I feel for you.
I had similar dilemmas, I liked to see his nadirs a bit lower before I reduced, so sometimes I held the dose for longer than a week. But you have to be cognisant that you are pushing the boundaries and you can be overdosed by just a drop of insulin.
I tested a lot and was confident I wasn't missing lows, and George was/is a very good eater, so I knew I wouldn't have to face fighting low numbers with an inappetent kitty.
I never skinnied a dose, but sure that would be another option.
Some cats normal range is higher and so e run lower, I've seen cats in remission nadir in the 40s, George's normal range isn't that low.
How did Hermans bg run whilst in remisión?