Lane&Biddy
Member since 2024
This is the lowest AMPS we’ve had so far and I am not sure how to proceed. I can stall and retest and will be home all day with him.
Thank you. How often should I test him today?I think you will be fine to shoot the full dose since you are going to be at home and can monitor the cycle. If you want to (and as long as you haven’t fed) you can retest in 20-30 minutes and see if Biddy is going up at the end of the last cycle.
Well, since he is lower than we’ve seen before, definitely make sure to test at least+2 and see if he’s about the same as AMPS or lower. Give a mini-meal at +2. So depending upon what you see at +2, you can get a +4 and later a +6. But if the +2 is a lot lower than AMPS, you will want to monitor more closely. Is his appetite good? Will he eat the mini-meals?Thank you. How often should I test him today?
His appetite is great I’m sure he’ll love the extra snacks.Well, since he is lower than we’ve seen before, definitely make sure to test at least+2 and see if he’s about the same as AMPS or lower. Give a mini-meal at +2. So depending upon what you see at +2, you can get a +4 and later a +6. But if the +2 is a lot lower than AMPS, you will want to monitor more closely. Is his appetite good? Will he eat the mini-meals?
Oh, right. Thank you for reminding me what he eats. I was going to buy a case of the wet Z/D yesterday for my boy, but Chewy says it’s 40 percent carbs so I didn’t. He’s on steroids and if I add 40 percent carb food to his Prednisolone (we have had to go back up to 5 mg daily instead of EID) I am afraid he will become diabetic. It seems you just can’t win.Just tested again at 151. Hills z/d for wet and Royal Canin HP dry when he won’t eat the z/d.
Oh geez so sorry you are dealing with that. It truly is an impossible situation but he sure is lucky to have you!Oh, right. Thank you for reminding me what he eats. I was going to buy a case of the wet Z/D yesterday for my boy, but Chewy says it’s 40 percent carbs so I didn’t. He’s on steroids and if I add 40 percent carb food to his Prednisolone (we have had to go back up to 5 mg daily instead of EID) I am afraid he will become diabetic. It seems you just can’t win.
I understand. I knew I probably should have given a reduced shot but wasn’t sure so I chickened out. Next time I will do it. I hope everything went smoothly with your TNR kitties!Hello there. Sorry I haven’t been around at all today. I’ve been taking five community cats to the vet for TNR. I trapped them last night. In fact, I am sitting here right now waiting to pick them up and take them home to recuperate.
So anyway, I see you skipped the shot. I would not have advised you to skip, but I totally understand. Since you shot a 151 with 4 units on February 8, and he had some upper blues. I would have recommended that you either shoot the full dose if you were home to monitor the cycle. Or I would have suggested not going lower than 3.5 units. I am only mentioning this for a future situation where I may not be around. We don’t know what he did yesterday during the day or the night, so that makes it a little bit of guesswork, but going by past numbers, it should be safe… but again…. If you were not going to be home at all and couldn’t come home to check at lunch time, I probably would have shot 3.5.
Thank you! I am very eager to get home to check on him here in just a bit!Good luck with the new dose![]()
My girlfriend, although not comfortable testing, is home with him today and I will go get a +7 here in about half an hour. I also have tomorrow off to keep an eye on him.Oh good. I was looking at his SS and thinking…. Oh well I guess no tests today as you are at work.
He was at 182 +7 today. Unfortunately he was EXTREMELY grumpy last night and I wasn't able any testing done after PMPS.You did have a 131 yesterday at PMPS! Wow. Any idea what happened after that? How about today? Any chance to get a midday test? Or we will wait to see what things look like this evening? Possibly you can go back up to 4 units tomorrow.
Oh. I did not realize that you were testing his paw. Most of my cats don’t like having their paws held. I’m glad he allows one paw to be tested.He’s at 137 for PMPS tonight. I’ll be sure to get a +2. He’s cranky because he only allows testing on his front left paw and I tried to give it a break and use his right paw but he said absolutely not.![]()
He’s had too many ear infections for me to even touch his ears. He actually loves testing time as long as I use the “correct” paw.Oh. I did not realize that you were testing his paw. Most of my cats don’t like having their paws held. I’m glad he allows one paw to be tested.
Oh. Wow. I am so glad I scrolled up to see this. I had missed your most recent message and I thought I had better scroll up to see if I missed something else!! Wednesday was the day I was schlepping feral cats to and from their surgeries. I got behind and missed this wonderful news! I love good news about our kitties! You had started Denamarin, right?Biddy's ALT went down from 1636 to 640!!!!! I am beyond thrilled and just wanted to share!
He has been doing so great! I got regular Denamarin from my clinic and it was too large (he choked and the vomited) so I ordered the Advanced hard tablets that are smaller. They were just delivered so we haven't started them but I am very pleased with his lab results and will start giving that once I figure out how to incorporate it into his very busy medication/feeding schedule. He has so much energy and the most solid stools we've seen in years!Oh. Wow. I am so glad I scrolled up to see this. I had missed your most recent message and I thought I had better scroll up to see if I missed something else!! Wednesday was the day I was schlepping feral cats to and from their surgeries. I got behind and missed this wonderful news! I love good news about our kitties! You had started Denamarin, right?
There are the original tablets and the advanced tablets for cats and dogs but yes the chewable is for dogs only unfortunately.Oh. I see now that the advanced is a chewable tablet for dogs. It’s odd that the original that is for “cats and small dogs” would be larger than the chewable. Surely Nutramax can do better than that.
I have a tab on his SS that has his meds and times I give them. He and my other pets are on so many meds its the only way I can function!All good news! What is his medication schedule like? How many meds is he on and how many times per day?
I didn’t realize there was a tablet size difference in Denamarin. I have only used the blue sort of thick round tablets.
But are the ingredients actually different? Le just the amount of mg. for the ingredients? I see that by weight you may only need 1/4 a tablet — unless he’s more than 14 lbs. and then it’s 1/2 a tablet.There are the original tablets and the advanced tablets for cats and dogs but yes the chewable is for dogs only unfortunately.
Oh yes. I do that for my cats who have taken a lot of meds. Otherwise I would probably mess up the tomes and doses.I have a tab on his SS that has his meds and times I give them. He and my other pets are on so many meds its the only way I can function!
These are the exact ones I got. It is not recommend to cut them. As far as I am aware, they both have 90mg S-Adenosylmethionine and 31mg Silybin-phosphatidylcholine complex (SPC) but I am not sure on other ingredients. https://www.denamarin.com/advanced-hard-tabletsBut are the ingredients actually different? Le just the amount of mg. for the ingredients? I see that by weight you may only need 1/4 a tablet — unless he’s more than 14 lbs. and then it’s 1/2 a tablet.
Okay thank you! I won't have a day off until Thursday this week. I can check a +2 and +7 tomorrow and I can monitor all night if necessary. Would you go ahead and increase tonight or would you advise waiting until I can be home all day?I think Biddy is making good progress. You are seeing a lot of blue. The AMPS/PMPS have come down since a month or two ago. You rarely have a pink preshot number anymore. He’s been on the 3.75 dose for a long while now and has had some time to get accustomed to blue numbers. It looks like he’s ready to go to 4 units. You should hopefully see some green and more blue (less yellow) preshots.
You are so right! How often do you recommend monitoring the first day/night of an increase? Biddy's vet is happy we are testing but has not really given much direction as far as that goes.I think you would feel more comfortable waiting until Thursday. Now watch… he knows we are talking about an increase and he will show us who’s boss.
You were right, he knew we were talking about an increase so he gave me his lowest number yet! Would you increase or decrease now?I think you would feel more comfortable waiting until Thursday. Now watch… he knows we are talking about an increase and he will show us who’s boss.
It’s probably fine on the first day to get a +2, 4 and 6. If nothing interesting is happening then you can stop until closer to PMPS — unless it looks like he’s trending downward. The +2 is to give you an idea of how the cycle may go. Lower than AMPS - probably an interesting cycle. Same as AMPS - probably an average cycle. Higher than AMPS - probably not going to be an “active” cycle. Of course, that’s just a general guideline that can be helpful, but there are variables such as if the cat is breaking a bounce, etc.You are so right! How often do you recommend monitoring the first day/night of an increase? Biddy's vet is happy we are testing but has not really given much direction as far as that goes.