9/6 Calley's AMPS 417

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Good morning all. Calley was up bright and early begging for food. She batted at me like usual and bit me while I was testing her.

Going to vet this morning to see about ultrasound and possibly bude and possible dose increase.
 
good luck kristin. i hope they can help your baby.
hugs to you and calley
:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
She's in the 400s today because she was 176 yesterday morning which is much lower than she is use to going. She bounced!! Autumn is in the 400s this morning as well because she dropped below 40 a couple of times last night and then surfed (stayed in the same color) until 3 a.m.

If your going to discuss a change of insulin with your vet and given your schedule restrictions, you might want to see about BCP PZI. Its an "in and out" like Humulin N with a longer duration. But you can use a sliding scale with it and shoot based on preshots. Plus the company that makes it will send your vet a free sample vial. The form is over in the PZI forum. I'll see if I can find you the link.

IMHO Levemir would be a bad choice for Calley because she already appears to nadir late on Lantus.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/6 Calley's AMPS 417; +10 = 100

Calley's +10 was at 100. I won't be home at +12....so I will have to check her PMPS when I get home. I just fed her to help her bg go up a bit.

Talked to vet today......they said they would absolutely NOT give Calley any steroids of any kind since she is diabetic. I will try children's Pepcid for the stomach issues.
 
Mel makes a good point about Prozinc and the late nadir.

I hope the Pepcid helps Calley's tummy settle down.
 
Hi. Calley is miserable. Vomiting and then eating voraciously right afterward. Vet and I discussed how even when her numbers go down and have been lower, Calley is still so hungry. Vet says the vomiting is because the diabetes isn't controlled. Says that all testing that can be done is expensive and not always conclusive.

So I'm left with no answers and a cat that is suffering. I guess she will just survive in the state she is in.

How am I...I'm ok.
 
Kristin
i"m so sorry. You must be miserable too. watching your cat suffer is terrible. I know !!
not just from Tibbs but from a lot of my others at different times. You are doing the very best that you
can Kristin. That is all you can do. Just keep doing what you are doing and try to let it go a little bit.
Have you had a lot of other animals? One thing i can tell you is that if it comes to a point where you think
they are suffering too much, you usually know it is time. But hang in there a while longer and try to give
yourself a break. Calley will either heal herself or she won't and you are doing as much as you can do for her.
The other thing is that you really just started this too, just like me right? It really does take a long time for
their systems to heal and regulate so just give yourself and her that time .
Try to do something nice for yourself too. You can't keep giving and giving and not refilling the well. Take
care of yourself too and if you need anything... just ask.
Nadine
 
Thanks Nadine,

I appreciate the support. Calley is my fifth cat. I have one more at home right now...Buddy. Before these two I had a calico name Alley. Looked exactly like Calley. She went down hill from hypothyroid and I had to put her down...this was about 8 yrs ago...she was 17. Then there was Cody...a yellow and white tabby. He was 16 when he died in my arms after a two week battle with feline leukemia. Then there was my first cat Gabby....she had to be put down after contracting FIP.

I have had two dogs....my yellow labby Sommer just passed away on July 7th of this year...the same day that Calley went hypo and about died in my arms. And I currently have a 12 year old black labby name River. He is my baby.

I love/loved all my animals. Calley is my 8yr old daughters cat. If it wasn't for her.....I would have put Calley down by now. It's not that I want to be free of the time/energy/expense of the care for Calley... it is the feeling that there is something wrong with her that I can't find and the vets can't find and that she will never get regulated on insulin. I just feel that this is a losing battle and that it is inevitable that Calley will have to be put down.

She was diagnosed in December 2013 so has been receiving treatment for 9 months...to no avail. The bg have come down a bit but haven't stayed down and then she is going up/down all the time and the vomiting isn't improving. I just don't know. She is not a loving, sweet cat anymore....she bites, hisses, etc.

I am stressed beyond belief.....especially financially. I just learned yesterday that my second job that was paying for lots of my extras ....the grant was cancelled. So now I don't have that extra money. SIGH :(

I will continue doing what I am doing...and like you said...she will either regulate or won't.

I so appreciate the support. :)

Kristin
 
Well Kristin,
When it is time for her to rest, you will know and just do what you need to do for her and for yourself.
We'll be here to support you in whatever you need to do. So sorry about the 2nd job. I also work 2 jobs. It
is such a struggle and you can only do so much. I hope life gets better for you. Take care
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top