? 9 Sept | Girlie | AMPS 302; +2=193; +3=70; +4=79; +5=94 on AT2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...not-sure-whether-should-increase-dose.183627/

Sorry - wrote wrong AMPS number this morning.

Start of day 7 with 0.75 dose. On TR using AlphaTRAK 2.

Nadirs:
6 Sept +4 = 88 (AMPS 193)
7 Sept +3= 131 (AMPS 479)
8 Sept +3 = 113 (AMPS 268)
9 Sept amps 292

She's entertaining, I'll say that for her!

I know I shouldn't hold the dose too long on TR, so I'm assuming I should try the 1.0 Unit again in an hour. @Wendy&Neko you made a comment in another post re: this, but I can't seem to find it - sorry!

Any thoughts? Would appreciate some reassurance on this.
 
Last edited:
Here is the link to your last post here. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...not-sure-whether-should-increase-dose.183627/
Including those links back helps you, and me, easily find what I said previously.

It's been 5 cycles since Girlie's last green. I would wait one more in case she wants to clear a bounce.

Thanks so much, Wendy - I really appreciate that. That's a new bit of info I can file away: counting the cycles to increase or not is based on when the last lowest nadir was, not when I originally changed the dose. That's super to know! And I feel very reassured, so thank you for that.

Not sure why I couldn't find that last post, but thank you for finding that for me.

Hope all is well with you.
 
Here is the link to your last post here. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...not-sure-whether-should-increase-dose.183627/
Including those links back helps you, and me, easily find what I said previously.

It's been 5 cycles since Girlie's last green. I would wait one more in case she wants to clear a bounce.
That's weird - I just clicked that link and it took me to my post from yesterday, that I had no responses to. :confused:

Sorry I forgot the condo: was doing the post from mobile so technically challenged.
 
It's not always six cycles you wait, but however long it takes Girlie to clear bounces. Hopefully that takes less cycles over time as she gets used to lower numbers. But six is usually safe.
 
It's not always six cycles you wait, but however long it takes Girlie to clear bounces. Hopefully that takes less cycles over time as she gets used to lower numbers. But six is usually safe.

Thanks, Wendy. Just to clarify: you can tell she's cleared a bounce if she goes down to lower numbers (e.g. to yellows and blues) and consistently stays there throughout a day (two cycles)? When I look at her SS since 3 Sept, it looks to me like
4 Sept: she cleared the bounce
5 Sept: bounced
6 Sept: cleared bounce in AM then bounced in PM
7 Sept: cleared in AM then bounced in PM;
8 Sept cleared bounce (?).

Am I reading this right re: clearing bounces and bouncing back? Does "clearing a bounce" require hitting blue or green numbers consistently over a certain period of time (a few hours or a few cycles?), or can you clear a bounce at a +3 and then bounce back up by +6?
 
Just re: TR, bounces and dose increases: I've been reading lots of other posts and looking at lots of other SS, so I don't know if I'm confusing myself or getting some clarity! :eek::confused:

I'm just wondering...
  • Does Girlie seem to be pretty "normal", or does she seem particularly bouncy?
  • She always goes down at +2, which I assume is a good thing (depending on how much)
  • With TR, is it better to just hold the dose even past 14 cycles as each time there's a drop to green (e.g. on 6 Sept) and then a bounce up to pink and black, you start counting the cycles again? Which would mean I should increase tonight unless she drops down and then bounces back up again today?
  • She's dropped 109 points at +2 since her AMPS: I've given her some LLC FF (she's doing her "I'm going down!" tell with food). Should I just see where she is at +3, or should I try to give her a little bit of LC 4% to try to steer a bit? I'm a bit unclear now on when I should try to steer a bit with LC rather than LLC; I don't want to mess her up by not doing the right thing and causing a lack of clarity in her numbers where there would be more clarity if I just let her go where she wanted to go, no matter how quickly she dived to get there.
  • Now she's 110 at +2:30, so another 73 points down in a half hour.

I think I'm probably more confused than most, but maybe I only feel that way! I know I'm driving myself crazy, and I hope I'm not driving the rest of you crazy as well... Apologies if I am!
 
YES absolutely, if it were Uncle having this steep of a drop I would be giving him MC right now.
I'm sorry I'm not more familiar with Girlie's carb sensitivity and other factors to help you more specifically right now.
You do want to slow her roll sooner than later though.
 
Looks like she's clearing a bounce with a vengeance!
Please keep tesing and posting so we can help out if needed.

I swear, the FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1 seems to do this if she's starting from higher numbers - but I have to sort out the SS with the food numbers so it's clearer at a glance.
I've given her some Wellness Beef and Salmon LC6 and will see where she is at +3. She looked at me like "finally! give me food!" and licked the bowl clean, her absolute tell that she's going down...down...

How is Uncle today? I'm sorry I haven't looked yet to see your latest post. You two have been much on my mind...
 
I swear, the FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1 seems to do this if she's starting from higher numbers - but I have to sort out the SS with the food numbers so it's clearer at a glance.
I've given her some Wellness Beef and Salmon LC6 and will see where she is at +3. She looked at me like "finally! give me food!" and licked the bowl clean, her absolute tell that she's going down...down...
I bet. Not all cats are like that but Uncle will definitely tell me he's hungry when he's dropping fast.
Thanks for all the love and support. I am going to leave work now and see how he's doing. Will update in about a half an hour to 45 minutes.
In the meantime I hope Girlie slows down for you.
 
Girlie's decided to be very entertaining now:

70 at +3; on AlphaTRAK 2 so 68 is take action number

Here are the numbers to make it easier than having to go to the SS:

+11 = 292
AMPS = 303 FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1
+1= 295
+2= 193 FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1
+2:30 = 110 FF Savoury Salmon LLC 1; then Wellness Beef and Salmon LC 6
+3=70 Gave a little MC 15 gravy as I can see where she's going...
 
Looks like there are lots of eyes on you and the forum right now. Girlie is teasing you by dancing on the line.
I bet. Not all cats are like that but Uncle will definitely tell me he's hungry when he's dropping fast.
Thanks for all the love and support. I am going to leave work now and see how he's doing. Will update in about a half an hour to 45 minutes.
In the meantime I hope Girlie slows down for you.
I hope Uncle is staring to feel better.
 
I think I'm probably more confused than most, but maybe I only feel that way! I know I'm driving myself crazy, and I hope I'm not driving the rest of you crazy as well... Apologies if I am!
You are just like most new FD mamabeans! I was really, really, really confused and very slow to catch on. I think you're doing great..

Does Girlie seem to be pretty "normal", or does she seem particularly bouncy?
Haha! That's a good one. There is no "normal" with FD! What Girlie is doing is not unusual, so don't add it to your worry list.

+3=70 Gave a little MC 15 gravy as I can see where she's going...
"Know thy cat" is the most important FD Bean commandment. Looks like you've got that one down. :)
 
Looks like there are lots of eyes on you and the forum right now. Girlie is teasing you by dancing on the line.

I hope Uncle is staring to feel better.

No need for me to go to the hairdresser anymore - I won't have any hair left in a little while ... :woot:

I was thinking she needed to have a dose increase, and now she's doing her super diving again. In a way, I think it would be a pity for her to have another reduction, but then again I don't know what I'm talking about at all! I prefer to be guided by those who know much better than I...
 
You are just like most new FD mamabeans! I was really, really, really confused and very slow to catch on. I think you're doing great..


Haha! That's a good one. There is no "normal" with FD! What Girlie is doing is not unusual, so don't add it to your worry list.

"Know thy cat" is the most important FD Bean commandment. Looks like you've got that one down. :)
Oh Tricia, thank you so much! I feel like the most annoying and confusing - and CONFUSED! - mama bean out there. I don't know why I can't get my head around bounces and her SS and how to judge things with her re: doses and such - I'm a dunderhead, that's all there is to it... :-)
 
Around here, just threatening (or even thinking of) a dosecrease is often enough to make a cat drop.

I blame FF Savoury Salmon, myself...at least when she starts out from a higher number. I'll have to really check my SS and the food correlations to justify that, though... Something to occupy me in between tests!

I hope all the FLA and other hurrican kitties and beans are safe. This is getting to be too much. I'm so glad, though, that they've designated shelters especially for those with pets. I know I wouldn't leave my cats, even if a hurricane threatened...
 
Yes, whispering that in their little furry ear is an effective strategy!:cat:
Learning this stuff is like trying to speed learn calculus taught in A foreign language. It's hard because some of the things seem justbflat out counterintuitive...much of it really only starts to make sense when you actually live it...then there will be more "ah-ha!" moments..we have all been there so remember there are no dumb questions except the ones that are not asked...ask away!
 
I know I wouldn't leave my cats, even if a hurricane threatened...
I think everyone on this Board would say the same.

I don't know why I can't get my head around bounces and her SS and how to judge things with her re: doses and such - I'm a dunderhead, that's all there is to it.
It is very confusing and you are already stressed just worrying about Girlie - don't sell yourself short.
 
Okay: she really responds well to carbs, I think. I gave her a little MC 15 gravy (FF Gravy lovers Chicken) and 15 mins later she's at 85.

Should I give her some MC food, or just give her more LC 6 food? She wants more food.

I can tell so clearly - she hates it when she's diving.
 
Yes, whispering that in their little furry ear is an effective strategy!:cat:
Learning this stuff is like trying to speed learn calculus taught in A foreign language. It's hard because some of the things seem justbflat out counterintuitive...much of it really only starts to make sense when you actually live it...then there will be more "ah-ha!" moments..we have all been there so remember there are no dumb questions except the ones that are not asked...ask away!
I'd really like to have an "a-ha!" moment soon re bounces and doses, I can tell you! And here I was wondering whether I should increase her dose this morning. I'm glad @Wendy&Neko suggested waiting til tonight. Imagine how much fun I'd be having right now if I'd increased the dose this morning! Whoop whoop!
 
I think everyone on this Board would say the same.


It is very confusing and you are already stressed just worrying about Girlie - don't sell yourself short.

I don't know if there's something like numerical dyslexia or numbers phobia, but if there is, I've got it! Maybe that's one of my problems with all of this: I see numbers and my brain freezes and says, "Can't we learn another foreign language or read, instead?" :p

I guess this nixes the idea of a dose increase tonight, eh?
 
I guess this nixes the idea of a dose increase tonight, eh?
Uh, yeah. :p

+3.5 in her morning cycle on a gorgeous spring day here in Sydney Australia.
That's still pretty early in the cycle. Hopefully she'll surf on just LC, but be ready if she decides to go looking for sharks.

It's late afternoon here and I need to make a grocery run. There are lots of others around, so holler if you need anything. I'll check in on you when I get back.
 
Uh, yeah. :p


That's still pretty early in the cycle. Hopefully she'll surf on just LC, but be ready if she decides to go looking for sharks.

It's late afternoon here and I need to make a grocery run. There are lots of others around, so holler if you need anything. I'll check in on you when I get back.

Thanks so much, Tricia. My goal today at some point is to get out of my PJs and have some breakfast! And have a sunny play date with Girlie and Max in the garden. Max, who is banned from the royal presence right now (mostly by her request but also because he likes to sit on her head or lick her ear when I test - oh yeah - and scarf down her food) - likes when she's entertaining as he then gets to eat her MC leftovers. So yummy gravy chicken for Max for lunch, lucky boy! Although I'll wait to see how she goes over the next few hours...
 
So,
+3:15: gave MC 15 gravy (FF Gravy lovers Chicken) and 15 mins later she's at 85
+3:30=85 Gave her some LC 6
+4= 79

I wonder: should I give her some higher MC food (MC 9)? or just some more of the LC 6?
 
I'd give a very small amount of LC (to see if she can surf the greens) or MC (if you are nervous). The issue being that you need to keep her a bit on the hungry side in case MC or HC is needed later in the cycle.

I gave her a little bit of the LC; I'm not nervous as I don't have to leave the house for the next 4.5 days, so all good! And you're right - even though she wants to eat, I don't want her to fill up right now, so I only gave her a little bit. Thanks for the advice!
 
I find it helpful to try to understand patterns and a cause/effect so I can see that in the future and act proactively rather than having to scramble and react. But when I look at her SS, all I can see is the dive at +2. My brain is thinking there must be some sort of food correlation between the dives and her numbers, but I'll have to really fix up her SS and clarify the food more clearly to try to ID a pattern, I guess. I suppose that sometimes there just isn't any rhyme or reason to this, though...

Her lowest numbers are almost always at +3 in her AM cycle. This contributes to my being extraordinarily anxious mom, because while that's all fine when I'm at home with her, when I have to go back to work on the 18th, I'm not sure how I'm going to be sure that she'll be safe. :nailbiting: I can feed her a higher LC 6 or so food during the day (rather than LLC) so she (hopefully) won't drop too much while I'm gone, but then I wonder how she'll go on this FD journey back to health.

Right now while I'm still home most of the time, I'd like to compile data so that I can have more confidence as she loves to do things like she's done this morning. I'm just wondering - is there any way of knowing whether she'd have been okay if I'd been at work today and hadn't caught her as she was diving down that slope? Would she have been safe if I hadn't been here to do the food intervention? :eek:

I was thinking about this last night: of course I sleep, and although I try to get up to +4 after her PM shot, I don't know what she does after that.

Any thoughts or suggestions or advice - or orders! I'll follow orders! - would be most welcome...
 
She's in safe numbers. You're doing great, Darrah!
Well, it helps immensely when you all jump in and scramble and offer support - I feel in such safe hands, then!

I'm just thanking all of my lucky stars that I didn't increase her dose this morning. Thank goodness Wendy chimed in about that at just the right time! Because I don't feel confident about reading her SS and being able to analyse it well, I really like to get the reassurance of more experienced eyes here before making dose changes, as I know that I'm not seeing things yet that I should be able to. Are there special SS magic interpretive glasses I could buy that would reveal all? I wouldn't hesitate!
 
Are there special SS magic interpretive glasses I could buy that would reveal all?
If there were, I'd have had a pair long ago. I stink at it, even after all this time!

I'm just wondering - is there any way of knowing whether she'd have been okay if I'd been at work today and hadn't caught her as she was diving down that slope? Would she have been safe if I hadn't been here to do the food intervention?
It's hard to answer that question. Have you considered getting an automatic feeder (are they even available in OZ?)? You could load it with food and set it to turn at one or two hour increments, depending on how concerned you were about her diving. It really can help keep kitty safe. Of course, if there are other four legged critters around, that can complicate matters - sometimes they get to the feeder first!

Getting all the data you can now is an EXCELLENT idea. There is no such thing as too much information when dealing with FD.
 
If there were, I'd have had a pair long ago. I stink at it, even after all this time!


It's hard to answer that question. Have you considered getting an automatic feeder (are they even available in OZ?)? You could load it with food and set it to turn at one or two hour increments, depending on how concerned you were about her diving. It really can help keep kitty safe. Of course, if there are other four legged critters around, that can complicate matters - sometimes they get to the feeder first!

Getting all the data you can now is an EXCELLENT idea. There is no such thing as too much information when dealing with FD.
Girlie is a nibbler, so she's good at eating just a little bit every hour or two. The problem is, she can't decide whether she needs LLC, LC, MC or HC!

My moggie, Max, is resigned to being banned by now. I looked into the microchip feeders but they're horrifically expensive, so for now, he has his part of the house and she has hers. She actually prefers that as she finds him incredibly annoying most of the time. He's a big-hearted sweetheart, but he's an intrusive bumbler...

I'm very disappointed that you don't have special SS powers, Tricia! Here I was going to rope you in for your special analytical skills once I revise the SS ... :p

I did try Wellness LC 4 yesterday AM, but she still dropped 100 points by +2. This is her favourite trick. Maybe I should try LC 6 or 9 with her AMPS for a few days and see how she reacts to that. How many cycles/days does it take to be able to ID the food influence, I wonder, or is it apparent pretty quickly?
 
Girlie's having a nice little cycle :cool:, good job Darrah, looks like you might be fine-tuning the steering with food, hope you are keeping notes on what's working today o_O, oh wait, you're just like me, absorbing all you can :bookworm:, of course you are! Hope Girlie keeps a nice surf going.
 
How many cycles/days does it take to be able to ID the food influence, I wonder, or is it apparent pretty quickly?
I would say it takes a few days - you need to be sure it's the food and not something else causing a drop or rise. There is nothing easy about this, I'm afraid. It's a great idea to figure it out now, while you're home.

I'm very disappointed that you don't have special SS powers, Tricia! Here I was going to rope you in for your special analytical skills once I revise the SS ...
Sorry to disillusion you. I've always depended upon Marje, Wendy, Sienne and Julie for that!
 
I would say it takes a few days - you need to be sure it's the food and not something else causing a drop or rise. There is nothing easy about this, I'm afraid. It's a great idea to figure it out now, while you're home.


Sorry to disillusion you. I've always depended upon Marje, Wendy, Sienne and Julie for that!

I stand thoroughly disillusioned, Tricia....sigh...but very, very happy to have your support in every other way. :joyful:
 
How kind. Thank you. Cinco was a special gift to us. We learned so much from him. Now I have to pay it forward.
Crying my eyes out now over your tribute. So, so beautiful! It hits close to home for me as well as Max is my blow-in. Girlie does not consider him the beloved child, of course. It took a long, long time before Max would trust me and let me pet him; he'd clearly had a hard, hard life on the streets. Now he's greedy, greedy, greedy for love. He's a bumbler and he's a noisy yowler and he talks constantly which can really get annoying, and there are times I wonder why I didn't rehome him years ago when he was still young, but then he looks at me and I realise that he feels safe and loved and happy, and that's what's most important. It's a gift to care for these cats who come into our lives unannounced and unexpected and even, perhaps, unwanted. They are often - like Cinco - so grateful to find a safe haven and love. Oh no, now I'm crying again! Sorry to go on about me - shouldn't have done that. I'm going to go remind Max that I love him, too; and he'll say "mraow mraow!" and be extraordinarily happy. And I'm going to finally have breakfast and get out of my PJs! :p
 
These are really handy when trying to learn all of this stuff
IMG_3192.JPG
 
Girlie's mom said:
The problem is, she can't decide whether she needs LLC, LC, MC or HC!
I wonder which she would choose, given a choice...
How many cycles/days does it take to be able to ID the food influence, I wonder, or is it apparent pretty quickly?
its about 20 minutes from the mouth to the bloodstream. Several instances would be required to see if there is s pattern.

Are there special SS magic interpretive glasses I could buy that would reveal all?
sadly, no.
Sometimes it helps to look and think outside of the context of the 12 hour cycle. Try stepping back a bit so you can see the past 2 weeks at once, squint enough to blur things a bit and look for waves of action.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top