Adverse reactions to Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarenRamboConan

Member Since 2009
Moderator
I'm giving someone a hand with a newly dx'd sugarkitty, and she started on Lantus, but her cat really seems to be having a bad reaction to it.

He feels obviously punk, hides, is inappetant, etc. When she "detoxed" him last weekend- no juice at all- he felt so much better. Ate more, purred, etc.

He has lost a lot of weight since starting Lantus. His BG curves run from 150 to the mid-high 300s, but his feeling icky is not associated with BG levels, just to getting the shot. Dose does not matter. Whether it's 0.10 or 1.5u, it makes him sick. (And he rebounds like mad on even 0.50u, which makes him feel worse.)

We are thinking of switch - probably to Levemir- but are anticipating resistance from the vet. I can't find a lot of online articles about cats not doing well on Lantus (it's all very pro-Lantus articles, of course) but I was hoping there was some anecdotal info here.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Karen
 
A react like that is very very rare. I would suspect another problem especially since you said changing the dose did not change the symptoms. I would get a vet visit. Anyway a script is required for Levemir and the vet can then wrote a script if they thinks a change is warranted.
 
You might contact Deb and Lucian (nckitties3) and Mel. (MommaofMuse)
Both their cats struggled with the L insulins. Maybe rare, but apparently happens .
 
Mikey didn't struggle, per se, with the Lantus, but since switching to Levemir last week, there has been a huge difference in attitude and shot time has become easy-peasy for us now. Before, we used to struggle every single day with shots for a year and a half. Now, he hasn't reacted once. His attitude has gone from "I'm pissed-off and stubborn" to just plain "stubborn" and he's more friendly and social and relaxed! Plus his numbers are looking much better and he's hitting greens on a much lower dose.

Also, the twitching, rolling skin he used to have all the time 24/7 has completely disappeared. I always swore he had Lantus-induced hyperesthesia and I think this switch has confirmed that opinion for me. I just wish I had switched a lot sooner. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top