Re: 9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151
Make sure to get +2 will also depending on the number will need more testing tonight. On 9/5 am cycle Michael started at 298 and was clearing a bounce you gave him 1 unit, by +5 he was at 51. Your pmps tonight is 151 you gave the same dose that took him to 51, the bounce is gone, but with out any other tests since am +2 no telling if his is still coming down or going up.
julie & punkin (ga) wrote:
there are some strategies that people use if just going straight by the protocol (Plan A) isn't getting the job done.
Julie posted this on my condo on sunday
In general, when a kitty is bouncy, the idea is you want to get enough insulin in them to bring down the high numbers, while preventing them from going too low in order to keep the cat safe.
One strategy is to "feed the curves" in order to smooth out the cycle. The goal here is to prevent any big drops. If you can prevent the big drops, you can often prevent the bounce that results. reducing the bouncing smooths out the cycle.
One way to do that is to increase the nadirs by feeding higher carbs (say try 10%) in the hours when you expect Jenks to drop down. Then you increase his insulin slightly, giving the regular low carb in the hours that you don't expect him to go low. You want to hold his nadirs up for a few cycles, which often is enough in itself to bring down the high numbers. Sometimes just a few cycles of doing this can really make a change.
I have 4 condos bookmarked where different people talked about Feeding the Curve and Bouncing. Take a look here and see what you think and consider if implementing a food strategy might help Jenks.
The links to the condos did not copy over
8/10/13 Tashie
6/1/14 Rocky
8/29/12 Charlie, Bouncing & Somogyi Rebound
10/29/11 Jetta