9/30 9/30Lovey Dosing for tonight? Try 1.75 or keep 1.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I gave 1.5 this morning because I was at work. I got high numbers but it could be a bounce and similar to the numbers I was getting on 1.5. I did the 1.5 for 6 cycles. I was a little worried the 1.75 would kick in more and Lovey would get a low number with no one home. I got some nice midcycle numbers. I had a 266 point drop from preshot to + 4.25. It seems like a steep jump compared to other spreadsheets that I see. f If the preshot was lower, would it be too much insulin. I ended up with a high AMPS about 413. Maybe a bounce? I got a +9 after work todayand it was 310.

I am trying to figure out if I should give 1.75 this evening again since I can monitor or do you think I should keep 1.5. Do I have to keep it 5 more cycles or gave I just give it 3 more. Is that OK? or is it too much bouncing around.
Some of the members thought I could have stayed on 1.5 a day or two longer and see what happened?

My husband just got furloughed for a bit so he might be home to check the 1.75 tomorrow during the day. I will find out later. He might be able to do one test for me at +4 and then call me from work and I can come home and intervene if necessary. I am not 100% he could do it alone. He has done the paw testing with me.





Lovey has been on Lantus for days after 3 months on ProInc.

I was happy and surprised to see blue numbers today.
This is my second cycle of 1.75 after 6 cycles of 1.5. Before this I did 1.5 for 6 cycles. The drop from preshot to +4 was 266 points. Is that too much? I imagine
I will get a AMPS in the 200's for tomorrow morning. Can I shoot 1.75? Should this be taken into consideration. will 1.75 bring the numbers to low is I am probably starting with a much lower preshot? Does lantus work that way? Tomorrow would be my third cycle of 1.75 so could it be more potent? I love these numbers, but I will be at work tomorrow. On 1.5 for 6 cycles, I got nadirs in the 200's and half of cycle in the 300's- 400's. Maybe, the insulin depot is more filled now? I usually give the insulin at 6:30 in the morning. I better get to bed.
Any suggestions on what dose to give Lovey? I may have moved too fast?




If I go back to 1.5, do I need to hold it for at least 6 cycles? or maybe 1.5 is too much with a lower preshot as well and the depot in place?



PMPS 368

+4 .25 102 food given at 4 hours


+5.5 135 gave more food at 5 since I couldn't get another reading right away.


+ 8 (almost) 162
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

Catherine, I only have a minute...
See if you can get a test now, so that you can see which direction the numbers are heading when you get your normal AMPS test in another hour?
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

I got a 162 at + 8

and now at almost PMPS 413 Bounce, I took a few ear pricks or stress?
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

I am hoping those with more experience will be online by shot time.

You can drop back down to 1.5 if that makes you more comfortable of course, especially if you aren't home to test today.

The numbers you got last night don't indicate that you "need to", but it all comes down to what you feel good about doing.
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

I would think "bounce" is what you are seeing.
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

If it were me, I would stick with the 1.75 as she will likely bounce most of the day. And if I were nervous, I would leave lots of food out for her for just in case she comes down fast and needs it. Your comfort level does matter. You hold the syringe and you make the decisions. You can also give a one time temporary reduced dose (what we call a BCS) this morning.

I always tell people to get a +10 or +11 to compare that to the PS test to see if the cat is surfing, rising, or dropping. That helps alot to give you peace of mind to know which direction she is going.

Edited to fix gender and grammar :oops:
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

Thank you very much dyana. You don't think the drop was too much
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

A fast drop from a high number could cause a bounce. But, once she's in lower numbers she won't drop as far.
Like a cat in the 400s can drop to the 100s, but a cat in the 100s isn't going to drop to the -200s. Once they get to lower numbers the amount of the points drop usually slows down significantly.
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

Thanks again. Have a good day. How is J.D. doing?
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

He went high again last night :roll: and Ginger who is only nine years old is out in the morning darkness checking out the Sylvester who is more than twice her age, but she seems to be in love with him.

Have a good day!
 
Re: Need Dosing Help After Low NUmbers? Time Sensitve?

His yellow numbers are lower though. Enjoy work with J.D.
 
catherine, it looks like your subject line is asking for advice for tonight, but i think you've already made the call because it's listed in Lovey's ss.

with Lantus, once you've made a dosing change you probably want to stick with it for at least 6 cycles unless you have low numbers (under 50). i understand why you wanted the lower dose this morning. we all get comfort zone - as Dyana said!!

do you understand what dyana was explaining about the drop in BGs? one of the things that happens with Lantus in a cat that's at a good dose is that the numbers will flatten out considerably. I know exactly what you mean about starting from a high number and dropping hundreds of points. i wondered that same thing. If the preshot was 400 and the nadir was 100, did that mean giving the shot at 200 was gonna kill my cat? it's interesting the way it works, though - hypothetically speaking, shooting a 200 might still only bring about a 100 nadir, and shooting a 100 might end up in a nadir of 80. the cycle just flattens. it's not to say that you disregard the preshot number, but Lantus dosing is based primarily upon the nadir. so when looking at your dosing, you look to see what nadirs you're getting from the dose.

General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

With Lovey's nadir last night around 102, you might want to keep holding the dose to see what it does. i agree with carl that you're seeing a bounce today from those nice blue numbers. her body isn't used to being that low.
 
Thank you so much Julie. The members have helped me a great deal as I transferred to a new insulin and to ear testing.

It was past shot time and I didn't hear a reply yet so I decided to go with the 1.75. dyana and carl thought it was Ok as well yesterday. I tend to need a lot of reassurance. ;-) I am used to Pro Zinc which works more on the preshot than Lantus. Your explanation of a good dose flattening out was helpful. Dyana also told me to leave out a nice amount of food.
For some reason, I couldn't get Lovey's ear to bleed when I tried to test at hour 4 and 5 to try to find the nadir tonight? I have been having the ear to bleed. I transferred to e ear testing from paw testing just last week. I had to prick too many times and my cat was getting upset. I got in a test at 6 hours and the ear bleed nicely. I got a 214. I may have had a blue number earlier. Today I fed at +2 and +4. when I got the 102, my first feeding was at +4. that may influence the numbers a little.

Have a good night Julie.
 
Julie, I was looking over your spreadsheet and profile. you have been through a lot with your cat Punkin. I am so sorry for your loss. You
put so much into his care and treatment. I was looking at the video. You have another kitty from the human society.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top