the full dose.
 
You’re not shooting the number he is now, you’re shooting the number he’s going to be in 2 hours (or when his insulin kicks in).
I do have that in the back of my head constantly but who the heck knew he would test a 92 in two hours?
 
I went to sleep in the recliner so I could wake up and test him, he was 86 a couple of hours later but I did not notate it on his chart because I did not notate the time when he tested that. MY computer is all the way at the end of a long hall, by a bedroom where Cheddar sleeps in a cage. Had I turned on the lights to go there and fired up the computer, she would have been crying and carrying on. So I just notated it on a napkin and went to bed. I think it was between 12-2am. Making it about a +6
 
I went to sleep in the recliner so I could wake up and test him, he was 86 a couple of hours later but I did not notate it on his chart because I did not notate the time when he tested that. MY computer is all the way at the end of a long hall, by a bedroom where Cheddar sleeps in a cage. Had I turned on the lights to go there and fired up the computer, she would have been crying and carrying on. So I just notated it on a napkin and went to bed. I think it was between 12-2am. Making it about a +6

Great job, that's awesome he was a safe 86 and then you could go to sleep. I was just worried when I saw a 92 so early and no other tests :)
Your Relion will tell you what time you got the test. Make sure to add it to his SS later today so we can see it.

who the heck knew

Funny timing for Joe to tell you he likes this dose!
 
Annnnnd we bounce.
Not to worry, you get a few cycles to enjoy a little more Susan time! After 6 cycles he may decide that green numbers are a good idea again.
 
thanks for checking in Smorg. Yeah, he is driving me crazy with these numbers. He is feeling good though, I can tell by the spring in his step, he always wants to go outside, and his eyes are clear. He is hungry a lot but I have leanred that is to be expected when his numbers are high.
 
thanks for checking in Smorg. Yeah, he is driving me crazy with these numbers. He is feeling good though, I can tell by the spring in his step, he always wants to go outside, and his eyes are clear. He is hungry a lot but I have leanred that is to be expected when his numbers are high.
Much improved PS number this morning! Glad he's feeling better. Appetite is good, so doing ok with his food these days?
Looking forward to a mid-cycle test to see if he's over his bouncing!
 
Joe is peeing all over the house again. I do not get it. Just when he starts to seem to feel better this starts to happen (again)
 
Last edited:
Joe is peeing all over the house again. I do not get it. Just when he starts to seem to feel better this starts to happen (again)
Why Joe! His antibiotics are finished, right? Can you test his urine, I forget, do you have strips?
These are the ones I use:
10-in-1 Dog and Cat Vet-10 Urine Test Strips 100ct, Veterinarian Lab Grade Pet Health Wellness Urinalysis Home Testing Kit, Detect UTI Urinary Tract I
And on a day with good numbers is even stranger, it's not like his blood sugar is sky high and he has to pee all the time.

Glad to see he still likes this dose and gave you another good mid-cycle number today!
 
Yes, I have do have strips and I do test his urine occasionally and no ketones. Completely free of ketones
 
Yes, I have do have strips and I do test his urine occasionally and no ketones. Completely free of ketones

Ok, I was thinking you can see if his Leukocytes are still elevated or if pH is high or anything abnormal.
When Temp had a UTI his strips showed high Leukocytes, pH was 7, and blood was present.
Came out of nowhere. Morning test was fine, test at 5pm was all out of whack. So it can happen fast, and my vet said she could tell I caught it right away. Worth testing, even if you have to hover there with a ladle ;)
 
I bought some aquarium gravel and a new litter pan. I lock him in the room with that pan and hope and pray I get pee and not poop. This is how I have tested it so far. Not sure I have the strips to test for what you are talking about.
They are the strips that turn from pinkish to purple if there are ketones there. His strips that I have tested (only 3 times) are always whitish, clear.
 
I think he is due for an increase but I am scared to do it because he went so low a few days ago
*Edit*
I will test him better through the day and raise dosage tonight to 3.50
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Last edited:
well so much for raising his dose. His number was 127 at +6 and that would be his nadir.
 
well so much for raising his dose. His number was 127 at +6 and that would be his nadir.
Oh good! Plus I was going to say, before increasing, you have to make sure he’s not getting nadirs below 150 at night. The 217 and 277 PMPS of 9/12 & 9/13 very likely could have sent him into the blues at PM nadir. Gotta get more PM +2 tests.
And what was his PMPS on 9/11?
 
I think I just did not get it on 9/11. When he is feeling crappy and is not cooperative, I no longer force him. I will muddle along as best as I can without forcing him. I do not want what might be the last year of his life to be like that.
 
I think I just did not get it on 9/11. When he is feeling crappy and is not cooperative, I no longer force him. I will muddle along as best as I can without forcing him. I do not want what might be the last year of his life to be like that.
I get it. Keep him safe the best you can. Maybe give him a very naughty treat in cases like that? He deserves to be happy :)
 
How is Joe doing? Peeing in all the appropriate places?
Ha Smorg! You crack me up. Yes, so far he has only used one of his 6 litter boxes. He is doing good. High at PS times but occasionally surprises me and goes low. I think he is just trying to make my life hard in retaliation for taking away his kibble.
 
Ha Smorg! You crack me up. Yes, so far he has only used one of his 6 litter boxes. He is doing good. High at PS times but occasionally surprises me and goes low. I think he is just trying to make my life hard in retaliation for taking away his kibble.

6? What a life, living like a king. We currently have 3. Up from 2. Makes my life a little easier.
He is good at recovering from high PS numbers. He's trying his best! Appetite is good?
 
6? What a life, living like a king. We currently have 3. Up from 2. Makes my life a little easier.
He is good at recovering from high PS numbers. He's trying his best! Appetite is good?
Appetite is huge. I had 3 litter boxes, 3 cats. Joe started having problems I added 3 more. My house is lined with them
 
I might tweek that dose up just a tiny bit. I'd like to see that lowest number touch the greens a bit. On a human meter he's still slightly above normal. I'd luv to see him low around 80ish. Like 70-100.
 
OMG in a state of panic. I cannot recollect if I gave Joe his insulin shot this morning or not. My brain! It is not working correctly. OMGosh
 
OMG in a state of panic. I cannot recollect if I gave Joe his insulin shot this morning or not. My brain! It is not working correctly. OMGosh
Check the trashcan? Hooeee. Sounds like one of those days.
Not the end of the world, just don’t give him a “second” ;)
 
He used to 'patrol' like this up and down the block. He does not go far now. Most of the owners walking dogs in the immediate area cross the street when they see him because he has slapped the dogs. lol. He believes the sidewalk should be a "no dog' zone
 
He used to 'patrol' like this up and down the block. He does not go far now. Most of the owners walking dogs in the immediate area cross the street when they see him because he has slapped the dogs. lol. He believes the sidewalk should be a "no dog' zone
OMG. I'm dying. That is hilarious. This is Joe's sidewalk, no droolers allowed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top