? 9/9 Thelma PMPS 138 SLGS Shot reduced dose

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Katface, Sep 3, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Update 2 ::: amps +50 min was 161 -- dosed at .50 and gave her food.

    Update::: Amps +30min is 172


    Thelma (CHART) has a 174 reading this morning, I tested twice to be sure it was accurate she was 181 at 8:56 and 174 at 8:58 with our relion prime meter. She’s on lantus .75 I’m stalling for 30 min and retesting, If she’s still under 200 do I shoot? Give a smaller dose like .50 or smaller? Her chart is here. I feel like she’s kind of all over the place and we’re only a month into our diabetic kitty journey.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
    Reason for edit: Update
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I cannot give dosing advice. Just posting to keep this to the top of the list ;)

    Maybe
    @tiffmaxee can help
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
    Critter Mom and Katface like this.
  3. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    And to say how ADORABLE Thelma is :bighug:
     
    Katface likes this.
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    good idea adding the 911!
     
    Katface likes this.
  5. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Not sure if I should shoot or not?? Feed? I can test all day today
     
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  7. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Is your hypo tool box at the ready? UGH I cant give you advice on that. sorry.:(

    Ive tagged Mogs hopefully shes available.

    Alternative you can post the same on the Lantus board
     
    Critter Mom and Katface like this.
  8. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi there,

    Can I ask you to please re-post this on the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir board? There's very little data as yet in your spreadsheet and I would not feel comfortable making any suggestions in this instance (sorry!).

    Here's a direct link to the board:

    L B L Sub-forum

    When you post your new thread, I recommend using the '?' icon next to the title to attract attention to your thread. (The '911' tag tends to put the heart crossways as it's usually used for cats running in very low numbers. :nailbiting: )

    Also, once you've posted your new thread it'd be mucho appreciated if you could pop back here to edit the opening post of this thread to take down the '911'. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  9. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    :oops: i screwed up again sorry:(
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I just had a look at your spreadsheet. There is not enough information. You are not getting any night tests past pmps. Lantus is based upon how low it takes a cat and not the pretests. She could have gone a lot lower on this dose but we don’t know.
     
  11. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Amps +50 was 161, I couldn’t stall any longer, I shot her with .50 (her regular dose is .75) and fed her. Going to test every 2 hrs all day today. I hope I did the right thing
     
  12. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Mid-cycle testing will help you be more comfortable with giving doses at lower numbers.

    For now until you get that mid-cycle data in, you want to skip any pre-shot below 200 (after stalling).

    Since you gave 0.5u can you test in two hours please?
     
  13. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    I have narcolepsy and it’s very hard for me to be awake after her pmps
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi. Please read the SLGS sticky. You need to get at least one more test at night. The +2 or +3 will give an indication if a mid cycle is needed. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat. The .75 depot is in place so start with a +2 this morning. If we used your curve she would have needed an increase. Without night tests there is no way to know. Please remove the 911.
     
  15. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Do you test mid cycle everyday? I was under the impression you just did amps and pmps then did the every two hour testing once every 1-2 weeks?
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Can you change your shot time so you can get a +2? We cross posted.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Nonsensology! You did just fine, Jeanne. (Says the woman who has been pretty free with her own 911 posts in the past. That's the only reason I know the etiquette. :oops: :rolleyes: )

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Katface like this.
  18. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    On SLGS you do a curve once a week IF you don't have the mid-cycle tests each day. I think that was designed with people in mind who are gone all week for work and can only get mid-cycles in on the weekend. It's a lot better to get a couple mid-cycles in every day, paints a better picture of your kitty's cycles. :)
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    If you're testing throughout the day she should be fine. :bighug:

    The 'take action' number for your meter type is 50. If your little one drops below 100, post for help on the LBL board and someone will keep an eye on you.


    Mogs
    .
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I followed TR. I tested a lot. Since many cats drop lower at night if you only have day tests you only have half of the picture. Dosing can’t be based on one test a week. Cats don’t have the same nadir every day even if fed exactly the same food. Read the yellow sticky again. I would copy it and also what to do if you have a lower than usual preshot. You won’t always be able to get guidance fast enough.
     
  21. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I have the opposite problem. Sleep disorders are pants. I feel for you.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  22. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    giggling
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  23. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Okay, so since I'm usually home every day I should do a +5/6 hour test every day, and not do a every 2 hour test once a week, correct?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    I'd be open to switching to Tight regulation, I just started with SLGS because she was on dry food prior and wanted to give her body time to adjust.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  25. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    That would be better, yes!

    I do recommend always getting a +2, morning and evening cycle. It's a good indication of how the cycle is going to go.
    You can alternate times too.
    Day 1 test +2, +4, +6
    Day 2 test +3, +5, +7

    After a bit of time you'll start to notice Thelma's pattern on Lantus and you can test 2-3 times accordingly if you're able.
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No way can you do TR when you can’t test past pmps.
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You need both. The main issue is how you can see what she does at night. I doubt anyone will feel comfortable giving dosing advice with only half of the picture.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You can set an alarm at night, it's really important to get a test in, you will never know if she drops too low, you want to keep her safe
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  29. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    what time does the night one have to be? +6?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    A +2 at least. If you stay up longer than that a "before bed" test is good.
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are going to cyber kill me but if you can get a+2 I could answer better. What time do you shoot?
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  32. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    I actually moved her shot time to 8 so I could get some pm readings!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So see what 1 unit does. Hold a week unless you see a drop under 90. Then puck z day and go a curve testing every two hours fir a cycle or every 3 hours for 18 hours. Good you can get more tests at night. You saw a blue!
     
  34. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    So she’s 145 tonight, do I give a full dose or a mini dose?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you stall and not feed? If so test again.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  36. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Yeah I stalled, 138
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With SLGS under 150 you do not give insulin. Feed her now and skip. Put NS on yiur spreadsheet.
     
  38. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Read this too late, I gave her .50u, should I give her some dry kibble with her wet?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  39. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With SLGS under 150 you do not give insulin. Feed her now and skip. Put NS on yiur spreadsheet.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s up to you. I would get a +1 and +2. You may need to test more after that. You really need to read the directions for doing SLGS
     
  41. Katface

    Katface Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    I’ve read them, am I misinterpreting where it says “don’t shoot a preshot number lower than 90”?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Please change your title to say 9/9 Thelma PMPS 138 SLGS Shot reduced dose
     
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Don’t shoot a preshot under 150. Under 90 calls for a reduction whenever you test and that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page