9/30 Muffin pmps 243 +2 248 Crystals

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/30 Muffin +12 175 still increase??

Wow Anne...I sure couldn't tell you, as you know, but I'll be very interested in what they say. How was your night and how does Muffin feel this morning?
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin +12 175 still increase??

All things considered Anne...I am inclined to say stay where you are and see what she does...
But, how long until your shoot? Maybe the smarter ones will be by and give you their suggestions....
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin +12 175 still increase??

It's 15 mins past shot time now, Pat, but I can wait another 15 mins easily enough. I was inclined to still increase, looking at 9/28 when she started at 131 but still hit yellow. I'm still undecided what to do, and Muffin is hungry :lol:
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin +12 175 still increase??

I think it's entirely you're call. If the ABs are kicking in, you'll just need to lower the dose soon. You're good about monitoring so toss a coin. You could always raise the dose tonight if this cycle isn't as good as it promises to be.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin +12 175 still increase??

Yes...that's a good option Sienne...what do you think Anne? You can always raise it tonight if she goes higher during this cycle..I am thinking also that those meds are kicking in now hopefully and bringing her numbers down.
but, it is up to you...
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169

shot half hour late = slight decrease considered, I shot a fat .5u Thank you Pat and Sienne for your help. We'll see what she does with this, and yes, I hope the ab's are finally going to kick in. I should hear from the vet on the C&S results today.

WCR: Muffin seems to feeling good this morning, but the only thing she's done so far is yell at me about breffis being late, and knock things off the desk in case I didn't hear her. (I obviously wasn't understanding, as no breffis was appearing) :lol: Oh, LB #1 contribution being made right now.

I'll get a +1 and 2 as she was already on her way down.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169

I did increase, but I was going to shoot .75, instead I shot f.5 - and now I have to remember everything's a half hour off :-D
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145

Good number Muffin!! Thanks, Anne, for checking in this morning...yes, this is a learning curve for us but Gracie feels soo good again today..romping and playing with Tobey and me. It's great. I'd like to see her come down a little more slowly like Muffin. Too bad Muffin won't eat the minimeals....I think they will work for us as long as I get the right %. I would love to see Muffin kick this UTI and start being her fun little Muffin self!
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145

+1 145 and ab's given. She's laying in the sun right now, sorta played for a minute, and gotten some purring and preening in. That's all of her daytime P's! (she's a PM pooper too)

Thanks for the bump earlier Celi and thanks to you and Marjorie for visiting us. I hope the mini meals work for Gracie.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +2 141

+2 141 Probably should've shot the .75. If she doesn't hit green today, I'll shoot it tonight.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +2 141 +3 136

+3 136 Hmm...I may get a +4 just to see if this continues...unusual for her.

Hi Barb! Thanks for stopping by!
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +2 141 +3 136

Anne...this is beautiful...good for Muffin and you!!! Thanks so much for cheering us on during the calamity!! My Gracie...she's definitely unpredictable. Wonder if she's earned a dose reduction?
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +2 141 +3 136 +4 141

+4 141 Looks like a nice mid blue surf. Had to get her out of the closet for test, tho, so most likely going up from here. Will give her a couple hours to herself.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +4 141 +7.25 222

+7.25 222 Back to yellow Probably going to shoot .75 tonight. She's been hanging out in the testing room closet all afternoon - but came out on her own for testing, purred and rolled around a bit, so I don't think she's feeling too badly.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +4 141 +7.25 222

Hey Muffin...we're getting the same dose now because I wons a reduction!! Did you hear that Mannie may be the new chef for the parties?? My bean said to tell your bean thanks for dropping in and checking on us :-D
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +7.25 222 Crystals

Got the C&S results. Urine culture was clean - no growth at all. However she got +3 on blood and crystals and 75-100 RBC. Dr said its urinary tract disease. So she now has to take 5mg prednisone per day and said to complete the ab course of zeniquin. She wanted me to buy the c/d food, but I already know Muffin won't eat that - I've tried that in the past for their UTI's. So for one week, I am to completely stop the dry food and just feed her the turkey slices and some chicken breast (if she'll eat it) Dr hopes that maybe after a week of no dry at all, if I still can't get her to try canned or raw food, I may at least be able to get her to eat the Wellness Core dry, or the Evo. So that's the plan for now. She also said she shouldn't really have side effects from the prednisone. Is this the case? Should I expect it to wreck havoc on her bg's? Still planning to shoot .75u at least for tonight, but starting tomorrow will really watch her with no dry food. Thoughts?
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +7.25 222 Crystals

dont want to crowd ur condo...but hoping for the best for the muffin-girl!
celi and the B
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +7.25 222 Crystals

The pred may raise her BG. It's just a matter of adjusting the insulin around the pred. I'm presuming this is for inflammation?

You might want to take a look at Dr. Lisa's site for info on urinary track disease. There are also several places on the web with good info. The consistent treatment seems to be water -- increasing water consumption. No dry food -- it's got far less water in it. Some sites suggest not free feeding but restricting food to a few meals in order to in order to keep the urine from becoming too alkaline. However, Dr. Lisa points out that many vets will suggest acidifying agents which can then lead to the formation of calcium oxalyate stones. Pain meds (e.g., bupe) may also be indicated. You might also want to look at this site describing feline lower urinary tract disease (flutd). It also looks like glucosamine/chondroiten is being used as a way to strengthen the lining of the bladder. Adequan or Cosequin have both been used. The latter is available without a prescription.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin amps 169 +1 145 +7.25 222 Crystals

pmps 243 gave shot (increased to .75u) @ +11.5 to get back on schedule. Just turkey tonight, no dry fuds. Gave 1st dose prednisone also.

Thank you so much Sienne - great links, very informative. Making me wonder whether she really even has crystals, as that was done at the lab and not in house. Also may give bupe, as I have noticed her licking 'down there,' but I've never really paid that much attention before, so not sure if she's doing it more than usual or not. Only reason I noticed at all is cause she was doing it on the desk in front of the computer, and she doesn't usually do that here. Also wondering if it's worth it to continue the ab's, but I guess I will since vet said to and she's only got 3 more days of it.
 
Re: 9/30 Muffin pmps 243 Crystals

Anne

Well, this is a subject I know a little about as it has been the bain of Gracie's existence and what got us here in the first place. Please note that any urine sample that has sat in a frig for a while can form crystals...I don't know how long it sat around the lab but it's a possibility. We've had that happen but it doesn't necessarily mean it happened to Muffin...she may actually have crystals. If she does, in fact, have crystals, they can be painful so the bupe probably helps. In the FLUTD yahoo group, they have a lot of good suggestions inc LOTS of water (do you have a fountain and do you add extra water to her food?), grain free food, no dry food; Gracie has been on cosequin and duralactin capsules which mix in her food nicely; Sienne already told you the cosequin helps to line the bladder but it takes time. The duralactin is an anti-inflammatory. The blood indicates inflammation. When this happened to Gracie, we put her on steroids, and voila...we are here. But you are in a different situation since Muffin is already dealing with FD. When Gracie had the outbreaks of her interstitial cystitis (no bacteria, no crystals), she would run to the box alot and pee small amounts that eventually had blood in them. After the steroid fiasco, I finally found a vet who does Nutrition Response Testing and found that Gracie had HIGH levels of aluminum. She has been detoxing Gracie who has not had a bladder episode since May (knock on wood) and she was having them every two weeks. When she had them, I would immediately start the bupe and also Rescue Remedy. But because ECID, that's just what was going on with Gracie. There are also herbal remedies which help with crystals but you need a holistic vet for that.

Poor little Muffin....Gracie knows how bad you can feel if your bladder isn't well. We hope you feel better soon.
 
+2 248

Thank you so much for the info Marjorie. I do have 2 water fountains, but cannot add water to her food, as she absolutely refuses to eat anything canned or wet so far. I've been dealing with trying to change her diet since she was dx in June, and so far to no avail. She discovered smoked turkey lunch meat one day and I've been giving her that in order to cut down on the amt of dry that she eats, but that's all the progress we've made. So for this next week, I am absolutely cutting out the dry food and will give her just the turkey and try some chicken breast. She is the most stubborn creature I have ever come across when it comes to feeding, and to be honest I'm at my wits end.

I'm beyond tired right now, so I'm going to bed, but hope to do a couple checks throughout the night.
 
Anne...so sorry!! I know that exhaustion and doing it all on your own makes it so hard. I knew she liked dry but didn't know she was a dryalholic...I gotta quit making up words :lol: Our cats have always gotten canned food but earlier cats also got dry (like our current 15 and 14 year old). But when we got Gracie we had to stop all dry food because she was a little vacuum cleaner and would go from one plate to the next so we could not leave out dry food or she'd be the size of a small tank. The others didn't appreciate it and they lost weight but it's been a good move for all. I wish great success for you in getting her off the dry food. I wouldn't even know how to begin to do it if that is what she really likes...at least you have her eating the turkey.

Hope she has a better day today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top