9/5 Fin AMPS 313 - Need advice...

Status
Not open for further replies.

tecwmn

Member Since 2010
Fin is doing better today now that we have discovered what the problem was (constipation). His ketones are negative and he seems more normal today. However, I have a dilema....

My brother is in town from North Carolina and we have tickets to a show tonight and will not be back until 2-3 hours after shot time (7 p.m.). I arranged for my petsitter to come and do his shot, but she cancelled this morning (not the wake up call I was looking for).

I have no idea what the correct approach here is...the vet is closed, and I don't know anyone having recently moved here. My brother said we don't have to go or could leave early, but the tickets were expensive and I feel bad.

Is there a mid-way solution? Can I give Fin his shot and dinner a little later? How much later is safe? Do I then need to shift his AM/PM shots from this point forward and slowly work them back to 7:00?

This totally sucks and I cannot wait to find a new petsitter that will come to the island.

Advice is really appreciated.
 
You could shoot late and then work the time back to your usual shot time. Just remember, that all things being equal, the most you can safely move a shot, unless numbers are high, is by 30 min. per day.

The other alternative is to skip the shot. If you think of it as a fur shot or as your having overslept, it's something that happens to all of us.
 
I didn't even think of that Sienne. Fin's numbers have been pretty high lately and just started coming down, but I want to do what is safest for him. Thanks for the solid advice, as usual you are a total angel!! :smile:
 
Oh, dur, thanks Pat! I always copy and forget to paste his last condo. I was considering an increase last week and then his numbers started going wonky. I wasn't sure if we were bouncing or what was going on so I didn't want to mess with anything until I figured out what was going on.

My brother leaves on Tuesday mid-day and Wednesday I have to go into the office, so I think on Thursday we will do a .25 increase.
 
this is a better number than last night, maybe Fin is feeling better.

I would go with the late shot tonight. Tomorrow's a holiday, so hopefully you have an extra day before you have to go back to work to work on fixing the schedule.

Can you get some more spot checks this weekend? It would help us see what is going on with this dose.
 
Re: 9/5 Fin AMPS 313 - VENTING!

OK, seriously cancelling the service for the petsitter. So after cancelling on me, apparently she showed up at 8:30 and gave Fin a shot (an hour and a half after he ate)....all I can say is WTF??!! I called her and asked her why she came when she said she wasn't - she said she felt bad. God forbid I had made other arrangements he would have been overdosed. I calmly explained to her why this was unacceptable and she said her boss told her to come at that time. This woman has housesat for me twice and come on a couple evening visits and the shot time has ALWAYS been the same. I got off the phone before I lost it.

Wow. :evil:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top