Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115
First of all, Reuben is in a beautiful surf right now. I would just let him have his regular lc food now if he will eat it. Don't water it down any more than you usually do. He's at 8.5 and you want him to go up a little before shot time so you aren't too nervous about giving a shot & keeping him safe. Let's see what he does without help of hi carb.
As far as the food, you are feeding him great food, nothing wrong with it. The only thing I would do different is that I would buy some canned mc & hc food for when you need it or ask Tess what she does if she is using homemade food. She might just be making a gravy with flour/cornstarch or something to thicken & turn to gravy or some fat? Using all the sugar is what I would not do unless he was super low like in the 30-40's and you had to bring him up fast. It also seems to not be agreeing with him. It could be at the bottom of his acting strange problems.
You are right about the goals. You are not necessarily doing anything so wrong as doing something wrong for the stage he is in. He is a newbie so needs to become regulated on the proper dose which will be found by decreases and increases. Steering him too much will not allow those decreases, etc so he will not find his correct dose. We steer numbers usually when we are not trying for a changed dose but want them to surf. We very rarely steer them when they are so high even when we are steering.
Fleas - Did you also do the carpet when you did the cats? If you don't do both at the same time you will not get rid of the fleas. When I had a problem in FL what got rid of it was Adams powder carpet flea powder, Advantage and then I bombed the house with Adams bombs. When I went back in, I aired out the house for a couple of hours before letting the cats in and also vaccuumed. that pretty much did it. I left a line of powder around the walls and outside thd doors.
Another thing though, some cats are sensitive to the flea medicines and that could be affecting him too. If he only has a few, you might be able to get away with sitting with a comb and soapy glass of water. I've done that also. You comb & dip and wipe the comb & the fleas go in the glass and die.
BRB
Melanie & Racci