? 9/7 Smudge PMPS 139 Need Guidance

Sorry I was late to the party (out of town visiting DM). Anyway, with DKA so recently in the past, a skip should not have been one of the options suggested. Please test for ketones today if you have not done so already.

An important note from the SLGS guidelines description:
Sometimes there are circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines and suggestions.

Sorry there wasn't anyone around to help. Rather than tagging, I find it best to change the subject line to tell people exactly what help you need. Something like "new to Lantus, low PS, recent DKA - help".
 
Sorry didn't see this either.

You nailed it! Haha. He did say to test him after eating and make a decision, delaying is more than okay to make this choice. Also okayed a lower dose tonight if he rises, my choice, 1-1.5U was his
I would not take the dose down to 1.5 u with DKA in recent history, an important factor in developing DKA is not enough insulin, technically he didn't earn a reduction on SLGS, so I would encourage you to stick to 2.25U.
 
Back
Top