9/6 Skunky-reducie AMPS 96 PMPS 59!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Well, I've reduced Skunky's dose quite a lot in the past few days!
I reduced from .5 to .25 this morning, because she got pretty low last night. In fact, she may have gotten really low, I'm not sure. I completely slept through the TWO +6 alarms I set, and I may have set one for +8 too. I guess I was really sleepy :-(. I had given her a few pieces of high carb treat sometime during the night because I was worried she would go low.
Then she shot up unusually high at +10, I wonder if that could have been some kind of bounce? Or maybe it was just the bit of treat. I wouldn't think it was enough to give her a 124

here's last nights numbers
PMPS 79
+2 54 (forgot to feed when giving her the shot. oops)
+3.74 60
+4.75 72
+10 124

Today she is doing quite well, I am very happy with her numbers.
I was wondering how long it will take to know if the new dose is too low?

I've been posting a lot, I apologize y'all! This kitty is starting to drive me a bit batty :oops:

Some previous posts: yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124763
9-3 viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124671
Not sure where the 9-4 post went. Weirds.
 
Re: 9/6 Skunky-reducie AMPS 96 +2 64 +6 56

hi sarah!

I'd just hold the quarter unit dose for the moment and let's see what she does in the next few cycles on it. It might have been better to stick with the 0.5u this morning, since it doesn't look like she went below 50 last night, but once you're at a dose, it's better to just sit tight and see how she does. Dose changing can cause wonky numbers.

of course, we can all see she's doing super! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/6 Skunky-reducie AMPS 96 +2 64 +6 56

Thanks Julie. I know, technically, she didn't really earn a dose reduction but. . she was close and I had a wedding to attend and after sleeping through 2 alarms last night. . . I thought we could give .25 a try. I figure even if she didn't go below 50 last night it's only gonna take a day or two.

So hopefully she'll keep frolicking in the green grass. Maybe 70s instead of 50s!!! :mrgreen:
 
Wow. . . PMPS of 59.

That's our lowest pre shot ever. And that's on .25u!

I'm starting to forget what a normal night's sleep feels like @-)
 
Hahahaha Shelly. I wish there was a way to "like" your post :cool:

If I had actually thought about it I might not have!
 
hehe i've often thought i'd like to "like" posts on here. Facebook has pervaded our lives!

well . . . there's only one dose lower than 0.25u - it's 0.1u. basically one drop. there are photos on the New to the Group sticky. Another way to draw up one drop is to push the plunger in hard & hold it down while inserting the needle into the insulin. Release the plunger and the vacuum you created will draw in one small drop.

i'm telling you about this dose because i'm thinking you're going to be needing it before long. :mrgreen:

fingers crossed that Skunky just surfs along and doesn't make you fight low numbers all night.
 
i was sitting here thinking that Skunky has moved with lightening speed since you came to TR - so i looked back. It was one week ago today that you posted that you were thinking of moving to TR from Relaxed.

Just thinking - it's sure worked out well for you! :-D
 
One set of BOS coming up:

bos_zpsb029e400.jpg


Great shooting :-D Skunky appears to be on a mission! Good luck with this new dose. Remember the depot from a higher dose can affect several subsequent cycles.

Please be sure to get a +1 and +2.
 
Hahahaha Shelly. I wish there was a way to "like" your post

Wish I could take credit for it. It was one of the famous LL sayings when I came here. I'm actually not sure who the original inventor if it was.

Ya know, now that I think about it, I don't think I ever got a BOS award. I should have - not for shooting low, just for having to close my eyes at night with my little terror of a cat running around the house plotting my demise.
 
Balls of steel? Me? naaaahhh :oops:

Normally I'm a big chicken!

Thanks y'all.

+1 of 73. A nice food spike. Boy, i was glad to see that.
 
Only a week. . . Wow. What a week!

Seems like an eternity. hahahaha. Sleep dep will do that.

Crazy to think. . . I was thinking of not raising her dose until after I got back from my beach trip. Now I'm hoping we might be doing an OTJ trial while I'm on vacation, so I won't have to board her. No freaking way would I trust the people at the vet's office with .25u or .1 u!

I'm so glad I came to Lantus Land.

I couldn't have done it without all y'all ladies. Thanks so much!

I hope y'all don't get too tired of all my incessant posting. . . :?
 
you're kidding right? you don't post too much - it's so much easier to help people when they actually give you feedback on how their kitty is doing! i hate it when you help someone and then they disappear - i always wonder how they're doing. usually in the middle of the night, too. :lol:

I wouldn't be surprised if there's a trial in the near future . . . *antijinx, salt over your shoulder, knock on wood*
 
Thanks ladies! Good to know! Almost time for my +2. Might as well put some laundry on. . I know I'll be up later to put it in the dryer. :?
 
My God.
+2 of 50. Yikes.
I did go ahead and give her a few pieces of crunchy cat treats. Couldn't help myself. Gave her regular low carb food and here's hoping.
I guess that plan of actually making it to church tomorrow is out of the question!

I'm glad I don't annoy you guys too much. Yet. And no, I wasn't kidding!
 
It actually takes about 30 minutes for food to affect the BG and dry food takes longer. Do you have high carb food with gravy? If so, I'd give her two tsp of the food/gravy and test 30 mins later.
 
Sorry, Marje, I should have been more specific to test in 15 minutes to catch a number below 50 - not to see if the numbers were rising yet from the crunchies and low- carb food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top