9/30, Binie, AMPS 387, +3 295, +6 249

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Heike & BInie, Sep 30, 2024.

  1. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-29-binie-amps-447-3-381.294453/#post-3210365

    Good evening,

    the day today was a bit lower than the cycles before with pink and yellow numbers. We'll see what the night brings. Binie had some diarrhea in the morning, I think that is the effect of the new antibiotic. I used to use healing earth in situations like these but I read that healing earth should not be used with kidney problems. So I switched to psyllium husk powder, but I have to find the right dose. I don't want her to constipate, so I started with mixing a pinch in her wet food.

    Her appetite is a bit less which seems to be an effect of the antibiotic. She is also quite tired. We are only on day two, so this worries me. I measured ketones in the morning but they have been o.k. Thank god. I am still struggling to get low carb wet food inside her so I allow her to eat the medium carb wet food (10 %) she likes better rather than eating the low carb kibble in this situation.

    I really hope we manage to get through the next 12 days.

    The wounds on her breast and arm are really good, I don't see her licking anymore. Seems the procaine did wonders.

    Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Adding my comment to today's post instead.
    You reduced the dose (as per SLGS). It takes 4-6 cycles for the larger depot to deplete after a reduction. So you are probably seeing what 1.5 units can do. And she still might be bouncing a little from the night of the 27th. Hopefully that bounce will be over today.

    Paws crossed the new meds work quickly.

    10% is still technically LC food, MC starts at 11%. I wouldn't worry about the 10% - it's most important that she eat.
     
  3. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    Thank you so much for checking on us Wendy! So difficult at the moment, to find the right dose. The bounces are brutal. Hope you have a nice day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    SmallestSparrow likes this.
  4. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Hi Heike,
    Paws crossed that Binie can tolerate the meds for her infection. It's good you are trying the psyllium husk. I hope that helps. You can always give a bit more if she does ok with it. Good to start low and work higher if needed.

    I hope she comes down from the pink again to see more blues. I am so happy to hear ketones are not a problem.
    As Wendy said, the 10% food is fine, still LC and if she eats it, then great!!

    Sending you both lots of hugs and a kiss to Binie on her cute little nose:kiss:. Ivy sends some purrs to both of you, too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  5. SmallestSparrow

    SmallestSparrow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2024
    Hugs and purrs from Methos—he and I are sending positive thoughts —you’re doing such a good job with her
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  6. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    @Staci & Ivy @SmallestSparrow

    Thank you so much Staci and Colleen for your sweet support! It helps a lot. And good news, she seems to go down tonight and she was eating after a walk outside on her own.

    I hope Ivy, Methos and Tammuz are fine! :bighug::cat::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy and SmallestSparrow like this.
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  8. SmallestSparrow

    SmallestSparrow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2024
    Why oh why are there no celebratory horn and streamers emoji here.

    imagine a few then :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy and Heike & BInie like this.
  9. Mikey’sDad

    Mikey’sDad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2021
    Sending positive thoughts for Binie! :)Tom
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  10. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
  11. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    a probiotic might help combat the tummy troubles and just help in general (?) :bighug::cat:.. esp good to take when on antibiotics :woot:.. so hope feeling better soon.
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  12. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I'm already giving an probiotic. As she has been on antibiotics such a long time, that became bit of a daily supplement. And you are right, gut health is so important! Have a nice day! :)
     
    kitten68 likes this.
  13. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    oh well in that case haha cool :bighug: u too!!..
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.

Share This Page