9/30, Binie, AMPS 387, +3 295, +6 249

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-29-binie-amps-447-3-381.294453/#post-3210365

Good evening,

the day today was a bit lower than the cycles before with pink and yellow numbers. We'll see what the night brings. Binie had some diarrhea in the morning, I think that is the effect of the new antibiotic. I used to use healing earth in situations like these but I read that healing earth should not be used with kidney problems. So I switched to psyllium husk powder, but I have to find the right dose. I don't want her to constipate, so I started with mixing a pinch in her wet food.

Her appetite is a bit less which seems to be an effect of the antibiotic. She is also quite tired. We are only on day two, so this worries me. I measured ketones in the morning but they have been o.k. Thank god. I am still struggling to get low carb wet food inside her so I allow her to eat the medium carb wet food (10 %) she likes better rather than eating the low carb kibble in this situation.

I really hope we manage to get through the next 12 days.

The wounds on her breast and arm are really good, I don't see her licking anymore. Seems the procaine did wonders.

Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Adding my comment to today's post instead.
I wonder why her overall bg is so high.
You reduced the dose (as per SLGS). It takes 4-6 cycles for the larger depot to deplete after a reduction. So you are probably seeing what 1.5 units can do. And she still might be bouncing a little from the night of the 27th. Hopefully that bounce will be over today.

Paws crossed the new meds work quickly.

10% is still technically LC food, MC starts at 11%. I wouldn't worry about the 10% - it's most important that she eat.
 
Adding my comment to today's post instead.

You reduced the dose (as per SLGS). It takes 4-6 cycles for the larger depot to deplete after a reduction. So you are probably seeing what 1.5 units can do. And she still might be bouncing a little from the night of the 27th. Hopefully that bounce will be over today.

Paws crossed the new meds work quickly.

10% is still technically LC food, MC starts at 11%. I wouldn't worry about the 10% - it's most important that she eat.

Thank you so much for checking on us Wendy! So difficult at the moment, to find the right dose. The bounces are brutal. Hope you have a nice day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-29-binie-amps-447-3-381.294453/#post-3210365

Good evening,

the day today was a bit lower than the cycles before with pink and yellow numbers. We'll see what the night brings. Binie had some diarrhea in the morning, I think that is the effect of the new antibiotic. I used to use healing earth in situations like these but I read that healing earth should not be used with kidney problems. So I switched to psyllium husk powder, but I have to find the right dose. I don't want her to constipate, so I started with mixing a pinch in her wet food.

Her appetite is a bit less which seems to be an effect of the antibiotic. She is also quite tired. We are only on day two, so this worries me. I measured ketones in the morning but they have been o.k. Thank god. I am still struggling to get low carb wet food inside her so I allow her to eat the medium carb wet food (10 %) she likes better rather than eating the low carb kibble in this situation.

I really hope we manage to get through the next 12 days.

The wounds on her breast and arm are really good, I don't see her licking anymore. Seems the procaine did wonders.

Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike,
Paws crossed that Binie can tolerate the meds for her infection. It's good you are trying the psyllium husk. I hope that helps. You can always give a bit more if she does ok with it. Good to start low and work higher if needed.

I hope she comes down from the pink again to see more blues. I am so happy to hear ketones are not a problem.
As Wendy said, the 10% food is fine, still LC and if she eats it, then great!!

Sending you both lots of hugs and a kiss to Binie on her cute little nose:kiss:. Ivy sends some purrs to both of you, too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-29-binie-amps-447-3-381.294453/#post-3210365

Good evening,

the day today was a bit lower than the cycles before with pink and yellow numbers. We'll see what the night brings. Binie had some diarrhea in the morning, I think that is the effect of the new antibiotic. I used to use healing earth in situations like these but I read that healing earth should not be used with kidney problems. So I switched to psyllium husk powder, but I have to find the right dose. I don't want her to constipate, so I started with mixing a pinch in her wet food.

Her appetite is a bit less which seems to be an effect of the antibiotic. She is also quite tired. We are only on day two, so this worries me. I measured ketones in the morning but they have been o.k. Thank god. I am still struggling to get low carb wet food inside her so I allow her to eat the medium carb wet food (10 %) she likes better rather than eating the low carb kibble in this situation.

I really hope we manage to get through the next 12 days.

The wounds on her breast and arm are really good, I don't see her licking anymore. Seems the procaine did wonders.

Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
a probiotic might help combat the tummy troubles and just help in general (?) :bighug::cat:.. esp good to take when on antibiotics :woot:.. so hope feeling better soon.
 
a probiotic might help combat the tummy troubles and just help in general (?) :bighug::cat:.. esp good to take when on antibiotics :woot:.. so hope feeling better soon.

Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I'm already giving an probiotic. As she has been on antibiotics such a long time, that became bit of a daily supplement. And you are right, gut health is so important! Have a nice day! :)
 
Back
Top