9/4 Jock PMPS 265

Status
Not open for further replies.

TortoiseAWD

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's thread
Yesterday's numbers:
AMPS 69, gave 4u
+2 73
+4 46 (gave some HC food)
+5 126
+7 64
+9 61
+11 62
PMBG 60 (no shot)

The vet had me drop from 4 units to 3 for this morning's shot, and has asked for spot checks around noon and again around 2:00 or 3:00. Someone in yesterday's thread suggested that having a complete history in his spreadsheet would be useful, so I'm off to the vet to pick up his records. I'll post later on once I've gone back through and updated the sheet with all of the old curves.

You guys rock.

Tort
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS 102 (skipped last night's shot)

:-D ~O) ~O) Good Morning! Wow I'm really glad that you skipped last night if Jock is still this low. I'd get a =1 or +2 test in as well, it will show you how he is doing. Any time a new cat is this low at preshot you need to test more until you see where the cycle is headed.

As I said yesterday, full unit changes usually aren't done, but in this case since he was raised so quickly going back to 3 is probably OK. How much experience does you vet have w/ Lantus? .25u or at the most .5u changes are the norm with this insulin.

Were all your curves done by the vet? Most meters will store several hundred tests in memory, you just have to backtrack to get it. BTW you often have to pay for full records ro be printed out, but whenever you have blood or any other tests done they should give you a copy of the results free of charge.
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS 102 (skipped last night's shot)

We generally suggest that you get a +1 and a +2 when you shoot a low number. You might want to take a look at Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers. Reducing the dose, or what we refer to in Lantus-speak as a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose, is one option. You need to know that often, a dose reduction doesn't necessarily effect the current cycle. It may effect Jock's numbers tonight.

I don't know that you need to include all of Jock's history. Maybe some relevant labs but if he's healthy now, it's not necessary. If you complete a [urlhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59890]Profile[/url], you can include a summary of his medical history.
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS 102 (skipped last night's shot)

I picked up Jock's records from the vet (no charge), and will be updating his spreadsheet in a bit. They gave me everything from the very beginning . . . it's been a blast from the past to see his kitten shots from 01/96, and the minor little things over the years. Our original vet retired when Jock and Boo were only a couple of years old, which was sad, 'cause he was awesome. But, he sold the clinic to an equally awesome vet, who we've been with for 14 years or so. God, I feel old. I've had Jock and Boo for about 1/3 of my life.

All of the Lantus curves were done with my meter at home, but sorting out Jock's numbers from mine (I've got the diabeetus, too) in the history could be a bit of a pain. I store my own numbers on a Droid app on my phone rather than relying on a handwritten log or the meter's memory. But, now that I have Jock's records, I'll update the spreadsheet with his Lantus curves, at least (switched from PZI six or seven weeks ago).

My vet has some experience with Lantus, but I'm not sure she's familiar with the "tight regulation" protocol. I also think I'm one of the few clients she has that does home testing. I'm really fortunate that Jock's pretty mellow about the whole ordeal of poking his ear; I think it's harder on me than him. I've been meaning to email the vet info about FDMB (which I think would be a great resource to provide to any of her diabetic kitty clients), along with a couple of other things I've discovered about Lantus through my own hunting around the web.

Anyway, I'm supposed to be getting some work done from home. Away for a bit to earn money for gooshy foods and kibble, updates later.

Tort
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS +4 133

Good news, everyone! (and now you're reading this in Prof. Farnsworth's voice)

Latest BG was 133. I'll be testing again in a couple of hours. The only downside was that Jock yanked his head away when I hit his ear with the lancet, so way more blood than I needed (and then he shook his head, spraying a bunch on the bedsheets). New nickname: Dexter.

Cautiously optimistic,
Tort
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS +4 133

A housekeeping note: Keep your AMPS number in your subject line. Generally, you can keep all of the AM numbers (or as many numbers as you'd like) in the subject line.

If you'd like to share info on the TR protocol with your vet, this is the article that was published in one of the vet journals and describes the research and the protocol:
 

Attachments

Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS 102, +4 133

Tort, Glad Jock is steady, even up a bit and doing OK. Bummer about the Dexter blood spray, eeewww, we had that a couple times, of course when wearing a clean white shirt :roll:
Good luck filling in Jocks spreadsheet, last week or 2 will probably be the most useful for the gurus here to review.
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS +4 133

Nice! Looking through the old records can be a blast. We got all of Tess's records when we switched vets, but they charged us for the copies. :? You could become an advocate for home testing w/ new FD kitties at you vet.

I was hoping Sienne would post that link, I keep losing it. Way too many bookmarks for FD.

What meter do you use? It might be a good idea to get a second for Jock, you could still use the same type and the same strips. Many meters are free when you buy strips. I found a site where the strips for my WaveSense Prest are actually cheaper if you get a meter along with them. :roll: If you click the "Shop" button on the top of the page it takes you to links for supplies. ADW has great prices and FDMB gets a commission to help keep it running.
 
Re: 9/4 Jock AMPS +4 133

Oh and a housekeeping note of a different sort, I solved the Dexter problem by getting red sheets! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Given Jock's BG before dinner, it would appear that his ideal dosage is going to be somewhere between 3 and 4 units. I'll do more spot checks throughout the week, another full curve on Sunday, and get back to my vet to discuss baby-steps for increasing the dose. His 3u curve from several weeks ago was mostly in the 300s.

I really wish there was a more dilute version of Lantus for cats available from the manufacturer (or syringes that are smaller than 3/10). This .25/.5 unit stuff is going to be difficult ... such a tiny margin for error. u100 Lantus is pretty potent juice for kitties.

Thanks again to all who helped Jock and me through his low numbers.

Tort
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top