acromegaly

She's not used to blues, and is bouncing again. That blue is progress.
216 last test +8 giving pmps at 12:45 so not going to test till then but happy for the progress any progress helps! Finally got her to eat some purebites she likes them willingly she’s so picky with treats so finally found something she likes other then her HC greenies which she can’t have. The vets keep saying her teeth look okay but I know she had a complete reabsorption. I have an appointment with another vet the 11th so another opinion but probably no more bloodwork unless we do a dental if not bloodwork in June again. Might run another urine soon.

So With glucose toxicity which a lot people keep telling me that’s what they think is going on why can it be so hard to treat? Does it keep coming back? And for diabetic cats what are the normal range of doses ? Sorry I know I’m annoying and I ask a lot of questions.
 
Last edited:
The "treatment" for glucose toxicity is getting to a dose where she sees normal BG numbers more frequently, so she becomes used to them.
why can it be so hard to treat?
Because people are afraid of letting their cat get into "green" numbers.
Does it keep coming back? And for diabetic cats what are the normal range of doses ?
It'll keep coming back if you let her linger in numbers that aren't in the normal range. If Neko went 5 days without greens, she'd get it. Not sure what you mean by normal range of doses. Cats need however much insulin they need. There can be so many other factors that impact the dose needed, such as needing dentals, eating dry food, secondary conditions such as hyperthyroidism, pancreatitis, being overweight, medications that cause higher blood sugars. We have a saying here ECID, every cat is different.

This thread is getting long. We request that when you get over 50 posts, you start a new thread. Could you do that with your next post, and ideally link to this one if people want to go back and see the history.
 
The "treatment" for glucose toxicity is getting to a dose where she sees normal BG numbers more frequently, so she becomes used to them.

Because people are afraid of letting their cat get into "green" numbers.

It'll keep coming back if you let her linger in numbers that aren't in the normal range. If Neko went 5 days without greens, she'd get it. Not sure what you mean by normal range of doses. Cats need however much insulin they need. There can be so many other factors that impact the dose needed, such as needing dentals, eating dry food, secondary conditions such as hyperthyroidism, pancreatitis, being overweight, medications that cause higher blood sugars. We have a saying here ECID, every cat is different.

This thread is getting long. We request that when you get over 50 posts, you start a new thread. Could you do that with your next post, and ideally link to this one if people want to go back and see the history.
Yes we are definitely trying, I’d love to see greens. I seen some better numbers today thankfully I have a feeling we might bounce so not sure if I should hold this 4u our normal 7 days or go to 4.25u and start there with 7 days, ik we shouldn’t increase when their bouncing.

Yes absolutely I can do that but I have no idea how to do that can you explain how so I can do it for the following reply? I’m very new on here I had no idea reply’s even came to my email till like a week ago 😅
 
To start a new thread, go to the top of this forum and click the Post Thread button on the right.

Perhaps the easiest way to grab the link to your previous thread is to go to the mail Feline Health forum and look down the list for your thread. Then select the threat title, copy it, and past it, like this:

Previous post is: acromegaly
 
Back
Top