9/30 Gracie PMPS 347 +2 296 +4 276 +5 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
+4 276Yesterday: posting.php?mode=edit&f=9&t=26259&p=264673

Recap:
AMPS: 415
+2: 262
+3: 207
+4: 120
+4.5: 114
+5: 73
+5.5: 87
+6: 92
+7.5: 153
+11: 330
PMPS: 365
+2: 324
+4: 328
+5.5: 306


Good morning!! Another incredible morning in Tucson...cool and lovely but it will be a scorcher later and then we should start seeing fall temps..you know...low 90's :lol: :lol:

We started on Gracie's new feeding protocol yesterday afternoon (thank you Pat, Sienne, Eva, Michelle for helping us withthis) and I'm hoping this AMPS today is somewhat a reflection..or perhaps it is just a coinicidence. We also decided to revamp our own schedules as we were both staying up to +5 (12:30 am) or later and then dragging out of bed at 6:30 am. So DH is going to take the night shift since he usually flies "PM" schedules and is used to staying up late and getting up late. I went to bed at 10:30 and it was wonderful!! I slept until 3:30 am when I got up and gave Gracie a token meal in the hopes it would get her pancreas working and give us a lower AMPS...not like yesterday! So she has had her AMPS helping and coming up on +1 minimeal. And I've gotten 4 Ps this morning dancing_cat dancing_cat as she is usually a PM pooper :lol: :lol: DH came to bed after +4 saying she hadn't changed much and I said....hmmmm...she's a diver like Mannie so I'd be more comfortable if you got one more so he sat up and read until +5.5 What a guy!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I'm not exactly sure how we will ever have a social life again :-D with these feedings at 7:30 (AMPS), 8:30, 9:30 and 10:30 pm but then DH usually flies Fri, Sat, Sun; I'll just have to go out with my BFFs during the day instead of at night!! I thought about getting an automatic feeder but I'd have to leave Gracie closed in a room by herself as the civvies are all on different diets but we've never closed our cats up before and she's really starting to play with the kitten, Tobey, now that she feels better. Oh well..it's worth the sacrifice for our baby girl.

Hey Mannie, Tess, Binks, Moonie, Raja, Shadow....my bean walked off from the puter this morning to get ~O) ~O) and she came back while I was typing....so she's on to me! laptop_smiley haha_smiley Sending hugs to you all!!
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259

Hey! Looking good in the nice yellow number, considering yesterday's lovely numbers!!!
I'm sure Gracie will be blue-green real soon today!
Good luck with the feeding regime--Most beans find it successful --Big HUgs from US!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259

Thanks Lisa and Roni....Gracie will take any and all hugs!! I'm interested in seeing what her +2 is this morning and if her +1 minimeal will have an effect. I do hope we see some good numbers...we're here to watch her.

Have a wonderful day and thanks for checking in!
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259

Good luck with the mini meals...nice start to the day.
And Marjorie...what is the "social life" you spoke of? I do not know the meaning of that expression.. what is that? :roll:
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259

Thanks, Pat....hmmm....you're right...the meaning of "social life" is beginning to rapidly fade from my memory. Oh yeah...that's where we USED
to go out to dinner with friends or go to wonderful dinner parties. But, like I said, small sacrifice; Gracie is so much more important to us than that
but I think it's just the "break" that helps.
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 QUESTION pls

Oopps..had a quick question....generic in nature. Mike and I noticed that some cats have their blues/greens during the day, some at night, some (like Achilles) during both. What causes that ....ECID but I suppose the goal is to be like Achilles where they are consistent through the day. We just thought it was an interesting observation and are thankful that if Grcie is going to do one or the other, she does the days...at least for now. :lol: Thanks!!

Oh, BTW, looks like the +1 meal didn't slow it down as much as I had hoped..so I may need to feed more than a 4% carb at AMPS and +1. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 QUESTION pls

Morning Marjorie and Gracie. I can't answer your question, as Ms. I'm-so-stubborn-Muffin still refuses to eat wet food so I cannot use the mini-meal technique. But I did want to stop by, say hello, and check on the precious little girl. And yeah, that's still quite a drop isn't it?
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 +3 55 HELP PLS

Dropping fast despite morning efforts...just gave her 1 tsp 10% w/1 tsp 18% gravy. Will recheck in 30.
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 +3 55 HELP PLS

Gahhhh! Guess she had so much fun diving yesterday that she wanted to do it again.
Feed/test/reloop. Hope she settles quickly!

MJ&Donovan

edit to add: Actually you might want to test in 15 since she seems to be plummeting into dangerous territory quickly
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 +3 55 +3.75 44 HELP !

You know I can't give advice, but looks like you're doing all the right things!
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 +3 55 +3.25 44 +3.5 48

MJ and Miriam and Anne...thanks for being there....slowly coming up. 69 @ 3.75 gave her 1 tsp 9% to help her surf...retest in 15 or 30 to make sure rise was not karo?
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +2 130 +3 55 +3.75 44 +4 48

You're doing great Marjorie! Keep up with the testing and feeding.

The mini meals do work, but it isn't instantaneous. It takes time for Gracie's body to get used to the new pattern. You will gradually start seeing results and then there will still be the occasional scuba trip.
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +3 55 +3.75 44 +4 48 + 4.25 69

You can wait 30 minutes if you want. It looks like Gracie nadirs early in the cycle....around +4 to +6.
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +3.5 48 + 3.75 69 +4 106

Whew.....she loves to dive and then loves to rise. Holy cow. Thanks for being there MJ, Ann, Miriam, and Anne. I had to edit my subject titles because in all the excitement (WHAT??) I got off my numbers as I was posting but they are now correct and sync up with my SS. Another learning lesson..she responded to the karo and HC fast today....tried to slow her down with 9% after we were out of danger but she kept rising. I'm going to give her a break now...and finally have my breffis!!

Thanks for the support....Mike was gone to physical therapy and knowing you all were here helped. A week ago, I would have put "911" on there...so I'm getting calmer :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +3.5 48 + 3.75 69 +4 106

You're doing great Marjorie, and don't take my word for it, but I'd think Gracie earned a decrease. :thumbup
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +3.5 48 + 3.75 69 +4 106

I'm going to ask Sienne and Libby about that because she keeps trying to get down in the numbers. Thanks, Anne!!
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 3 55 +3.25 44 + 3.75 69 +4 106 +5 146

Yes the 40's earns a decrease in a newly dx cat.
See what some "smart" people think. ;-)
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 3 55 +3.25 44 + 3.75 69 +4 106 REDUCTION?

Does Gracie qualify for a dose reduction and if so...to .75u? And when would I start that...tonight or tomorrow? Do we wait and see if she bounces before
we do a reduction altho she seems to be on this pattern of go low, bounce....and I haven't quite gotten the hang of how to let her surf because she hadn't had
numbers this low before and I didn't know whether to use the karo or not, so I did. Probably one drop of karo at +3.25 instead of one at +3.25 and one at +3.5 would have worked. Gracie has done 11 cycles at 1u. BTW, I ran out of room for all her test results in the subject line so only put some of them but my SS is up-to-date. Thank you!!
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259+3 55 +3.25 44 +4 106 +8 279 DOSE ??

Please see previous post about possible reduction in dose for this afternoon or do we wait until she does not have these bounces anymore? Trying to use food to help...gave 3% sn at +8. THanks!!
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie AMPS 259 3 55 +3.25 44 + 3.75 69 +4 106 +5 146

Miriam and Putty said:
Yes the 40's earns a decrease in a newly dx cat.
See what some "smart" people think. ;-)

Miriam IS a smart people, duh!

Yes, Gracie earned a reduction to 0.75 units BID. If she bounces high tonight, you can shoot the old dose one more time, although it really doesn't look like it is necessary to do that with Gracie. She clears bounces in just one cycle anyway. Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +4 106 +8 279 DOSE ??

Nice work today. And congratulations on the decrease! :thumbup
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +4 106 +8 279 DOSE ??

Thanks, Libby!!! We'll probably go with the reduction to .75u tonight and watch her....hopefully she'll adjust easily now that her shed is full. Anything I should be aware of that happens with reductions? She's so excited and so are we!!!
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 REDUC ??

Libby said:

Yes, Gracie earned a reduction to 0.75 units BID. If she bounces high tonight, you can shoot the old dose one more time, although it really doesn't look like it is necessary to do that with Gracie. She clears bounces in just one cycle anyway. Good luck with the dosecrease!

Well...she bounced pretty high tonight at +11 with still an hour to go to PMPS but since I should be dosing based on the nadir and not the AMPS/PMPS should I still do the dose reduction knowing she'll probably clear the bounce tomorrow or wait and start the reduction after AMPS on Friday? Thanks!
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 REDUC ??

What Libby was referring to was "shooting through the bounce." Sometimes we hold the old dose if there is a big bounce to speed recovery, not quite the same thing as dosing based on the preshot.
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3 55 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 REDUC ??

So should I shoot the 1u dose and shoot through the bounce or shoot the new dose tonight??
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 STILL REDUC ??

I'm not an advisor so I can't tell you what to do, but I think Libby gave you the go ahead if you want to.
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 STILL REDUC ??

It is your choice whether to shoot through the bounce (i.e., shoot the 1.0u dose) this last time or to reduce to your new dose.
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 STILL REDUC ??

Thanks, Ann!!

Sienne..thank you but I'm not experienced enough to know what is best for Gracie...and that is my bottom line. I don't know the pros/cons of each. If I shoot through the dose then she might come off the bounce tonight but then I don't know what that does tomorrow. If I don't shoot through it and give her a lower dose, then will she stay at a higher dose tonight and in to tomorrow? I have no experience to base a decision on. Thank you for your help.
 
Re: 9/30Gracie AMPS259 +3.25 44 +4 106 +11 402 STILL REDUC ??

Shooting through the bounce tonight means that you may shorten the period that Gracie spends in the higher numbers. It shouldn't have a big effect tomorrow since you will be reducing the dose in the AM. However, there will be a bit of overflow in the shed that will effect the AM dose since it takes a little while for the shed to empty out for the reduced dose. If you reduce tonight, Gracie may spend a little longer in higher numbers but you should be able to save-a-strip and get to sleep at a reasonable hour.

There really isn't a right or wrong here.
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie PMPS 347

I decided to shoot the reduced dose of .75u as her PMPS was down and I decided to not shoot through the bounce with the higher dose.
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie PMPS 347

Hi! Quite the day for you! You sure are getting a crash course over the past few days. Very nice job too - you guys are doing very well with Gracie.

And I will reiterate what Ann said about the mini meals - they DO work, but it is not instantaneous... takes time, so be patient... it was a few months for Mannie.

Hey Gracie - you been diving again? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie PMPS 347

Hope everyone is having a fine evening. We had a nice dinner and Gracie has perked up since her 402 number.

Michelle....we will keep doing the minimeals and will be more patient. Poor little Gracie acts like she's starving so we've been feeding her more than just 1 tsp at her minimeals but are trying to stick to lower carb. I was so tired last night that when the alarm went off at 3:30 am to give her a +8 meal, I stumbled in, fed, rinsed dish, and collapsed btb sound asleep! Mannie...Binks and I went shopping today...great fun but we missed you!

Thanks, Kim...I'll google it. I appreciate you checking in.

Hey Celi and Binks...interesting day for us. More things to learn...as I'm sure you know.

Well..DH is taking over again so I'm hitting the sack for some zzzzzs. Sweet dreams and see you in LL tomorrow!
 
Re: 9/30 Gracie PMPS 347 +2 296

Marjorie, I didn't see you and Gracie on the list for the calendar. You should sen in a pix of that cutie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top