acromegaly

Marissa&October

Member Since 2025
Hi all I have some questions about acromegaly I have really really bad anxiety and diagnosed OCD so when I get a thought I spiral and will obsess and make myself sick. October has IBD diagnosed in 2021, So October was diagnosed with diabetes in January 2025 she was diagnosed from prednisolone. She was actually was on high doses of pred in 2024 when she had a pancreatitis flare up and had glucose in her urine she had a uti at that time as well I started testing as vets recommended an thought it was pred so we decreased pred and her numbers went back to normal. I tested here and there and sadly January 2025 on New Year’s Day I see 240 and she was diagnosed shortly after. We seen internal medicine shortly after diagnosis’s and he wanted her off pred asap. As he thought it wasn’t working to help her IBD she was still having flares being on pred ( 1-2 times a year ) so we took her off after weaning her numbers went from 300s to 200s and after slowly increasing insulin we seen some good numbers. we did blood work a few weeks after pred was stopped and it looked good followed by more bloodwork in June also good. I started noticing blood in her urine no uti so we did an ultrasound in September 2025 liver looked good pancreas looked good gallbladder was good but had sludge in it and some inflammation in her intestines but actually better than 2024 ultrasound. her kidneys he said was about 0.5cm larger than before which oddly i remember in 2021 he said they were on the smaller side but in 2023 about 4cm I don’t know 2024 he said still normal about 4.5cm total they looked good other wise he said they were larger due to diabetes and them working harder bladder looked good he said she has cystitis. In November we did another bloodwork and it showed high liver numbers which is normal with her IBD flares we ran a FPL and it was high showing she had pancreatitis we treated but she was again put on pred for about a month after 2.5mg every other day we did bloodwork and it was much improved so we got her off pred ( total 3 weeks on it ) ever since this flare up her insulin dose has been creeping up. I am of course fearing acromegaly reading all the information I did I’m scared because of the kidneys being larger than before. Her facial features are normal feet are normal I’m not really seeing anything crazy but my anxiety is making me believe she has acromegaly. I would love anyone advice we increase every 7 days if she doesn’t fall below 150 and decrease under 70. She eats Dr elesys clean protein chicken as I strongly believe can food upsets her belly. She is on lactulose ( enulose ) 2 times a day and gabapentin 25-30mg twice a day and her lantus. Thank you in advance and so sorry for the long read i appreciate anyone who took time to read and give me their thoughts and suggestions and feedback 💜 the picture is October we call it “sitting sexy” her signature pose October's Spreadsheet (Marissa)
IMG_4280.jpeg
 
Some cats just need more insulin. Inflammation anywhere can increase need. So the IBS may be contributing, has your vet discussed steroids other than pred? As the prednisolone is likely increasing October's insulin need. There are better steroid options for diabetic cats.

Pancreatitis damages the pancreas which is where insulin is made. Higher blood sugars after a bout of pancreatitis is fairly common

How much does October weigh?

In short I wouldn't jump straight to acromegaly when October has so much else going on that is likely contributing to insulin need.
 
One of the issues with IBD can be what you're feeding your cat. While Dr. Elsey's is low in carbohydrates, which is important for diabetes management, feeding an IBD cat novel proteins may be helpful. Chicken is not a novel protein. Think in terms of rabbit, venison, or even pork. There are other options as well.

We don't suggest getting a cat tested for either acromegaly or insulin resistance until the dose is 5 - 6u/shot.

I'm tagging one of the other Moderators who has considerable experience with these conditions: @Wendy&Neko
 
Some cats just need more insulin. Inflammation anywhere can increase need. So the IBS may be contributing, has your vet discussed steroids other than pred? As the prednisolone is likely increasing October's insulin need. There are better steroid options for diabetic cats.

Pancreatitis damages the pancreas which is where insulin is made. Higher blood sugars after a bout of pancreatitis is fairly common

How much does October weigh?

In short I wouldn't jump straight to acromegaly when October has so much else going on that is likely contributing to insulin need.
Yes we spoke about the other steroid i actually spoke with it when we seen the internal medicine he said if she gets back to back flare ups we would try something else so far just this one she’s on 4.25u
 
One of the issues with IBD can be what you're feeding your cat. While Dr. Elsey's is low in carbohydrates, which is important for diabetes management, feeding an IBD cat novel proteins may be helpful. Chicken is not a novel protein. Think in terms of rabbit, venison, or even pork. There are other options as well.

We don't suggest getting a cat tested for either acromegaly or insulin resistance until the dose is 5 - 6u/shot.

I'm tagging one of the other Moderators who has considerable experience with these conditions: @Wendy&Neko
Thank you, so far on this food she’s been on it a year we seen only the one flare up and that’s when I was adding soft food in the mix. It seems like the soft food makes her throw up I was seeing her throw up here and there on and off I don’t think much of it tbh. She threw up the morning before bloodwork in November and it showed the pancreatitis I cut the can food back out. I can be wrong but I think it’s something in the can foods. Back years ago when I was feeding dry and can she let getting these sores on her face it was an allergic reaction to something I went through cans and did a trial and error and it seemed the chick didn’t give her the sores so we stayed with chicken it’s possible she is allergic though I have no idea. She is on 4.25u now
 
Which soft food made her throw up? Maybe it was one of the proteins in that particular food. Fish, chicken and beef are common allergies. Sometimes it's the gums added to the can or other ingredients. We've seen some cats see higher numbers with Dr. Elseys dry for some reason and do better when they move to wet.

What type of probiotic are you using? Also, why the lactulose? Some information in your signature might help us, this post has details: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

As far as acromegaly goes, acro cats can be on smaller doses. It's just when they get up to 6 units, the chances are pretty good they have acro, IAA (insulin auto antibodies) or less commonly Cushings. That cute hairy belly says it's likely not Cushings. The majority (around 75%) of acros do not have clinical signs of acromegaly when they are first diagnosed. We also have a saying here "don't go looking for zebras when you hear hoofbeats".
 
Which soft food made her throw up? Maybe it was one of the proteins in that particular food. Fish, chicken and beef are common allergies. Sometimes it's the gums added to the can or other ingredients. We've seen some cats see higher numbers with Dr. Elseys dry for some reason and do better when they move to wet.

What type of probiotic are you using? Also, why the lactulose? Some information in your signature might help us, this post has details: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

As far as acromegaly goes, acro cats can be on smaller doses. It's just when they get up to 6 units, the chances are pretty good they have acro, IAA (insulin auto antibodies) or less commonly Cushings. That cute hairy belly says it's likely not Cushings. The majority (around 75%) of acros do not have clinical signs of acromegaly when they are first diagnosed. We also have a saying here "don't go looking for zebras when you hear hoofbeats".
It’s honestly every can food, we’ve tried royal canin, hill, tiki ( treats ) fancy feast. And others when she gets IBD flares I have to normally syringe her urgent care can food. It’s possible it’s one of the gums in it i honestly don’t know when she eats the cans I notice she will start to throw up here and there and the stick treats make her super gassy. We’ve been sticking with chicken back a few years ago she kept getting sores on her face we cut out all flavors cans but chicken and the sores went away. She is on lactulose for her constipation that was where her IBD started was bloody mucus constipation so I have to give it twice a day. I guess my fear here is her dose has been climbing up and I’m worried what if it is acro? The kidney results do you think that plays a roll and why would they be slightly larger this time. Have you ever seen a cat who’s number seem near regulated and then harder to treat ? Was that outcome acro?
 
Which soft food made her throw up? Maybe it was one of the proteins in that particular food. Fish, chicken and beef are common allergies. Sometimes it's the gums added to the can or other ingredients. We've seen some cats see higher numbers with Dr. Elseys dry for some reason and do better when they move to wet.

What type of probiotic are you using? Also, why the lactulose? Some information in your signature might help us, this post has details: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

As far as acromegaly goes, acro cats can be on smaller doses. It's just when they get up to 6 units, the chances are pretty good they have acro, IAA (insulin auto antibodies) or less commonly Cushings. That cute hairy belly says it's likely not Cushings. The majority (around 75%) of acros do not have clinical signs of acromegaly when they are first diagnosed. We also have a saying here "don't go looking for zebras when you hear hoofbeats".
Thank you I’ll update the information she is on Proviable-forte probiotic
 
Proviable is a good option. I use Visbiome, also good, but needs less volume for the same amount of probiotic.
Have you ever seen a cat who’s number seem near regulated and then harder to treat ? Was that outcome acro?
Yes to the first question, no to the second. There are many other conditions that can cause insulin resistance: pancreatitis, kidney disease, heart disease, hyperthyroidism, dental disease, insulin auto antibodies, other inflammation or infections to name a few. And glucose toxicity, where kitty's body gets used to higher numbers, but can be resolved over time with more insulin. If her nadirs (plural) are not in the 90-149 range, don't hold the dose any longer than 7 days.
 
Proviable is a good option. I use Visbiome, also good, but needs less volume for the same amount of probiotic.

Yes to the first question, no to the second. There are many other conditions that can cause insulin resistance: pancreatitis, kidney disease, heart disease, hyperthyroidism, dental disease, insulin auto antibodies, other inflammation or infections to name a few. And glucose toxicity, where kitty's body gets used to higher numbers, but can be resolved over time with more insulin. If her nadirs (plural) are not in the 90-149 range, don't hold the dose any longer than 7 days.
She has IBD and pancreatitis she actually lost a tooth recently as well she also has had some recurring UTIs which I might bring another sample in if I don’t see an improvement. Thank you for your reply, I have severe anxiety and ocd so I panic. Actually having another issue a few days ago I seen a floaty in her syringe after drawing insulin in ( I use new syringes every time ) I tossed it. Got a new syringe and I looked at the vial it looked okay I took a better look today with my flashlight the vial has floating particles in it. I got a new one and when I got home i noticed it has the same thing little stringy like floating particles also same lot number I called the manufacturer they want me to send both vials back new one and old one and not use them depending what they said it’s possible these lots are contaminated. The pharmacy only had one glargine pen available so I got it. We normally only use lantus vials. The manufacturer of lantus will be sending me more information and more 2 more vials. I’m not sure if this information should be spread to others yet or not. I have no idea if this was our issue with her numbers only time will tell while on the pen. Lmk if you would like to see videos not sure if I should spread the word to others yet or not
 
Good detective work on the vials. What brand is the insulin? Could be Lantus or one of the biosimilar/generics. If you get a confirmation that there is contamination, then it is definitely worth posting here.
 
Lantus vials, yes there was floating pieces in it. I contacted the manufacturer they want it back I posted on fb. I think it was starting to crystallize. Can I post videos on here ?
 
Good detective work on the vials. What brand is the insulin? Could be Lantus or one of the biosimilar/generics. If you get a confirmation that there is contamination, then it is definitely worth posting here.
Proviable is a good option. I use Visbiome, also good, but needs less volume for the same amount of probiotic.

Yes to the first question, no to the second. There are many other conditions that can cause insulin resistance: pancreatitis, kidney disease, heart disease, hyperthyroidism, dental disease, insulin auto antibodies, other inflammation or infections to name a few. And glucose toxicity, where kitty's body gets used to higher numbers, but can be resolved over time with more insulin. If her nadirs (plural) are not in the 90-149 range, don't hold the dose any longer than 7 days.
She’s still not seeing many greens, just really worried. Do you think that acro is something that might be happening? Or something else? She has IBD and pancreatitis. She also has had teeth issues lost a tooth not to long ago. I guess my fear is she has this acro and I’m missing it or something. Looking at her chart would you think that acro is a possibility? It seems like she was doing so good for so long and all of a sudden we need more insulin and I just don’t understand why. I have bad anxiety so I tend to spiral
 
Last edited:
Your cat eats kibble - some people have noticed that Dr. Elsey's bumps their cat up. Not all do, just some. She's also gone some systemic inflammation (IBD, cystitis) and sounds like she needs a dental? All sorts of possible reasons you aren't seeing many greens.

This is day 4 of the new insulin? Looks like not that much difference.

When following SLGS, you increase the dose after 7 days if she's not seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range - which she is not. Time for 4.5 units.
 
Your cat eats kibble - some people have noticed that Dr. Elsey's bumps their cat up. Not all do, just some. She's also gone some systemic inflammation (IBD, cystitis) and sounds like she needs a dental? All sorts of possible reasons you aren't seeing many greens.

This is day 4 of the new insulin? Looks like not that much difference.

When following SLGS, you increase the dose after 7 days if she's not seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range - which she is not. Time for 4.5 units.
Yes day 4 on the new insulin going to increase to 4.5 for amps unless she some how shows me some better numbers tonight. Yes she has IBD and cystitis. The teeth issue the vet keeps saying her teeth are “fine” but I see gingivitis and she lost a tooth or it was reabsorbed. The kibble seems to be okay I don’t see spikes after. I mean I’m happy with 200s and high 100s I love seeing blues but I want better it’s like she’s flat at these numbers. She drops some but not a ton In October ( the month ) she was doing so well then after the pancreas and liver flare up and being on the pred for the 3 weeks she just seems to be climbing doses rather than decreasing. You’re thinking her dose is higher due to her issues she already has rather than acro or something else? I know you have alot
Of experience with all of this so I know you’d be honest do some cats just need higher doses of insulin ? What is like the “normal” range of insulin doses ?

Sorry I ask a lot of questions i often get these thoughts and I spiral down and almost make myself believe the worst case even if that’s not the case. I love her with every bit of my life and I don’t ever want to miss something she is my world. I just want to try to do what’s best for her. I’m increasing to the 4.5 for Amps is there anything else you recommend or anything you have thoughts about?
 
I'm think there are many possible reasons her dose is higher. Deal with those common possibilities first. See if your vet can refer you to a dental specialist vet. I've seen needing a dentals make a huge difference. Up to about 6 units, there are a lot of different reasons a cat could need that high a dose.

Have you tested for ketones recently?
 
I'm think there are many possible reasons her dose is higher. Deal with those common possibilities first. See if your vet can refer you to a dental specialist vet. I've seen needing a dentals make a huge difference. Up to about 6 units, there are a lot of different reasons a cat could need that high a dose.

Have you tested for ketones recently?
We are seeing a new vet on the 18th she had a dental last in 2023 they also never did x rays at that time of her teeth. The tooth that fell out recently is the tooth that was bad at that time and they never pulled it out. I can’t see anything to concerning with her teeth but I also don’t know how bad they could possibly be.

I haven’t tested in about a week last we tested they were at 0.2 on Feb 1st we increased to 4.5 today amps and she’s been sitting around 190 all day. How would we know if teeth are an issue ? She’s eating good not peeing a crazy amount just can’t seem to get these number down to much.
 
For two of Neko's dentals, problems could not be seen by visual inspection, but showed up on xray.
So what bothers me is she had a cleaning in 2023 she had a reabsorption tooth the one that’s gone now. The vet didn’t have the x rays for teeth so they did it all by eye they never pulled that tooth looked great after they cleaned but now it’s gone just a bump. I can see 3 other teeth that are currently being reabsorbed. My vet is 72 I love her dearly dont get me wrong but I have an appointment with a new vet on the 18th she also studied internal medicine. I am hoping she will give us some more answers I know she needs a dental and at least 3 teeth pulled. Just scared of her going under but I think we don’t have much of a choice if it’s affecting her BG now. Her breath also smells like a chemical like bleach has for months now. It seemed like every time she was on an antibiotic her numbers got better to if you look at our notes you can see it so I’m going to mention that as well. I tested ketones she’s at 0.2 and 228 for pmps. When Neko had his dental what were you seeing as issues and how many were pulled? My other cat non diabetic he’ll be 4 in April and I already see teeth issues on him he has gingivitis. October has had teeth issues from when she was about 4 or so always had gingivitis. Can teeth be playing a role in this needing more insulin and numbers creeping up? She also has always swallowed her food never chewed hates anything chewy some teeth have some black/greenish coloring not much plaque though.
 
When Neko had his dental what were you seeing as issues and how many were pulled?
Neko's first dental was with her regular vet, and it was just a cleaning. Later on, after her HCM was diagnosed, she went to a dental vet. Dental vets have extra monitoring during the procedure. She was "complicated". She had what looked like an infected tooth to the regular vet, but in fact was extra soft tissue growth being rubbed by a canine tooth. Dental vet filed down the rubbing tooth, and found one tooth that needed to come out. Next time was more "interesting", a bony growth on her jaw, probably from her acromegaly.

Can teeth be playing a role in this needing more insulin and numbers creeping up?
Yes. Number one reason cats in remission fall out of remission.
 
Neko's first dental was with her regular vet, and it was just a cleaning. Later on, after her HCM was diagnosed, she went to a dental vet. Dental vets have extra monitoring during the procedure. She was "complicated". She had what looked like an infected tooth to the regular vet, but in fact was extra soft tissue growth being rubbed by a canine tooth. Dental vet filed down the rubbing tooth, and found one tooth that needed to come out. Next time was more "interesting", a bony growth on her jaw, probably from her acromegaly.


Yes. Number one reason cats in remission fall out of remission.
Feeling so defeated, completely flat on the 4.5u seems like no movement. Honestly idk what’s next in your opinion what do I do next here?
 
what do I do next here?
Pull on those patience pants. Lantus can take several cycles for the depot to build and show results. Sometimes not until the 5th or 6th cycle on a dose. Plus there is a phenomenon we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness, cause unknown, that can lead to higher numbers for the first few cycles after a dose increase.
 
Pull on those patience pants. Lantus can take several cycles for the depot to build and show results. Sometimes not until the 5th or 6th cycle on a dose. Plus there is a phenomenon we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness, cause unknown, that can lead to higher numbers for the first few cycles after a dose increase.
I know I’m trying just feeling so devastated lately, feels like we take a step forward and get pushed back down. I’m just really scared about everything. Her dose is just climbing and when I feel hopeful that it will work I feel let down when it doesn’t. With dentals how does that work for a diabetic cat with IBD/liver issues?
 
I don't think that's any different than a regular diabetic cat. Lots more information here: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
Thank you, if you want to take a peak at her spreadsheet again? So if a dose was so say “to high” we would see the drops ik I test often I would see the lows then the highs would be bouncing ? They wouldn’t just stay high right? Idk if losing weight might help but she’s back up to 18 pounds I noticed she definitely is having some stiff legs and maybe leg pain. It feels like I’m trying to guess what’s wrong. Could this just be glucose toxicity? My thing is why and how.
 
Thank you, if you want to take a peak at her spreadsheet again? So if a dose was so say “to high” we would see the drops ik I test often I would see the lows then the highs would be bouncing ? They wouldn’t just stay high right? Idk if losing weight might help but she’s back up to 18 pounds I noticed she definitely is having some stiff legs and maybe leg pain. It feels like I’m trying to guess what’s wrong. Could this just be glucose toxicity? My thing is why and how.
Would B12 injections help at all? She has IBD we’ve only ever done the injections when she was having flares never had them other then that idk if it’s worth a try. Ketones were 0.1 yesterday her normal ketones are 0.1-0.3 or so
 
If you are wondering if she needs B12 injections, you should get a blood test done to test her B12 levels first. You don't want to supplement if not needed.

Has the vet told you what her ideal weight should be? Getting a cat closer to a good weight can help with regulation. And if she has arthritis, then losing any extra weight will help.

I don't think you are missing low numbers, rather I think you just haven't reached a dose yet that will move her.
 
If you are wondering if she needs B12 injections, you should get a blood test done to test her B12 levels first. You don't want to supplement if not needed.

Has the vet told you what her ideal weight should be? Getting a cat closer to a good weight can help with regulation. And if she has arthritis, then losing any extra weight will help.

I don't think you are missing low numbers, rather I think you just haven't reached a dose yet that will move her.
They would like to see her at about 15 pounds still overweight but much better she’s 18 pounds now. Today we skipped insulin she is at 67 currently no insulin. Last dose was 11:45 last night. I decreased her food a bit to 3/4 of a cup yesterday and split the meals in half she still grazes but ate about 1/2 cup throughout the day. I have no idea why all of a sudden she dropped. She earned a reduction as well
 
I decreased her food a bit to 3/4 of a cup yesterday and split the meals in half she still grazes but ate about 1/2 cup throughout the day. I have no idea why all of a sudden she dropped.
It could be she dropped because you are giving less dry food. Good luck with the new dose.
 
It could be she dropped because you are giving less dry food. Good luck with the new dose.
Only shot 1.5 tonight think we might be having triaditis flare up having some diarrhea, light brown tanish color. I just did a urine and it looks like there’s a possibility of slight Bili in her urine and protien the color doesn’t match on any of the colors on the bottle but it’s definitely a bit different than our normal. She’s eating but not much about a 1/2 cup throughout the day. Just don’t want the vet to try to push pred again i have no idea what else to use to treat this. If you have any recommendations. I have nausea meds on hand Cyproheptadine for appetite I have metronidazole here and prednisolone. I had the vet email the internal medicine again Friday we seen him last year I’m hoping he can help and not for $600 because I only have $400 to my name right now. So stressed out. If you have any recommendations I’ll take them she’s had IBD for years now and we always used prednisolone. This will be the 2ed flare last flare was in November. Tested earlier today ketones 0.2
 
Neko couldn't take prednisolone due to her heart, and was on budesonide instead. It's a more locally acting steroid and for many cat does not increase blood sugars.

Are you giving probiotics? My IBD girl gets Visbiome. And s. boulardii is good for diarrhea. I would stay away from metronidazole if you can, as it can impact the gut biome. What nausea meds do you have?
 
Neko couldn't take prednisolone due to her heart, and was on budesonide instead. It's a more locally acting steroid and for many cat does not increase blood sugars.

Are you giving probiotics? My IBD girl gets Visbiome. And s. boulardii is good for diarrhea. I would stay away from metronidazole if you can, as it can impact the gut biome. What nausea meds do you have?
Didn’t realize I didn’t respond, her bloodwork came back amazing. She is slightly low for folate on the GI panel B12 was good Pancreas was good and liver kidneys all good. The diarrhea got better had to start lactulose back up because she was pretty constipated yesterday. She takes Proviable-forte. We ended up decreasing her dose because she wasn’t eating great and dropped pretty low had to skip insulin a couple days. We are now doing 3 day increases till we get back up to seeing some decent numbers or 4u. Numbers have been much higher lately. Her legs seem to be bothering her a bit I think it might be weight related still doing 3/4 of a cup a food a day.
 
Good to hear her bloodwork results are fine.

Her numbers will be higher until you get towards 4 units. That was too big a drop in dose.
We just went back to 3u for amps ketones were at 0.4 so I went to 3 im hoping to see some good results with the 3 but she’s pretty flat 233 for +4 and 234 for amps. Any thoughts why she had that huge drop and now we are higher?
 
What huge drop are you referring to?
On 2/15 we had to skip insulin she kept dropping around Amps stayed in the low 50s basically all day with no insulin at all. I expected to see higher numbers even around what would have been +7 but she didn’t start to climb till the next schedule dose. Honestly thankful I didn’t shoot that day
 
Your dosing is all over the place. If you are going to follow SLGS as per what is indicated in the spreadsheet, you need to hold or stay with the same dose for 7 days. Unless she drops under 90, in which case you reduce the dose by 0.25 units. Lantus is a depot style insulin, so you need to be patient on a dose so the depot can build.

The "drop" earlier was probably influenced by the depot of the earlier 4.5 unit dose. The depot of the larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction.
 
Your dosing is all over the place. If you are going to follow SLGS as per what is indicated in the spreadsheet, you need to hold or stay with the same dose for 7 days. Unless she drops under 90, in which case you reduce the dose by 0.25 units. Lantus is a depot style insulin, so you need to be patient on a dose so the depot can build.

The "drop" earlier was probably influenced by the depot of the earlier 4.5 unit dose. The depot of the larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction.
Right now we are doing every 3 day increases as i basically cut the dose in half after the drops she had. She was also not feeling great had diarrhea and wasn’t eating much I couldn’t safely shoot full. Now we are trying to climb back up. Once we hit around like 4u I’m going to start to hold again for 7 days. She had diarrhea again was good all week but started up again today. Hopefully it’s just lactulose related. I’m hoping we start to see a little better with her numbers when we start climbing up more. If you think we should hold longer we can do that just trying to get her back to her dose or at least a dose we see some type of movement with.
 
Could you change the Dosing Method listed at the top of the spreadsheet to "Custom"? That'll let people know you are not following SLGS for dosing. FYI - you are not following every 3 day increases. You only held the 2.75 unit dose for 3 cycles or 1.5 days.

If you can monitor closely, you can probably go straight to 3.5 or 4 units. If you do a temporary dose reduction, like some people do for a vacation, you don't need to slowly climb back up to the previous dose.
 
Could you change the Dosing Method listed at the top of the spreadsheet to "Custom"? That'll let people know you are not following SLGS for dosing. FYI - you are not following every 3 day increases. You only held the 2.75 unit dose for 3 cycles or 1.5 days.

If you can monitor closely, you can probably go straight to 3.5 or 4 units. If you do a temporary dose reduction, like some people do for a vacation, you don't need to slowly climb back up to the previous dose.
We went to 3.5u going to go to 4u tomorrow then going to hold 4u for the 7 days and go to our normal SLGS. Would like to hear your thoughts. Still stressing out over the possibility of acro do you think she has it?
 
Still stressing out over the possibility of acro do you think she has it?
I have no clue. As I mentioned above, there are many things going on with October that are infection/inflammation that can cause a need for larger amounts of insulin. I'd address those issues first, like getting a dental. You dropped the dose too much when you saw the 50's on 4.5 units, so she naturally is in higher numbers now and it'll take getting back to 4+ units to get better numbers again.

If you want to set answer your concern about acromegaly, ask the vet to get a IGF-1 blood test done.
 
I have no clue. As I mentioned above, there are many things going on with October that are infection/inflammation that can cause a need for larger amounts of insulin. I'd address those issues first, like getting a dental. You dropped the dose too much when you saw the 50's on 4.5 units, so she naturally is in higher numbers now and it'll take getting back to 4+ units to get better numbers again.

If you want to set answer your concern about acromegaly, ask the vet to get a IGF-1 blood test done.
We dropped so much because she wasn’t eating and had awful diarrhea threw up once as well was honestly thinking she was having an IBD flare but her bloodwork turned out beautiful. So now getting back to 4u tomorrow. I asked my vet about the IGF-1 she said they have never done it before. I was thinking if we end up past 6u seeing the internal medicine vet might be a good idea because I know he’ll be able to most likely run that test. We have an appointment with a vet who interned in internal medicine for 12 years so going to see what she recommends that’s on the 11th. We are going to hold the 4u and so on for 7 days. I know i mentioned I have OCD really bad so I get these thoughts of worse case scenario and basically make myself believe it. I will obsess about it then go on to the next thing to obsess about it feel never ending. I’m praying we start to see some better numbers soon. As far as a dental we are going to see what the new vet thinks and or IMV.
 
We dropped so much because she wasn’t eating and had awful diarrhea threw up once as well was honestly thinking she was having an IBD flare but her bloodwork turned out beautiful. So now getting back to 4u tomorrow. I asked my vet about the IGF-1 she said they have never done it before. I was thinking if we end up past 6u seeing the internal medicine vet might be a good idea because I know he’ll be able to most likely run that test. We have an appointment with a vet who interned in internal medicine for 12 years so going to see what she recommends that’s on the 11th. We are going to hold the 4u and so on for 7 days. I know i mentioned I have OCD really bad so I get these thoughts of worse case scenario and basically make myself believe it. I will obsess about it then go on to the next thing to obsess about it feel never ending. I’m praying we start to see some better numbers soon. As far as a dental we are going to see what the new vet thinks and or IMV.
Tiny bit of movement started 4u a couple days ago and seen 197 for amps today we are higher now. I have a procedure tomorrow afternoon so we are going to increase to 4.25u Saturday and begin holding for 7 days again. Any thoughts why she going up instead of down? I’m happy to see the blue today regardless.
 
Back
Top