9/6 Newman Update

Linda and Newman

Member Since 2010
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-2-newman-lots-of-stalling-both-am-and-pm.278185/

We have been moving along in lower yellows, some blues with some bounces.

This morning Newman's fasting AMBG started at 131 @ 7:30, stalled 20 min got 138 @ 7:50, stalled got 142 @ 8:10. Decided to feed to stay closer to schedule. At 8:40 he was 175, stalled 30 minutes got 206 and shot a skinny 2 units @ 9:10. Checked him at +2 got 205 offered LC food he ate about 1 tbsp. Checked at +3.75 got 145 offered LC food he ate about 1 tbsp.

Will continue to spot check as possible.

ETA: 111 @ 6.5
 
Last edited:
PMPS 208 so I will stall for 15 minutes. Darn fireworks have the pets on edge so I'm hoping Newman will standby. In the past none of them were bothered but a little nervous this year.

ETA: After 15 minute stall I got 220 and shot a skinny 2 units.
 
Last edited:
I know what you mean about the fireworks. We’ve had them going on for a few days. Tonight is actually quieter than the previous two nights, but between thunderstorms and fireworks I have several cats who don’t want to eat. And I just had a text from a friend telling me that her cat was afraid of fireworks for the first time.
 
I know what you mean about the fireworks. We’ve had them going on for a few days. Tonight is actually quieter than the previous two nights, but between thunderstorms and fireworks I have several cats who don’t want to eat. And I just had a text from a friend telling me that her cat was afraid of fireworks for the first time.
Same here in Indiana, there's been fireworks for several days. I thought last night was bad but tonight was way worse my house shook a couple of times & picture fell off the wall & about hit me in the head! Spook was scared to death Panzer didn't care though.
 
@Shelley & Jess, @Suzanne & Darcy

Newman is checking to see if you guys are watching! LOL :joyful: Once we said he was behaving, he says "Here's a pink for you!"

I do have a question though, what syringes do you all prefer? I have been using these Brandzig and recently got a box with some dull needles. They are so dull they won't pierce the skin, causing me to discard, wasting both syringe and drawn insulin and loading another one. The trick is in talking Newman to standby. :)

Oh, and does it matter if the syringe if 1/2cc or 3/10cc? That reference is to how much the syringe will hold. Am I right or am I confused?

Brandzig U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes 29G 1/2cc, 1/2" 100-PackBrandzig U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes 29G 1/2cc, 1/2" 100-Pack
100 Count
 
@Shelley & Jess, @Suzanne & Darcy

Newman is checking to see if you guys are watching! LOL :joyful: Once we said he was behaving, he says "Here's a pink for you!"

I do have a question though, what syringes do you all prefer? I have been using these Brandzig and recently got a box with some dull needles. They are so dull they won't pierce the skin, causing me to discard, wasting both syringe and drawn insulin and loading another one. The trick is in talking Newman to standby. :)

Oh, and does it matter if the syringe if 1/2cc or 3/10cc? That reference is to how much the syringe will hold. Am I right or am I confused?

Brandzig U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes 29G 1/2cc, 1/2" 100-PackBrandzig U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes 29G 1/2cc, 1/2" 100-Pack
100 Count
And yes - about the size the larger one - the .5 cc, doses up to 20 units and the smaller one - the .3 cc doses up to 12 units. Newman is on a small dose, so you don’t need the bigger ones.
 
@Shelley & Jess, @Suzanne & Darcy

I have been meaning to post to say thank you for suggesting the UltiCare syringes when I asked. I switched and I think they are much better quality and I find it easier to get the most accurate and consistent doses.

His numbers have been pretty consistent, probably not the best that they could be, but the best that I can do and feel relatively sure I can handle when home alone and limited.

I think of you all often, and feel so thankful for your guidance and patience as I struggled to learn and develop some level of confidence. I hope that Melissa @FrostD is doing well.
 
You are doing great with Newman. I like his mid-cycle numbers this week — lots of blue. I wonder if that is the influence of the new vial? I hope you are doing well, too, Linda! Last I spoke with Melissa, she and her family were all doing just fine.
 
You are doing great with Newman. I like his mid-cycle numbers this week — lots of blue. I wonder if that is the influence of the new vial? I hope you are doing well, too, Linda! Last I spoke with Melissa, she and her family were all doing just fine.
Thanks Suzanne.

I can live with blue and yellow. Most of the yellow numbers are low and only a very occasional pink. Seems reasonable to assume that the new vial may have an effect.
 
Hey Suzanne, so nice to hear from you. I miss talking to you too!

Yes, Newman is staying relatively steady on the 2 unit dosing. There have been many times when I think I should try to push those yellow and blues a bit lower, but then decide not to rock the boat. He is clearly feeling pretty good, grooming, peeing and pooping with the occasional zoomies, and frequently chasing his favorite toys and Ozzie.

We have a good routine which I could not maintain without his cooperation. There a a few mornings where he delays returning on schedule for his AM dose, which requires extra freeze-dried chicken bites as bait.

I'm doing okay. How are you?

Edit to add tag. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Back
Top