a new day, lower pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi everyone!
Hope all on the east side of the country survived this storm well. And glad to see the board is back up!!!

We have a lower pmps tonight, 188. Not dreadfully low but still under 200.

I am worried I have been giving BCDs (big chicken doses-I stole that from a previous thread I read today...) when it comes to these lower but not real low numbers. I am thinking maybe we’ll do 1.75 units tonight, and test, obviously.

We have been trying to keep him at 2 units but he seems to have a low number here and there that screws that up. And I hate to do no shoots or go too low in dosage and have him bounce around. Should we not be trying to stick to one dose at this point?

Anybody out there have any opinions? Spread sheet is current.

Thanks!

-d.
 
I think 1.75 sounds good, Donna. I agree that he has never gotten really low nadirs and, as long as you test, I think you can be a little more aggressive.

The thing that makes this blurry is his bounces....

We shall see what he does - never a dull moment.
 
Thanks Sue, I did reach out to Gator and Joanna by PM about all this too. I clicked “send” yesterday and right after that the board went down. I checked today and it looks like my message is still in the outbox so hope it went to them.

Yeah I really don’t get the bounce thing at all.
 
Gator has told me in the past that PZI is flexible and you can do variable dosing. That would mean that instead of trying to hold a certain dose, you would be focusing on the PS numbers you want to get ( with an awareness of the nadirs) and adjusting the dose accordingly---with the aim of going down about 20 to 50 points from PS to PS. (the larger amount for higher numbers). I think you can make a case for doing it that way, or for holding the dose if that is a tactic your cat seems to respond to. As long as you are testing and not getting very low nadirs, it seems safe to try what you are comfortable with.
 
That storm was a real doozy here in Cleveland. Everything is a sheet of ice covered by several new inches of snow. I'm glad I got to stay home.

I know all about being a big chicken doser. But I agree with Sue that your numbers and testing could probably support more aggressive doses. You guys are really doing a great job!
 
I think I saw on the news that Cleveland gets the most snow of anywhere in the country.... so sorry for you Charliemeow!!!

As for Asher, I wouldn't worry about holding a steady dose. I haven't seen that it matters that much, although I only used PZI Vet not ProZinc. It does matter if you are jumping around a lot, it can drive you nuts and make the data hard to interpret due to variable duration from different shots. But ranging between say 1.5 and 2u? I wouldn't even think twice about doing it.

I mentioned this in the other thread but just to reiterate, if it were me I would probably be trying maybe 1.9 rather than 2u, and see if that eliminates some of the big swings, without losing the pretty blues & greens. You can vary it as much as you like - maybe shoot 1.75 on a 180 PS, 1.8 over 200, 1.9 over 300, whatever. You don't have to do that, but I generally found it to work well when you are getting pretty good #s and want to fine tune and try to keep things exactly where you want them. For us, those tiny changes seemed to work well. If it drives you nutso though to even consider it :) then I would probably try shooting a steady 1.9, and just reduce to 1.75 like you did on the PSs under 200. Then as you get data you can refine that if needed. If you lose good nadirs though on 1.9 then I would go back to 2u right away.
 
p.s. just fyis - PMs stay in your Outbox until the person picks them up, so if it's in your Outbox it just means they haven't read it yet..... also I don't have mine email me when I get a PM, so if anyone PMs me & I don't answer right away, that's probably why! I do check in on the board most days though.... obviously not so much last night!!!
 
Thank you so much everyone!

We had a 245 amps today. We gave 1.8 units. (yes, I finally got the guts to try the U100 syringes)

We’ll be around most of the day to take some readings and watch him.

Tomorrow is a different scenario tho, and I wanted to ask you guys about that. We have been trying to space his shots 10-12 hours apart.
We have a big job tomorrow where Tom and I both have to be gone from about 7:15 am until 5-5:30. This is the first time we both aren’t going to be here mid day.
My cat sitter will come in to give snacks around noon and check on things.

So, we’ll have to give Asher his shot about an hour earlier than we usually do tomorrow morning, and since we’ll be gone, should I give a lower dose? I know we’ll have to see what his numbers are, but I was just wondering if I am being a big chicken again and what you guys would suggest.

-d.
 
So I need a little advice once again...

I was going to feed and shoot a little early tonight since I have to feed and shoot early tomorrow because we have to work out of the house.

Here are today’s numbers:
245 amps -we shot 1.8 units, +3 291, +5 173, + 9.5 which I hoped to be my pmps 126.

So....I didn’t feed yet. It is 6 pm and we usually have been feeding closer to 7-7:30 and shooting 7:30 -8 ish.

Any suggestions on what to do tonight and tomorrow dosage and times? I can hold off feeding and shooting tonight, but tomorrow I must shoot early since I have to leave the house by 7:30 at the latest. (new client, big job) Murphy’s law says it can’t be boring when we have a big job to worry about.

Thanks guys,

-d.
 
Wow, look at him go!

Of course, he has to be going up to shoot anything. in the past, you shot 1.5 into 160 and 1.75 into 180 and it was fine. You shot .50 into 130 and he went up. I think I would play it safe and figure if he goes up, you will be able to get back here again. You could shoot somewhere around 1.5 tonight (assuming he goes up into the 160-180 range), keep an eye on him overnight and then shoot a token dose tomorrow? Or if he is surfing along in the am, skip.

Leave it to him to be in beautiful numbers when you are going to have to be away..... :evil:
 
Yeah I know. This kitty has always been his own man ;)

I am ok with doing 1.5 tonight if his numbers are high enough. I can’t get up 2 or 3 times to test him tonight. I have to sleep since we have to be ON tomorrow for work. I know I have a crazy life.

I’ll check him again around 7 and see what’s up, hopefully his bg :)

What might be a token dose tomorrow? This morning he was around 245 and we shot 1.8 but who knows with this dude.

Seems like sometimes he gets a long ride off of the insulin during the day, but not as much at night.

-d.
 
That isn't much of a rise. What are you thinking- something around 1? You do want to consider that with the 20% variance, the 126 and 140 are not really different numbers.

I would err on the side of caution, I think. Even if he goes up into the 300s again, you can get him back down.
 
Yes, I think 1 unit is a good number for tonight. Would 1.2 make a difference?

I want to do what is best for him but we need him to be safe while we get some sleep tonight and while we are away tomorrow. (We do have someone coming in at noon to give treats and check in.)

I am happy to be a bit more bold tomorrow night, over the weekend and next week when we are home all the time.
 
I agree. He didn't shoot up to a clearly comfortable number for much above 1 unit. (Although 1.2 should be fine, if you want to do that.)

There is plenty of time to be daring.
 
No advice, just support. Good luck with your numbers and with the shoot!
He will be alright if his BGs go a little high tomorrow and you aren't there. Play it conservative. that way you know you will be able to concentrate on the pictures and not worrying about something you won't be at home for.
 
Thanks guys!

We are shooting 1 unit tonight...that is if I can ever get him to calm down so I can shoot. He and his brother got a little wild playing after their supper ;)

-d.
 
So today's curve suggests to me that 1.8 is too high a dose - late drop as well as dramatically lower PS with PZI look to me like too high a dose. I would probably back your "normal" dose down to 1.5 and see what happens. If that's not enough, you can go back up a hair if needed. It could be b/c the PS was mid-200s, so maybe 1.8 would still be fine on a mid-300s PS, hard to say for sure. Your 1u tonight seems like a good compromise to me.

That's great if he is playing, that is an awesome sign that he feels good, and also exercise can lower BGs so that could help with giving him good #s.

I would definitely reduce the dose anytime you shoot earlier than +10, and possibly even at +10 as well. I would probably back down any dose by 0.2u if you have a good PS at +10 (vs. if he were already zooming up to pink #s, probably no need to reduce the dose). If you shoot at like a +8 or something, I would reduce the dose even more. Personally I found shooting earlier than +10 to sometimes give unexpected overly-good results, so I would err on the side of caution, at least until you have data. And you definitely don't want to spend tomorrow worrying about possibly having overshot, so I would go with whatever feels comfortable to you (and if it's a chicken dose, so be it). I mean don't shoot 0.2 or something, that's really unlikely to be anywhere close to enough, but I wouldn't stress about feeling like you have to shoot aggressively.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top