9/30 Weezer all day testing session

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
This is only of our 4th day on Lantus. We have data for how Weezer reacts to Humulin N, but not much for Lantus. It took a few seconds for 193 to register in my sleep-fogged brain as a do not shoot number. During which time Weezer got in a few licks at her watered down breakfast. So I'm stalling, but don't know just what to expect those few licks to do to her BG. I'll check her again in 30 minutes.

Yesterday's Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 253
+4 241
+5 241
+7 250
+9 234
PMPS 233
+4 247
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 193, 1st stall

He Linda - Libby's on line and I am sure she'll be by shortly.

Let me help gather a bit more data to help make a better decision.

Please post your +30 off of the AMPS. Are you around today to test, do you have plenty of supplies (test strips, HC food, lancets), and will stalling throw your schedule off for the next few days or can you back OK (you can back up 15 minutes each cycle).

By the way...very nice morning AMPS.
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 193, 207

Hi Jessica,

All supplies in place, time is no problem. I tested again after 30 minutes and got 207. I know she couldn’t have possibly gotten more than a few licks at the soup. I’m talking no more than 2 seconds. Anyway, I gave her regular dose and am dedicating the morning, or however long needed, to watching and testing.

Thanks!
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 193, +30 min 207

nice shooting!

for what it's worth, I would have shot the 193 too. That's basically the same number as 200, and we usually let newbies shoot over about 150 or 180. Plus you are on a much lower dose than you were of Humulin. I think you're good, but please get a +2 so you can see which way the cycle is headed. Goooo Weezer!
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 193, 1st stall

Perfect Linda - looks like the right choice based on that +30.

Since you have your lowest ever preshot number and you shot it rising....Grab a +1 and a +2. Weezer is going up right now, so you would expect him to normally keep going up at +1 and +2 before the insulin kicks in. If you see +1 and +2 going down....you know you may have a more than usual active cycle. Post those numbers in your Subject line as you record and many will be here to guide you through if necessary!

Make sense?
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMBG 193, +30 min (PS) 207,+1 259,+2 249

+1 went up nicely, +2 going down. We will continue to watch her. I'll test in another hour, unless advised to test before. Thanks for your watchful eyes!
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMBG 193, +30 min (PS) 207,+1 259,+2 249 +3

Still dropping, but hey, blue is good. I had planned to do a curve today, but I was planning on testing every two hours, not every hour!
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 207,+1 259,+2 249,+3 196,+4 262

+4 262! She had some treats and some turkey in the past hour. Obviously the Lantus hasn't kicked in yet. Should I keep testing, or is she good to go for a few hours?
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 207,+1 259,+2 249,+3 196,+4 262,+5 206

Coming back down. I guess the Lantus is kicking in. Since we have gotten into the groove of testing every hour, I think we'll continue through this cycle. Sorry Weezer! We are getting good info for next time.
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 207,+1 259,+2 249,+3 196,+4 262

Hi Linda,

You're doing great.

As info for the future....that +1 and +2 were a pretty standard response to the first two hours of the cycle....in general up from AMPS (even the +2....there's a 20% variance on the meters, making that 249 pretty even with the +1). Nothing MAJOR happened either direction. If you get in this situation again, you can generally feel OK taking a breather and testing again a little later in the cycle (+4 or +4.5), especially since you were in the mid 200 range.

That was a nice little drop between +4 and +5, and it's the only one we've seen yet today with anything behind it. As such, in general, that's probably the one I would follow up with in a shorter time frame...me, probably an hour, or an hour and a half. I've seen others wait out two....the more info you have on hand, the more comfortable you'll be knowing which is right for you.

This is a good cycle for Weezer today and you may see some blues before it's over!
 
Re: 9/30 Weezer AMPS 207,+1 259,+2 249,+3 196,+4 262,+5 206

Thanks for the feedback Jessica. I felt pretty comfortable about it all today. I just hope she eases through all of her changes as gently.
 
Re: 10/1 Weezer all day testing session

I decided to go with a full day of testing. So far:

AMBG 193, stalled shot
+30 minutes 207, shot regular 1.5U
+1 259
+2 249
+3 196
+4 262
+5 203
+6 251
+7 266
+8 275

Weezer will be glad when I feel like I've got enough info (and blood!). But she's been a trooper. Lots of tests mean lots of treats!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top