? 9/7 Loki AMPS 264 +6 296

Baer & Loki

Member Since 2020
Hey all, we haven't posted since January

I'm super confused. If you look at the SS, you can see his #s started to improve drastically to the point where I moved him from 4.5 units to 1 unit rapidly. What changed was his food; I moved to a new country where his usual Friskies pate wasn't there and had to do the math on the wet food cans to figure out carb % because what they had available wasn't on the Cat Food Spreadsheet. Well, we moved back to our original home in US this week and his numbers immediately went higher again. I did the math, and it should be an acceptable number of carbs, but the SS numbers don't lie.

I have no clue what to do. Could the food be that different between countries that, even though the math adds up the same, the quality of ingredients are somehow causing a spike? He's a 16 lb cat (vet says this is a healthy weight for his size and he's not fat/doesn't need to diet) and he also has a sister so I can't really afford the $2 a can stuff.

For reference, the stuff I've been feeding him here in US is Friskies classic pate (what he was eating all last year too) and I switched to Fancy Feast classic pate to see if it'd make any difference. He was also eating Purina brand stuff in the other country (Italy; a mix of different pates and shreddies in gelatin).

I'm really bummed. We were making amazing progress.
 
The reduction from 4.5U to 1U may have been too fast. If I were to guess, I would say that his ideal dose a month back would have been around 1.5U. The drop to 1U was too much and you held the dose for too long even though his numbers started trending up by the end of the month. It's hard to say for sure without PM tests.

Sometimes it's just a matter of going back up to a good dose. If some glucose toxicity has set in one may need to go up to a higher dose before resuming the descent down the dosing ladder

With TR, you need to get at least one test per cycle. You want to know how low he is going on the dose so you can take dosing decisions every 3-5 days per TR.
 
Now that Loki is a long term diabetic, the reduction criteria have changed. Reductions are for one under 40, or a week in normal numbers. For people whose cats don't hold reduction well, you can go to 3 times, on separate days, between 40 and 49. You took reductions before he earned them.
 
Back
Top