9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253 +4/225 +5/217

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Murphy`s Law prevailed yesterday, and a good furrshot was delivered for the AM shot. He seems to have settled into a flat curve in the 300's for the second cycle and is doing the same drop he did two days ago. At +2/197 I just gave him 1 tsp hc (i assume) gravy - from Whiskas Pocket (Packet?). Re-testing at 30 minutes from gravy.

Ongoing Medications:

50mg Clavamox bid
2.5mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe as needed ( daily until 9/1then on 9/5; 9/6 )
miralax suspended 9/1 ( may need to give, don`t know as the hiney-cam is out of order and nobody`s telling whazzup in that dept right now :roll: )
(gave 1/16th on 9/6 at 10pm. Prezzi followed shortly thereafter. )
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197

That is quite a drop at +2. You're ready for some action, Reuben? Think green k?
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159

Gave: 1 tsp hc gravy @ +2
2 tsp hc gravy @ +2.5 (The gravy is from Whiskas Packets - I assume it`s HC?)
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133

Hi Alexa

Thanks for the PM. You're doing fine.

For next time: You can try slowing the drop with MC gravy, or even with a tsp or two of LC canned (or the raw supplemented with a couple of drops of karo/honey, as suggested).

For now: I'll go and check Janet & Binky's charts to see what carbs percentage the Whiskas packets tend to have, if you could please tell me which type of packet it was? What is the label/name of the flavour you fed? You can relax, grab a cup of tea maybe, and re-test 30 minutes after the ast test, ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133

Well Alexa, ECID. I use an extra tsp of LC to slow Rosy's dive when she's at the blue at +3,+4. Rosy has a nadir at around +8. You have to understand Reuben's trend to make the move.
I use HC when she is at the low green of 40+. That's my experience with Rosy only.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133

Hi Jane, thank you for coming :razz: darn I didn`t see your message before I did this:

At +3 plus 15 minutes (how do we write that? +3.25? ) gave 2 tsp gravy made from his food = 2 little drops of honey per teaspoon.


He is very thirsty. (! ???) and he is NOt happy about the testing, doesn`t feel great, don`t know why, peed on the bed :roll:

And, i am giving him the gravy with a syringe as he doesn`t want to eat it.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133

reuben'smom said:
Hi Jane, thank you for coming :razz: darn I didn`t see your message before I did this: At +3 plus 15 minutes (how do we write that? +3.25? ) gave 2 tsp gravy made from his food = 2 little drops of honey per teaspoon. He is very thirsty. (! ???) and he is NOt happy about the testing, doesn`t feel great, don`t know why, peed on the bed :roll: And, i am giving him the gravy with a syringe as he doesn`t want to eat it.

Alright. Poor Reuben, not feeling great, it seems! Unusual/inapprorpaite elimination can have many causes, not the least of which is stress/anxiety/fear. Is there anything that could be freaking Reuben out, or may have done in the past few minutes (other than him being annoyed at frequent testing)? If it's a one-time thing, I think it might be alright to just change the sheets and move on. If it happens again, I'd probably get him seen by a vet as and when possible, just in case.

Good job making your own food-juice-gravy version :mrgreen: Now, from his reaction, we'll be able to gauge whether to rank this version as HC or MC gravy, ok?

Try not to be too upset that he won't eat willingly. The taste can't be what he's used to or expecting, and he's obviously irritated by the frequent tests. Hopefully, he'll relax a bit soon, and things will get easier. Update the BG at (+3.5) please. (Yes, +3 and 15 minutes would be written +3.25.)

Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133

Jane, the whiskas packet is (and i`m translating haha) Steamed Beef Chunks (or Bits) in Gravy
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133

reuben'smom said:
Jane, the whiskas packet is (and i`m translating haha) Steamed Beef Chunks (or Bits) in Gravy

Ok. In J&B's charts, the closest I can find to that is "Tender Morsels in Gravy Savory Bites w/Beef" which is 16%, making it HC (LC= below 10% carbs, MC= 11-15% carbs, HC= 16 and above % carbs --- And the of course there's raw food, which would probably count as SLC, Super Low Carb :mrgreen:).
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Alexa,

in the meantime, please also keep updating your SS if you're not doing that already. And post BG updates not only in the first post's subject line, but as a reply in your condo/thread. That way, your condo is bumped up to the top, and those helping out don't need to go searching for it, ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

+3.75/111 an hour and 45 minutes since the 197 test. how are we doing? :razz: will there be carb backlash from the carb-loading? rhetorical question i imagine.... okay, where's my coffee!!?? hahahaaaaa

thannnnnk you jane!! :YMHUG:

i have the gravy dosing on the SS
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

gave 1 tsp gravy from whiskas packet at +2;
2 tsp@2.5;
2 tsp@3.25 of homemade gravy
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Jane said:
Alexa,

in the meantime, please also keep updating your SS if you're not doing that already. And post BG updates not only in the first post's subject line, but as a reply in your condo/thread. That way, your condo is bumped up to the top, and those helping out don't need to go searching for it, ok?

Hugs
Jane

Done :razz: BG's and gravy dosing in both places.

Hugs,
Alexa
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Hi Alexa, here's some ~O) I'm just catching up with your condo. I hope Reuben feels better and sending him some vines. Looks like you have a nice handle on controlling the drops.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

reuben'smom said:
+3.75/111 an hour and 45 minutes since the 197 test. how are we doing? :razz: will there be carb backlash from the carb-loading? rhetorical question i imagine.... okay, where's my coffee!!?? hahahaaaaa thannnnnk you jane!! :YMHUG: i have the gravy dosing on the SS

Thanks for updating by hitting "Reply" as well, Alexa, that helps a lot!!

You are doing FINE. The drop seems to be slowing down, which is what we wanted. The carbs will slow down (and have already slowed down) the drop. IF Reuben keeps dropping lower, and you need to give him more carbs, they will do what they should and push up the BG. They do not last very long, though (unlike the carbs from dry food, which take much longer to kick in and to clear), which is why we warn beans not to become complacent when they've carb-pushed a cat out of low numbers.

Off you go to find your coffee. Next test in 30-40 minutes. You are feeding a bit with each test at the moment, yes? Until Reuben reaches his nadir (which, as we've seen, can be quite late in his cycle), we want to be sure his drop is slow and gentle. His numbers are still very, very safe and pretty. You can try an LC-version of his regular food, say, 1 tsp with a tiny drop of karo/honey to approximate LC wetfood, ok? And then as said, re-test in 30-40.

Sound good?
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Why is he thirsty? He's just sitting there looking like he feels nauseous. now sitting in meatloaf position. i think he needs bupe. hasn't been well or happy since the dive 2 days ago... won`t cuddle, is distracted, cleaning obsessively, looks unhappy. I`m going to give him the bupe, any reason not to right now?
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Hi Alexa, I'm not familiar with the meds. Try adding a ? mark in the heading and it will draw more eyes for some help.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

reuben'smom said:
Why is he thirsty? He's just sitting there looking like he feels nauseous. now sitting in meatloaf position. i think he needs bupe. hasn't been well or happy since the dive 2 days ago... won`t cuddle, is distracted, cleaning obsessively, looks unhappy. I`m going to give him the bupe, any reason not to right now?

Not that I know, but I've never used bupe. Pain can cause stress which can spike numbers, so pain meds could reduce that stress and bring numbers down, logic suggests? But as I said, I'm not familiar with bupe...
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Hi Alexa, Jane,


I would do things differently than you are. Others may not agree and ECID but.....

I would not give heavy duty carbs unless he were under 100 or near it (syrup, hc) Instead I would be using mc with a little hc and testing every 1/2 hr -45 min to give it a chance to work. When he went under 100 I would pull out the big guns.

IMHO if he goes too low that quickly that often, his dose is probably too high and by not letting him go under 50 you are preventing the decrease he should probably be earning.

The last time this happened it looks like all the carbs hit him at once hours later. This might have been prevented by only using mc and waiting a little longer between tests, but maybe not. I would give it a try at least.

If Reuben is that upset, I would definitely not test so often next time so early in the cycle. Like I said, just my opinion and a different way of doing it.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Jane said:
Next test in 30-40 minutes. You are feeding a bit with each test at the moment, yes?
Jane said:
No, he doesn`t want even his tuna treat :shock: I will give him some food in a syringe each time then.

Until Reuben reaches his nadir (which, as we've seen, can be quite late in his cycle), we want to be sure his drop is slow and gentle. His numbers are still very, very safe and pretty. You can try an LC-version of his regular food, say, 1 tsp with a tiny drop of karo/honey to approximate LC wetfood, ok? And then as said, re-test in 30-40.

I didn`t pay close enough attention when I read this and didn`t realize I was supposed to do it right then, so he has not had any food since the last posted gravy. I`ll test now at 4.5 and we'll see what happened.

I have him the bupe. another variable added to the recipe.

:razz:

he is so thirsty... this.is.odd.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Hi Melanie, thanks for being here too. I agree with you on the HC (you'll see I suggested MC gravy or even LC, when I first joined the thread, further up), but since Reuben had already eaten the HC/syrup food, I figured I'd just point that out as this cycle nears its end :smile:

Alexa, for next time, Melanie is right: I understand you were anxious at the drop and why you felt you wanted HC/syrup back-up, but for next time, LC (or your version thereof) is a good option to slow that drop. That's also why I suggested LC from now on, unless he *does* drop low, ok? Make sense?

Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

Hi Alexa, Checking in, no advice to offer, just hope Reuben levels out for you and feels better soon cat_pet_icon . You are doing a great job staying on top of this and keeping his sheet updated!
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113

Gave :

gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@2.5;

homemade gravy
2 tsp@3.25


he has had no food or gravy since 3.25
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

That's a very nice surf, Alexa!

A REMINDER FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO MAY HAVE MISSED IT:
Alexa makes home-made raw food for Reuben (which is super low carb, 1-2% roughly). To make "home-made gravy", she is testing out ratios of the juice from raw food mixed with drops of honey/syrup. For the version Alexa has used in *this* cycle, she mixed 2 tsp gravy/juice from the home-made raw food with 4 small drops of honey.


I would give 1 tsp of LC (or your version of it) if he will eat it, and re-test in 30-40 minutes. Melanie, what do you think?

Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111

I agree Jane. Unless he really starts dropping, I would not give any more hc. He's doing great and I would hate to see him miss any reductions and slow his path to remission.

I'm glad you agree with the above also. Thanks :smile:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

MelanieAndRacci said:
I agree Jane. Unless he really starts dropping, I would not give any more hc. He's doing great and I would hate to see him miss any reductions and slow his path to remission. I'm glad you agree with the above also. Thanks :smile: Melanie & Racci

Great, thanks, Melanie! (You saw my first post in this condo, right?) You're right - we none of us want to slow down Reuben's progress!

reuben'smom said:
Okay, I^ll give him 1 tsp LC, thanks for both your help :razz: .

You're very welcome, Alexa. You're doing splendidly. Did you find your coffee? :lol: See you in a lttle while when you get the next update, ok? If Reuben has any favourite activities or spots that relax him, maybe try to help him unwind, if you can? Or just give him space, if you think that'll help him more. Hopefully, he will just keep surfing the beautiful blues (or maybe some high greens) and need only minimal testing for the rest of the cycle.

We're off to make dinner now. Melanie, just in case Alexa needs eyes in the meantime, can you keep a look-out? I will check back in after dinner, and let Alexa and everyone else in here know when I need to sign off.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

It's a pleasure, Alexa. If no one tells you, you won't know. We all had help learning.

Most of us don't give something like karo or honey, etc unless it's 50 or under, hc will depend on the cat but I even with a newbie you don't want to prevent greens so I would not give over 100 or close to it. Lc w hc or a mc are usually enough to steer and I usually can get away with just lc with often small meals.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

Finally gave 1tsp LC food (it`s actually half way between food and gravy) finally at +5. Will test again at 5.5.

RULE: :-D NO HC WHEN SLOWING HIM DOWN IN THE BLUES. :-D
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

For anyone coming upon this thread, I just want to clarify that the situation here is unusual.

Since my kitty's food is at Most 1-2% carb, honey is added to it to turn it into HC,MC and LC.

So that is why we are talking a lot about honey in a context out the the normal, below 50 context.

Okay, time to test!! Wheeee!!!
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113 +5.5/141

Gave :

hc gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@2.5;

hc homemade gravy
2 tsp@3.25

lc food (very watered down)
1 tsp @ +5
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

:lol: Alexa! I posted a (coloured) clarification of your food situation a few posts up :mrgreen:

Nice little rise there. You could feed another tsp of your LC and re-test in an hour, no later, a bit earlier if you feel safer that way. Ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

You're doing great Alexa. I'm here, Jane & Alexa.

I would give him a small lc meal if he wants it now, and test in 45 minutes. After that you should be able to slow down on testing and give him a break. He doesn't need any more hc right now.

I saw your +5 but it wasn't on your subject line and got confused. Ignore that and please update your subject line with both the +5 & 5.5. Thanks.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +3/133 +3.75/111 4.5/113

He's chilling out at the bottom of a box. I think he *may* like me again some day. I`ll see if he wants a snack now. I feel like that rise might-very-well-could-probably-possibly-who-knows, keep going up though.

(Didja like the non-committal opinion? :lol: )

10 minutes til next test.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

Gave :

hc gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@2.5;

hc homemade gravy
2 tsp@3.25

lc food (very watered down)
1 tsp @ +5
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

I think so too. Once you get two tests going up, especially after +6 you definitely want to let him relax a little and only give lc food. He's at a great number to surf now so if he can stay in blues for a while it would be great. Test again in about 45 minutes or so and definitely see if he wants and lc small meal. If you need an hour to let him relax and eat it's okay. :smile: We don't want him miserable.

Does Reuben seem to feel ok? Does he get pain meds again yet? I'm sure after a snack and with a greater space between tests he'll remember he loves you. ;-)

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

Beautiful surf!!! Well done, Reuben :mrgreen:

Alexa, even though Reuben may be past his nadir already, he *has* dipped back down around (+8), looking over his SS. So, to be safe, I'd feed the cycle as you did an hour ago: some (of *your*) LC, and re-test in an hour, no later, but a bit earlier if you're anxious.

How does that sound to you?

Oh and I *loved* your non-committal opinion :lol:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

Alexa, I'm signing off, alright? You've got fantastic back-up with you - THANK YOU so much, Melanie! You're a star! - and I hope Reuben just surfs on happily for a bit longer.

I'll check in with you tomorrow :smile:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

Alexa

Sorry I didn't get back to you last night....Missy G decided to keep me occupied :-D

I see there has been alot of food discussion on your condo today.

Here is a post I did for another member regarding this very subject.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'd like to weigh in on this adding honey to slow the early drop.

Tess is a long-term diabetic with a history of failed reductions and diving. Ann and John have found what works for her at this stage of her diabetes and that's what Ann was telling you. They have tried many different things. But she said earlier, as I did, to try and slow him down with LC.

Sienne uses honey to slow down Gabby, who is also a diving/bouncing long-term diabetic. She uses it because the HC gravy/food makes Gabby sick.

When we were new, we also tried this approach even though many long-timers and experienced caregivers like Jill and Libby were telling us they did not use karo (I think Jill used it once and wished she hadn't). I spent many an evening grappling with the thought of giving a diabetic sugar intentionally when she was high. In the end, I decided not only did it not work for Gracie, but I didn't want to do it. Do I use karo? Yes...absolutely when she is in the 20s or low 30s and I want her up fast. But if she's high 30s/40s, I use higher low carb unless she is that low and about to onset.

My point is that we are jumping into using karo, honey, etc without giving the LC a chance. Jinx did slow down with the LC and I think before you jump onto the karo/HC bandwagon, you should try to get him on a feeding schedule as Ann discussed and be sure you always get a +2. Try giving the majority of the portions at PS and +1 and see if it helps the diving. ECID....you will have to experiment. You might want to consider a higher low carb but I'd really like to see you give the LC on a schedule a chance before you start using HC/karo.

I also do not think you should be trying to hold him above 50 at this point. Try to slow the dives but you shouldn't work at keeping him from earning reductions yet like Ann, Sienne, and I do. Again, it's the difference between a newly diagnosed cat and long-term diabetics with a history of failed reductions. Feed the curve to try and flatten it but if he earns a reduction, let him have it and see if he can hold it. I worry about the possibility of him getting overdose if you try to keep him from getting reductions. Ann, Sienne, and I and other experienced CGs have the data to justify trying to hold them at a safe dose as long as possible and we know our cats. I'm not sure you're quite there yet.

Questions???

Manage the curve with food -----> flatten the curve ----> adjust the dose (if necessary)

By managing the curve with food, we don't mean feed a lot of HC food. We mean coming up with a good feeding strategy of his regular food with the regular total amount but feeding certain amounts at certain times over the cycle. It takes time to see the positive effects of this and it often needs tweaking and adjusting. What might work for a while, may need to change a bit later.

We can help with a possible feeding schedule. But also, as I said before it's not always best to feed a really low carb food and I'm not certain how to make your homemade food higher carb. You might PM Ann/Tess. She makes homemade food and she may have some good ideas to bump up the carbs to more in the 4-6% range since you are limited on what you can get commercially.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

G'night Jane!! I did just now feed him 3 or so Tablespoons of *his* lc food like you sad, just so ya know :razz: Sweet dreams, see you tomorrow. :YMHUG: -Alexa

Marje - Great, thank you! Let me read before making any comment, and Much appreciated! :razz:

Melanie, I just fed him. He really didn`t eat much.. so I expect him to keep dropping. I'll test again, oh in 10 minutes!! Time is flying!! I`m just testing every hour now. Yes, thank you for asking, he IS having health issues right now..... which I don`t quite have a handle on. Maybe you can help me figure it out in a while here, after the dust has settled? I`m going to test in 10, and *I* need to eat now too!! Back in a bit.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +6.5/113 +7.5/116

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113 +7.5/116

Gave :

hc gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@ 2.5;

hc homemade gravy
2 tsp @ 3.25

lc food (very watered down)
1 tsp @ +5
3.5tsp @ +7
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113

I'm here Alexa. So ask away when you're ready and let me know when you do your next test. Remember he may trick you and go down again so about an hour from the last test is the most you should go for this test.

Thanks Jane. Have a good night.

Thank you Marje for explaining what I wanted to say about the lc vs syrup, and the problem with forcing a surf on a newbie who really probably needs a reduction, but so much better than I did.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +6.5/113 +7.5/116

OKay, so I read Marje's post and I think I understand the situation in a very limited way.

The goal is remission, and the path to remission is through reductions- which are earned by going low enough to get them - and the way I am handing things up til now are not getting us there. Is this the basic idea?

As for the food, I am willing to feed him anything that will work to achieve our goals. The food I make for him is cooked, not raw. I make it because I couldn`t find a food that I thought I could feed him. I can go to the store and bring home what is on the shelf and present it here, and if any of it works for either lc, mc or hc I will use it.

I will message Tess and see what she is doing.

Now that we are actively in the process of finding the right doses to bring him down - with the goal of remission - I need to understand how the process works, and what I need to do to make/help it work.

Any and all advice and insight anyone wants to share with me I AM ALL EARS!!!

:razz: :razz: THAAAAAAAAAAANK YOUUUUUUUUU :razz: :razz:

The Wierd Health issues right now are: Mysterious LB habits, using the shower, not pooping or going where I have no idea he is going, or it`s the other cat not pooping or WHAAT? He peed on the bed this morning. He was upset, that could be it. Don`t know. As you can see the LB situation is out of control. He is obsessively grooming himself. he is antisocial. (and by nature he is extremely social). He still has a few fleas, the Frontline did not kill them all. We can re-dose in 2 weeks. (based on once a month dosing, have to check that). His eyes are huge and spooky a lot of the time. He was fine energy and socialability -wise, and grooming - up until day before yesterday when I over sugared him up and the went into a sundae induced zonk-out all afternoon, and he hasn`t been the same since. Hmmm....... wonder what happened... Anyway, that`s the scoop.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113 +7.5/116 +8.5/115

Gave :

hc gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@ 2.5;

hc homemade gravy
2 tsp @ 3.25

lc homeade food (very watered down)
1 tsp @ +5
3.5tsp @ +7
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115

Hi Alexa,
I am all ears too, I think you are asking the right questions, your understanding is similar to my understanding:
Remission is the goal, and you work down to it by getting stable (fairly predictable and fairly flat?) at some dose, then gradually decreasing dose while keeping stable. When you are at zero dose and stable that is remission. ECID, getting to the magic dose to enter that progression of decreases can take a lot of time and trial.
Use food selection to reduce bg by controlling carbs, cats need some carbs and ECID. I know much less than I thought about food and nutrition .
Use meal timing to help make the cycle stable, most of the info seems to favor more frequent smaller meals and controlling when you feed relative to shot times. I notice various people here do or dont feed within x hours of PS test. ECID and some cats will eat on a schedule or on command, Jasper totally rejected that.
Other conditions affect cats metabolism mood and behavior - stress, illlness, meds, weather, dental, kitty monsters, and so on. How does the bean factor those into the plan...
ECID, and every cat has some degree of being unpredictable, just because they are a cat. Any particular point good or bad is just one point, we have to focus on the overall patterns and trends.
I look forward to learning what the experts here have to say about your questions!
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115

I like the word Manipulate.

We are manipulating drops and increases with foods after we know our cat's patterns ( which still can change on us).
But other medical conditions make it even more difficult.

The food you choose to give can slow down the drops but still keep Reuben safe.


I'm excited to see you with all the 100's today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top