9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253 +4/225 +5/217

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/108

Gave :

hc gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@ 2.5;

hc homemade gravy
2 tsp @ 3.25

lc homeade food (very watered down)
1 tsp @ +5
3.5tsp @ +7
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +3/133 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115

First of all, Reuben is in a beautiful surf right now. I would just let him have his regular lc food now if he will eat it. Don't water it down any more than you usually do. He's at 8.5 and you want him to go up a little before shot time so you aren't too nervous about giving a shot & keeping him safe. Let's see what he does without help of hi carb.

As far as the food, you are feeding him great food, nothing wrong with it. The only thing I would do different is that I would buy some canned mc & hc food for when you need it or ask Tess what she does if she is using homemade food. She might just be making a gravy with flour/cornstarch or something to thicken & turn to gravy or some fat? Using all the sugar is what I would not do unless he was super low like in the 30-40's and you had to bring him up fast. It also seems to not be agreeing with him. It could be at the bottom of his acting strange problems.

You are right about the goals. You are not necessarily doing anything so wrong as doing something wrong for the stage he is in. He is a newbie so needs to become regulated on the proper dose which will be found by decreases and increases. Steering him too much will not allow those decreases, etc so he will not find his correct dose. We steer numbers usually when we are not trying for a changed dose but want them to surf. We very rarely steer them when they are so high even when we are steering.

Fleas - Did you also do the carpet when you did the cats? If you don't do both at the same time you will not get rid of the fleas. When I had a problem in FL what got rid of it was Adams powder carpet flea powder, Advantage and then I bombed the house with Adams bombs. When I went back in, I aired out the house for a couple of hours before letting the cats in and also vaccuumed. that pretty much did it. I left a line of powder around the walls and outside thd doors.
Another thing though, some cats are sensitive to the flea medicines and that could be affecting him too. If he only has a few, you might be able to get away with sitting with a comb and soapy glass of water. I've done that also. You comb & dip and wipe the comb & the fleas go in the glass and die.

BRB
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

I just fed him 1T of his food. Wondering if I should give another... He`s hungry and wants to eat more. It`s practically no carbs so I`m thinking yes, let him eat more. Yeah. here we go. :razz:
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

At the next test and shot, I would give some of the whiskas gravy again and a small lc meal if he will eat. My connection is still going on and off so if I take too long getting back that's what it is.

As far as a basic meal schedule, I basically feed about 2 tsp lc every 3 hours or so when I also test during the day and part of the night. The only time that changes is if she's too low and I give some mc to bring her up. I give a little hc & a little lc making it mc since Racci is probably the worst eater in the world and I go with what she will willingly eat when I can. Racci eats 2% as a regular meal. I would like it a little higher but have no choice that's what she eats. I'm not sure what Marje does but I imagine it's similar. The exceptions are early in the morning and late at night. She wants extra meals then because she's extra hungry so I usually give 2-3 small meals at those times depending on how hungry she is.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

Yes, especially since you want him to come up some now. I would let him have a meal if he hasn't.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

I have to start dinner but will be right back.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

Thank you for answering my question about feeding him now before I even asked it Melanie :razz: That was awesome.

Okay, so he ate 2 tablespoon of LC 1 hour and 45 minutes before shot time. It was thicker than what he has been eating all day.

I`ll wait to BG test until +11 now, and skip the +10.5

Thank you for all the insight about the other issues! I`m all focused on the pre-shot situation right now, so I`ll get back to those afterwards, okay?

And then there`s that sink full of dirty dishes, all from making his food!! Better do those now. Fun! :lol:
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +5.5/141 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/1

That's good. It's almost 2 hours so should be fine with such low carb food. :) Glad I answered at the right time. We're getting in tune. :lol:

Ok. I'm going to cook now. I'll see you in about an hour after we both do our thing. You can digest what I wrote and let me know your thoughts when you have time. TTYL

Melanie & Racci

Edit: Have you tested ketones today?
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/108 +11/163

9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +2/197 +2.5/159 +3/133 +3.75/111 +4.5/113 +5.5/141 +6.5/113 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/108 +11/163

Gave :

hc gravy from whiskas packet:
1 tsp at +2;
2 tsp@ 2.5;

hc homemade gravy
2 tsp @ 3.25

lc homeade food (very watered down)
1 tsp @ +5
3.5tsp @ +7

LC Regular Food (no honey added)
(thicker than previously today)
2 T @ +10.25
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben AMPS 341 +7.5/116 +8.5/115 +9.5/108 +11/163

Thanks Deborah!!

Melanie - I just shot PMPS 226 - going to feed now. his regular food and how much hc gravy? a teaspoon?
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Beautiful numbers tonight! Do you have any real hc without sugar? If so, yes. If not, then only a tiny bit of the sugar. Try his regular food without a lot of water and only a touch of hc if it's sugar hc.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

It's the gravy from a whiskas Pocket (packet). so i`ll give him 1 tsp now. the food i gave him is thick. he`s eating well.

You rock, btw, thank you so much! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

well, he didn`t eat the Whole 2 T of food, but more like 1.5T, and all the gravy

and he peed.on.the.bed.again. :shock:
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Oh no with the peeing on the bed! Did you see my note about the ketones? I would check them if you haven't just to play it safe. I don't like the inappropriate peeing. It could be that he's upset over all the tests or it could be a reaction to all the sugar but it could also be ketones so let's make sure.

I'll be really happy if we can get him through the night in the 200's and start tomorrow that way. That would really be asking a lot tho. :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Hahaa, Well, if we want him in the 200's I suppose we can make that happen without too much problem!

I`ll test for ketones now.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Sorry Reuben peed the bed, again! Maybe he wanted somewhere softer or warmer than the shower. He had a nice long surf in the blues today, is he feeling any better now? Earlier you mentioned giving him bupe, has that helped? I really hope Reuben feels better soon! cat_pet_icon .
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Whenever they act strangely like that it's a good idea to check them, especially when they haven't been feeling well.

I'm going to look at his ss. I want to see his +1 & 2. BRB

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Great job today! It is scary the first few times but you will learn what works with Reuben. Lots of great advice and support today. Hope you get some rest!
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Alexa

I ran out to do some errands and am going to grab some dinner and will be back to answer your questions. Nice job today!
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Thanks Melissa - yeah, I so could NOT be doing this by myself right now. He`d be back up at HI like, hours ago! So, Hats off to Melanie, also and Jane earlier :razz:

Leslie - Well, I think the bupe did help him as he is now acting comfortable, but only will be in the box. I think the fleas are back and driving him crazy. Biiiig Part of the problem. :roll: :roll: :roll:

uh oh, i just started getting tired. like, time to go to sleep tired... :lol:

+1/284
Ketones 0.1mmol/L

He is obsessed with water on and off today........ the bupe is no good for his kidneys? possible??
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226

Thanks Marje!

Well, I guess I better have a cup of coffee and turn some music on. :lol: Sleeping is not on the agenda. ~O)
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284

Well Alexa, take a rest.
You can set your handphone alarm for the next testing time. You need to take care of yourself too. Reuben is doing great! \M/
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284

Great on no ketones!
y
Thanks Alexa. You'll be doing it yourself in no time. It just takes a little practice and being walked thru it a few times. :razz: You did great. I would let the 2 of you take a break now and rest for a little bit and not test till +3 (I think that hc will keep him in a good place till then, but I know Marje likes a +2 and I have to go get Racci's meds ready now and her food & shot so will be gone for a little while. Why don't you take a rest until +2? I'll probably be back by then too.

Would Reuben let you comb him or is he too long and knotty for that? That's a great way to help give him some relief getting rid of some of them wo the flea meds.

See you in a little bit.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284

Melanie, i just saw your post now, how Strange! ! Anway, time to do the +2 test and I^ll be back.

He loves to be combed, adores it. I am terrible at getting the fleas though, they just laugh at me. Seriously. But I will comb him, just because he loves it. funny how stress makes me forget the normal things...
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255

I didn't see it at first either! Weird! I thought I might not have looked on pg 2 but maybe it just didn't show up!

Put a soapy glass of warm water next to you and dip the fleas in there quickly and they will drown. Keep paper towels with you to keep wiping them off the comb.. You can get a bunch that way and he'll feel a little better. They won't laugh for long! :lol:

He's starting to go down but by his next test he should really be going down again.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253

Well, apparently he heard you express a desire to see him in the 200's for the night!!

+3/253

Just gave 1/16th tsp miralax. I was reading someone's condo which was focused on how HAPPY their cat was since it left a prezzie. I`m thinking we might probably maybe possibly could have this situation going on.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253

Oh, and I`ll do the flea thing tomorrow with soapy water, thanks :razz: And no... I didn`t do the house too. :roll: I'll have to see what products are available here, and post the options here.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253

Alexa

Sorry to just get back to you....

I also agree that I don't see that you are doing anything to hinder his progress. It's important to remember that we are not in control of this dance. We can only respond to their lead by following the protocol as closely as we can while kitty is newly diagnosed. That gives them the best chance of going OTJ but even if they don't go OTJ the first six months,it doesn't mean they never will. but the botto m line is the goal is remission so let him earn his reductions safely so he can come down the dosing scale.

It's a learning process for all of us. You have to learn to know his patterns inc his onset, nadir, and duration; how he responds to food; is he a diver and how do you control it; does he get new dose wonkiness; how long does it take him to clear a bounce (although this can change just like nadir can change).

If he continues a pattern of diving, you might want to start a front loading of his food. A lot of lantus users front load by feeding at PS, +1, +2, and +3. Something different may work for Reuben....it's trial and error.

You are doing a great job by asking good questions. Let us know any time we can answer them for you or help in any way.
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253

Thank you so much, Marje. Then we'll just keep on plugging along, and asking questions :razz:
 
Re: 9/6 Reuben PMPS 226 +1/284 +2/255 +3/253

Great job Alexa! I'm sure there'll be a way to sort out a feeding routine that works for Reuben!

Sorry about the repeated peeing on the bed... That really is odd. Henry did that a couple of weeks ago, because he was terrified during a thunderstorm. Hope you get to the bottom of that!
You did great!

Edited to add: I see you updating his SS - gotcha :lol: Reuben is doing a nice job surfing the low yellows.

Hugs
Jane
 
The good news at 1.30am is that Reuben is up and about and perky, just had a meal and LB functions are A-Okay. And the prezzie was even left IN the litter box. The bad news is that the bed is now OFFICIALLY the new peeing LB. I have covered it with big thick garbage bags. :roll: :roll: :roll:

The low 200's surf (or molasses slow drop, haha) means I get to go to sleep now! Even if he has one of his +8 nadirs, how low can he go? that late in the cycle i just don`t think he`s going to do anything dramatic.

I wish I could wake up in the morning and his BG chart would be filled in for the night hours, haha.

Hi Jaaaaane! :razz: Yes, the low 200's nightime surf is thanks to your fine guidance during the a.m. cycle, thaaaaank you!!!

can`t stay awake another second, i`m outta here!!
hasta mañana!

alexa
 
Alexa, Do you have to work tomorrow or get up early? Are you getting very tired to the point where you won't be able to stay up too much longer? Let me know so we can plan the next move. It will make a difference in what you feed him. You're doing great!

I dozed off for a bit there, sorry. I woke on auto pilot for Racci's +3. She was at 56 and waiting at her food spot. :lol: I fed her twice and she'll want to eat again before going to bed.

Hi Jane! Are you back?

Melanie & Racci
 
Melanie - I didn`t see your last post until this morning! Yeah, I just gave him a big meal (2T thick LC food) and went to sleep after +5. His high flat PM curves (sometimes, haha) can be a blessing for the bean! Thank you for ALLLLL your help :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top