Acromegaly + Cabergoline 3 months in BG still around 350, looking for advice

melviabalon

Member Since 2026
Looking for advice from anyone who might be in a similar situation with their acromegalic cat.

Porter was diagnosed with diabetes in December 2025. He is currently on:
— 40 units 2x Lantus
— Cabergoline 0.12ml (60mcg) every 24 hours for the past 3 months

The first week on cabergoline was really promising — his BG dropped into the 200s which was exciting. But it went back up to the 400s and has now settled around 350–366 mg/dL where it seems to be staying.

Porter is 15 lbs, has a good appetite, good energy and is taking B12. He seems to have a good quality of life overall which I am grateful for. Diet is ff pate.

Unfortunately I am no longer able to afford vet visits and I am not getting any guidance from my vet at this point. I am doing my best to manage his care at home and keep him comfortable.

I am wondering if anyone else has been through this where cabergoline gave an initial improvement but then BG crept back up. Did it eventually stabilize? Did you adjust the dose? Is there anything else that helped? Should I increase his insulin?

Thanks Melvi and Porter

Any advice or care plans you'd be willing to share would mean so much. Thank you! 🐱
 
Hello and welcome. Are you home testing Porter's blood sugars? Just wondering how you got up to 40 units of Lantus. We could help you with dosing, but we'd need more information. Most of us keep our cat's blood sugar data in a spreadsheet that we use, along with our dosing methods, to determine how to change the dose, or if it needs to be changed. Without that data, we don't have enough information to help. If you are home testing blood sugars, would it be possible to put them in a spreadsheet? How to create the spreadsheet is detailed in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! If you aren't so technically inclined, we can find someone to help you set it up.
 
Yes I am home testing Porter's blood sugar. I use a FreeStyle Libre so I get continuous readings. I do have all his data tracked through the Libre app.

As for the 40 units, Porter was seen by an internist who managed his dosing and gradually increased his Lantus over time. The internist's last prescribed dose was 36 units and I have since increased it to 40 units on my own based on his readings. Attached is the reading.
 

Attachments

Good to hear you have blood sugar data. Libres weren't around when my acrokitty was alive. Sorry, but I'm having a hard time with the report figuring out what to do.
 
Back
Top