9/9 Annie AMPS 86, +1-85, +3-76, +7-130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrs.GusGus

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone!

I am Julia, and after receiving so much support and advice from Shelly & Jersey, Wendy & Neko, Marje & Gracie, and Critter Mom over in the Feline Health Forum, I would really like to commit to the TR protocol to better my special girl, Annie's chance of regulation (and maybe even remission!)

For a bit more background on Annie and her history, I have provided the link to our discussion in the Feline Health Forum. My first post which started that thread on Sept 6 sums up her health issues and the previous protocols used for her....

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&p=1293868

My spreadsheet is up-to-date; however, everything up until Sept 5 was completed under questionable instructions (hence only the AMPS & PMPS values).

So, I think that I was overconfident this morning when I shot on a green number an hour before I had to leave for the day...
AMPS=86.4 (4.8) *2u*
+1=84.6 (4.7)

I was running out the door when I got the +1, so I panicked and left her with a big bowl of Purina DM wet food and sprinkled it with the dry DM kibble I have on hand.

I continued to feel worried, so I then asked my landlord to check her blood for me and that's where the +3 of 75.6 (4.2) came from, she got another scoop of her wet food and I was able to make it home for her +7 of 129.6 (7.2)... phew!

That was the first time that I'd ever shot on a green number and unfortunately, I did not have the time to consult with fdmb first. So, perhaps what I did was not the most wise considering my lack of experience, but for similar situations in the future... what should I have done differently?

When you all shoot on a green number, what are the extra precautions that are taken?

FYI: An automatic feeder is on my soon-to-purchase list for those days where I am gone for a good portion of her AM cycle.

Thanks in advance!

Julia & Annie
 
Hi Julia, welcome over to this forum. It's awesome that you have a landlord that can do BG testing for you! :-D You've done a great job of getting test data the last few days.

You might want to read the Sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers for next time you see a green preshot. I think that putting out the food and getting the landlord to do the same was an excellent idea. A lot of people here shoot green preshots, but only when they have enough data to safely do so. The Sticky suggests some tests to get so that you can become data ready.

Is there any way you can adjust your schedule so you can get a +2 before going out the door? The +2 is a good test on Lantus. If it's around the same as the preshot, then the following cycle will be a normal Lantus cycle. If it's higher, it'll likely be a quiet cycle (great at bed time!). If it's lower, then likely to be an active cycle that needs more attention. People here who work will use the +2 to help them decide if they need to leave out extra low or high carb food for the kitty while they are gone.
 
Julia, glad to see you made it over to the TR forum. :smile:

Wendy, that info on the +2 test is extremely helpful. I've been really struggling with the night-time cycle and trying to get some sleep myself so that I can look after Saoirse properly (hence the missed doses :oops: ). The guide on what the +2 may indicate about how she's doing could help me to improve dosing consistency for her.
 
Hi Julia, I wanted to welcome you & Annie to Lantus/Lev Land!

Wendy's given you great advice. Shooting green is great - and it is the path to working off of insulin, but you want to do it safely and know what you're doing. Work up to it by getting some tests at varied times, as the sticky describes under "becoming Data Ready." If you've already gotten a few green preshots, like you have, there will no doubt be another chance to try it.

When you're going to be home to monitor, and you have a green preshot, post here and put something in your subject line so people know you want help deciding how to proceed. Something like "should I shoot?" will get attention! ;-)

Notice how the numbers went flat for several hours after you shot the 86 today? That's the awesome Lantus cycle at its best. Here is a recent post on Shooting Low - take a peek at it and see if it's helpful to you.

I hope you'll post daily/regularly so we can teach you how to keep annie safe. Looks like she's doing really well on the Lantus for now.
 
i just read through your previous post - oy vey. poor annie overdosed for months!?! i haven't heard of anyone getting that high of a dose for that long before when they didn't need it. we have had some kitties come in overdosed, but that was a long time for her.

you're an awesome person to take her in and try to help her. Tight Regulation is the way to go - even if she doesn't go off of insulin, keeping her blood sugar in normal numbers will protect the rest of her body from the damage of high blood sugar.

keep posting - it sounds like you're ready and wanting to learn. ask us as many questions as you have - we don't mind. and we say the same things over and over again to people, so you can ask again if you don't understand. :lol: we've all been new and in that horrible place of not getting it, but wanting to help our beloved cats.

you're in the right spot now. :YMHUG:
 
PMPS= 268.2 (14.9)
+2= 275.4 (15.3)

Looks like she may be in for another bounce tonight? This is due to her body's natural response to compensate for the lower numbers she had today?

Thanks for offering your support, Julie & Punkin! Very sad case about her overdosing, I guess her previous foster mom was not shown how to read the syringes properly so she was interpreting 2u as 20u :cry: She didn't mean to of course... but geeze, my sister gives 20u to her BIG diabetic dog! I really don't know how her little body survived it.

I am glad to see that others are able to interpret from the numbers that Annie is 'doing well' so far! That is exciting! I still don't quite understand the trend that is occurring, but I am happy to see less and less of the red & pink.

Wendy, if I am to change the scheduling of her dose to one hour earlier, what is the best way to do this without affecting her? I am considering changing the injection time to 6:30am/pm instead of 7:30am/pm so I can fit in those +2... I don't want another repeat of this morning. It would be nice to get a green preshot in the evening instead of the morning for once!

By the way, Annie was the happiest kitty in the world tonight after I surprised her with some Fancy Feast pate. She inhaled it for dinner and had it all over her face afterward (even on her eyebrow whiskers)! Finding out it is safe for her to eat was the best news we've heard in a long while.
 
You can move shot times 15 minutes a shot, or 1/2 hour once a day.

Glad she like the new food. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top