? 9/9 Thelma PMPS 138 SLGS Shot reduced dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katface

Member Since 2020
Update 2 ::: amps +50 min was 161 -- dosed at .50 and gave her food.

Update::: Amps +30min is 172


Thelma (CHART) has a 174 reading this morning, I tested twice to be sure it was accurate she was 181 at 8:56 and 174 at 8:58 with our relion prime meter. She’s on lantus .75 I’m stalling for 30 min and retesting, If she’s still under 200 do I shoot? Give a smaller dose like .50 or smaller? Her chart is here. I feel like she’s kind of all over the place and we’re only a month into our diabetic kitty journey.
 
Last edited:
Hi there,

Can I ask you to please re-post this on the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir board? There's very little data as yet in your spreadsheet and I would not feel comfortable making any suggestions in this instance (sorry!).

Here's a direct link to the board:

L B L Sub-forum

When you post your new thread, I recommend using the '?' icon next to the title to attract attention to your thread. (The '911' tag tends to put the heart crossways as it's usually used for cats running in very low numbers. :nailbiting: )

Also, once you've posted your new thread it'd be mucho appreciated if you could pop back here to edit the opening post of this thread to take down the '911'. :)


Mogs
.
 
I just had a look at your spreadsheet. There is not enough information. You are not getting any night tests past pmps. Lantus is based upon how low it takes a cat and not the pretests. She could have gone a lot lower on this dose but we don’t know.
 
Amps +50 was 161, I couldn’t stall any longer, I shot her with .50 (her regular dose is .75) and fed her. Going to test every 2 hrs all day today. I hope I did the right thing
 
Mid-cycle testing will help you be more comfortable with giving doses at lower numbers.

For now until you get that mid-cycle data in, you want to skip any pre-shot below 200 (after stalling).

Since you gave 0.5u can you test in two hours please?
 
I just had a look at your spreadsheet. There is not enough information. You are not getting any night tests past pmps. Lantus is based upon how low it takes a cat and not the pretests. She could have gone a lot lower on this dose but we don’t know.
I have narcolepsy and it’s very hard for me to be awake after her pmps
 
Hi. Please read the SLGS sticky. You need to get at least one more test at night. The +2 or +3 will give an indication if a mid cycle is needed. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat. The .75 depot is in place so start with a +2 this morning. If we used your curve she would have needed an increase. Without night tests there is no way to know. Please remove the 911.
 
Mid-cycle testing will help you be more comfortable with giving doses at lower numbers.

For now until you get that mid-cycle data in, you want to skip any pre-shot below 200 (after stalling).

Since you gave 0.5u can you test in two hours please?
Do you test mid cycle everyday? I was under the impression you just did amps and pmps then did the every two hour testing once every 1-2 weeks?
 
Do you test mid cycle everyday? I was under the impression you just did amps and pmps then did the every two hour testing once every 1-2 weeks?
On SLGS you do a curve once a week IF you don't have the mid-cycle tests each day. I think that was designed with people in mind who are gone all week for work and can only get mid-cycles in on the weekend. It's a lot better to get a couple mid-cycles in every day, paints a better picture of your kitty's cycles. :)
 
Amps +50 was 161, I couldn’t stall any longer, I shot her with .50 (her regular dose is .75) and fed her. Going to test every 2 hrs all day today. I hope I did the right thing
If you're testing throughout the day she should be fine. :bighug:

The 'take action' number for your meter type is 50. If your little one drops below 100, post for help on the LBL board and someone will keep an eye on you.


Mogs
.
 
Do you test mid cycle everyday? I was under the impression you just did amps and pmps then did the every two hour testing once every 1-2 weeks?
I followed TR. I tested a lot. Since many cats drop lower at night if you only have day tests you only have half of the picture. Dosing can’t be based on one test a week. Cats don’t have the same nadir every day even if fed exactly the same food. Read the yellow sticky again. I would copy it and also what to do if you have a lower than usual preshot. You won’t always be able to get guidance fast enough.
 
On SLGS you do a curve once a week IF you don't have the mid-cycle tests each day. I think that was designed with people in mind who are gone all week for work and can only get mid-cycles in on the weekend. It's a lot better to get a couple mid-cycles in every day, paints a better picture of your kitty's cycles. :)
Okay, so since I'm usually home every day I should do a +5/6 hour test every day, and not do a every 2 hour test once a week, correct?
 
Okay, so since I'm usually home every day I should do a +5/6 hour test every day, and not do a every 2 hour test once a week, correct?
That would be better, yes!

I do recommend always getting a +2, morning and evening cycle. It's a good indication of how the cycle is going to go.
You can alternate times too.
Day 1 test +2, +4, +6
Day 2 test +3, +5, +7

After a bit of time you'll start to notice Thelma's pattern on Lantus and you can test 2-3 times accordingly if you're able.
 
You need both. The main isdue is how you can see what she does at night. I doubt anyone will feel comfortable giving dosing advice with only half of the picture.
You can set an alarm at night, it's really important to get a test in, you will never know if she drops too low, you want to keep her safe
what time does the night one have to be? +6?
 
So see what 1 unit does. Hold a week unless you see a drop under 90. Then puck z day and go a curve testing every two hours fir a cycle or every 3 hours for 18 hours. Good you can get more tests at night. You saw a blue!
So she’s 145 tonight, do I give a full dose or a mini dose?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top