9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151 +2 178

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151

Hi Julie,
Michael is doing O.K.
Started this am in the yellow, now @ pm 151 in the blue :!: Hope he decides to surf. He does look good in blue.
Both am & pm gave 1u. Is he clearing a bounce or did it clear :?: Could he bounce again and if he could what do I do to slow it down :?:
Sorry for all the questions.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151

Make sure to get +2 will also depending on the number will need more testing tonight. On 9/5 am cycle Michael started at 298 and was clearing a bounce you gave him 1 unit, by +5 he was at 51. Your pmps tonight is 151 you gave the same dose that took him to 51, the bounce is gone, but with out any other tests since am +2 no telling if his is still coming down or going up.

julie & punkin (ga) wrote:
there are some strategies that people use if just going straight by the protocol (Plan A) isn't getting the job done.
Julie posted this on my condo on sunday
In general, when a kitty is bouncy, the idea is you want to get enough insulin in them to bring down the high numbers, while preventing them from going too low in order to keep the cat safe.

One strategy is to "feed the curves" in order to smooth out the cycle. The goal here is to prevent any big drops. If you can prevent the big drops, you can often prevent the bounce that results. reducing the bouncing smooths out the cycle.

One way to do that is to increase the nadirs by feeding higher carbs (say try 10%) in the hours when you expect Jenks to drop down. Then you increase his insulin slightly, giving the regular low carb in the hours that you don't expect him to go low. You want to hold his nadirs up for a few cycles, which often is enough in itself to bring down the high numbers. Sometimes just a few cycles of doing this can really make a change.

I have 4 condos bookmarked where different people talked about Feeding the Curve and Bouncing. Take a look here and see what you think and consider if implementing a food strategy might help Jenks.
The links to the condos did not copy over
8/10/13 Tashie
6/1/14 Rocky
8/29/12 Charlie, Bouncing & Somogyi Rebound
10/29/11 Jetta
 
Re: 9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151

Thanks, Darin.
M has a vet appt. tomorow. for a t-4 test. Since she increased the tapozole to 1/2 tab bid.
I e-maled her M's bgs from 8/22-9/9/14. It will be interesting to see what dose of insulin she suggests for Michael.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151

If she read any of the links I sent her she will probably not give any dosing advise. Or if she questions what you are doing tell her you are following "the tight regulation protocol" matter of fact, you should print off the TRP, its in the stickies, have it in your back pocket so when she asks about your dosing, hand her the print out.
 
Re: 9/9 Michael AMPS 263 +2 298 PMPS 151

This is the actual governmental publication. Note the authors are Rand/Roomp.

This is the publication by Rand/Roomp with the actual dosing protocol on it.

I'd print off both of them and take them to your vet. Perhaps we can make a convert of her yet. :-D

Darin has sound advice. I like the analysis and the suggestion for the next tests, Darin. I think a test at +2 is a good idea. You will probably still need a later test if the +2 is lower than the preshot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top