A beautiful 3rd day on Levemir so far

Status
Not open for further replies.
PMPS 166 .5u Levemir administered

:o

Very happy with this insulin so far!!! He hasn't been too high or too low for THREE DAYS now!

-Mike 'n' Pixie puff
 
Isn't it beautiful?!?!? I'm so glad you went ahead with the switch. It's working just like it's supposed to and he's got a very good chance at needing even less over time. Very very happy for you!!!

flip_cat
 
Looking great, Mike!

Can you get a spot check in tonight around +5 or so? While it doesn't translate into number by number drop, his PS was lower tonight than this morning and he has gotten the same dose... would be good to check him.
 
I was able to stay up for a +4 but was too sleepy for the +5.

PMPS 166 .5u Levemir administered
+4 182

And today's #'s:

AMPS 186 .5u Levemir administered

Starting to think I'm getting sick myself (the g/f has been sick last couple days) because I feel like crap this morning.

At least that means I'll definitely be around the house to do a +5 today. May try to get a couple other readings at different times also.

Keep in mind that he is NOT on his permanent food yet. All I have still is the Purina DM my vet prescribed to me. Have to special-order Wellness this coming week from my local pet store. So the real number crunching work won't be done until then. I'm just trying to keep him safe for now.

-M
 
Oh, I hope you feel better, Mike!

OK, if you can, get some later cycle numbers like +7, +9 (or +6, +8, +10) so we can see if he is just surfing in the mid/upper 100s or if there is a late drop.

Yeah, food will make a difference. When I adopted Jeddie last Oct., he had been on DM canned and I switched him to the Friskies/Fancy Feast mix I use. I was only able to get a couple of test in those first few days (he bit me really hard, poor guy was so scared about his rehoming). They were 179 and 159 or something, but I didn't feel comfortable shooting insulin on those numbers (he was on vetsulin, a much faster acting insulin) so I didn't give him any. Anyway, his numbers came down on their own and he was diet controlled for 3 months. I think there were two things happening there. One was the food change - so you are right it will probably effect Pixie's numbers - and the other was that Jeddie was put on insulin, 1u bid, and never had ANY further testing for a month (!!!!) so may have been rebounding or going very low.
 
Here's what today's #'s ended up looking like:

AMPS 186 .5u Levemir administered
+3 106
+5 66
+8 129

And I assume he will be 150+ around 9:30 PM EST for his night time dose/feeding. I'm very pleased thus far!

I'll probably have to re-adjust once he changes foods to Wellness, but I am getting very comfortable with this routine finally. It was very stressful at first!

-=][V][=-
 
Hey Mike, hope you're feeling better. I'm sure Pixie is!

I'm a bit concerned about that 66 at +5, that's a little early in cycle, which makes me think .5U will be a drop or 2 too much very shortly. I'm not saying to lower dose yet, but if you can get a test around +5 tomorrow too, in case we have a further drop that would be good. Catching the dose decrease indicator number (40) is important at this stage.

But we like to get other input on progress, so don't take my word for it. I'm sure someone else will be by later this evening. Have to go mow my lawn now.
 
Yes I am feeling a bit better and thank you. Unfortunately a +5 will be impossible due to my work schedule tomorrow. I *MIGHT* be able to get a +5 tonight if I can't sleep (which happens to me quite often... insomnia).

I'll stop posting results every single day very soon (I think I've pretty much got this under control enough where the rest to do is just trial and error) so as to stop taking up so much space on the board. When I change his diet I may start actively posting results again for advice, though. I appreciate all the help I've received here more than I can express.

:)

-=][V][=-
 
Oh, I was all set to say the 272 might have been rebound - then I saw the bagels comment, lol!

Hey, you are not taking up space on the board! We love having you here. Post as much as you need/want to.

If you don't post, be aware of that +5 - and maybe get a +6 or 7 as soon as you can. He is responding very well to lev and I don't want to see you miss the indication that .5u is becoming too much.

You are doing great - and so is Pixie!
 
Wheeeee! Yes, the bagel mishap. :-x LOL... I was able to get a +7 and surprisingly enough it was not too bad at all (in the 90's if I remember correctly, will update SS in a bit after PMPS).

And thank you Michele! Is your avatar picture Molly? She is very pretty!

-M
 
(answering for Michele) Yep, that's Molly.

Regarding the bagels, it does happen. He seems to be managing OK with it though.

Have you read about "Beau and the dinner rolls" yet? One of my youngest (cats) got a package of dinner rolls down off a shelf (onto the floor) and I found Beau helping himself. His BG was 145, but 3 hours later it was 325!. He came down from that, but then soared right back up and was in the mid 100s , low 200s for 4 days when I started micro dosing lev again (0.05u). Finally got him OTJ again after 9 days.
 
Wow, that had to be frustrating to be OTJ and then have to re-do it. At least it didn't take long.

After the bagel incident his numbers were high for about 24 hours. Now this morning it is about back where it was.

PMPS (last night) 200 .5u Levemir

AMPS (just now) 164 .5u Levemir

Updating SS then leaving for work. Have a great day, everyone!

-M
 
Gee, thanks you two, now all i want is a bagel and some dinner rolls (i get the impression i came away from these posts with the wrong idea :lol: ).

Yup, that's my beautiful Molly girl. Want her? I can Fed-Ex (duh, of course i'd poke air holes in the box!).

Have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top