Mrs.GusGus
Member Since 2014
Hi everyone!
I am Julia, and after receiving so much support and advice from Shelly & Jersey, Wendy & Neko, Marje & Gracie, and Critter Mom over in the Feline Health Forum, I would really like to commit to the TR protocol to better my special girl, Annie's chance of regulation (and maybe even remission!)
For a bit more background on Annie and her history, I have provided the link to our discussion in the Feline Health Forum. My first post which started that thread on Sept 6 sums up her health issues and the previous protocols used for her....
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&p=1293868
My spreadsheet is up-to-date; however, everything up until Sept 5 was completed under questionable instructions (hence only the AMPS & PMPS values).
So, I think that I was overconfident this morning when I shot on a green number an hour before I had to leave for the day...
AMPS=86.4 (4.8) *2u*
+1=84.6 (4.7)
I was running out the door when I got the +1, so I panicked and left her with a big bowl of Purina DM wet food and sprinkled it with the dry DM kibble I have on hand.
I continued to feel worried, so I then asked my landlord to check her blood for me and that's where the +3 of 75.6 (4.2) came from, she got another scoop of her wet food and I was able to make it home for her +7 of 129.6 (7.2)... phew!
That was the first time that I'd ever shot on a green number and unfortunately, I did not have the time to consult with fdmb first. So, perhaps what I did was not the most wise considering my lack of experience, but for similar situations in the future... what should I have done differently?
When you all shoot on a green number, what are the extra precautions that are taken?
FYI: An automatic feeder is on my soon-to-purchase list for those days where I am gone for a good portion of her AM cycle.
Thanks in advance!
Julia & Annie
I am Julia, and after receiving so much support and advice from Shelly & Jersey, Wendy & Neko, Marje & Gracie, and Critter Mom over in the Feline Health Forum, I would really like to commit to the TR protocol to better my special girl, Annie's chance of regulation (and maybe even remission!)
For a bit more background on Annie and her history, I have provided the link to our discussion in the Feline Health Forum. My first post which started that thread on Sept 6 sums up her health issues and the previous protocols used for her....
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&p=1293868
My spreadsheet is up-to-date; however, everything up until Sept 5 was completed under questionable instructions (hence only the AMPS & PMPS values).
So, I think that I was overconfident this morning when I shot on a green number an hour before I had to leave for the day...
AMPS=86.4 (4.8) *2u*
+1=84.6 (4.7)
I was running out the door when I got the +1, so I panicked and left her with a big bowl of Purina DM wet food and sprinkled it with the dry DM kibble I have on hand.
I continued to feel worried, so I then asked my landlord to check her blood for me and that's where the +3 of 75.6 (4.2) came from, she got another scoop of her wet food and I was able to make it home for her +7 of 129.6 (7.2)... phew!
That was the first time that I'd ever shot on a green number and unfortunately, I did not have the time to consult with fdmb first. So, perhaps what I did was not the most wise considering my lack of experience, but for similar situations in the future... what should I have done differently?
When you all shoot on a green number, what are the extra precautions that are taken?
FYI: An automatic feeder is on my soon-to-purchase list for those days where I am gone for a good portion of her AM cycle.
Thanks in advance!
Julia & Annie