9/3 LT AMPS 85/101 PMPS 135 2+ 69 +2.75 70 +3.25 69 +3.75 72 +4.2 73 4.75 92 +6 155

See if he is rising on his own.

With TR you could still shoot regular dose however, you've never shot anything close to that low a pre-shot so if he hasn't come up some, it's up to you if you choose to shoot or not. If you shoot, you'll need to monitor closely and possibly steer for awhile.
 
Shooting an 85 on the Pet Test is no different than shooting 50-60 on a human meter. Using TR protocol 68/70 would be the cut off for a no shoot with the pet meter.
 
0.25 in. I suppose we don't want to go backwards in our journey, but we also will monitor closely for hypo's today. I have plenty of food and will mix some HC with his regular LC food to get some about 9%.
 
Justin, I'm just going to get in prepped in case I need it:). I'll be patient and hopefully LT will show me his surfing ability today - not that he's done too much of that in the past. He's a lot happier now that he's had his chow.
 
Good morning! I'm curious what the next reduction will be. Half of .25??? Or nothingo_O
I hope LT can get off insulin so you can get needed rest and routine. As soon as I said that, I guess we ultimately hope the same for all of us!!!
I know I need better, more consistent rest. We are trying!

ETA: I believe the best way to get off insulin is to go to the smallest measurable amount (a drop), but I'm thinking it may still apply that every cat is different.
 
Last edited:
Good morning! I'm curious what the next reduction will be. Half of .25??? Or nothingo_O
I hope LT can get off insulin so you can get needed rest and routine. As soon as I said that, I guess we ultimately hope the same for all of us!!!
I know I need better, more consistent rest. We are trying!

ETA: I believe the best way to get off insulin is to go to the smallest measurable amount (a drop), but I'm thinking it may still apply that every cat is different.
That is our hope for all on here. I think we saw early somewhat dramatic results because LT had always been a kibble kitty and now he's on all wet food. He's going to do what he's going to do, DH and I are just along for the ride.
 
Tina is feeling better, and actually up for some thievery. I have to watch more closely now! Trying to outsmart animals isn't always successful, obviously.
Is LT feeling well?
 
LT is looking just awesome this morning, great job shooting a green! He's having a nice green surf... love it!!

Keep it safe LT!! no diving allowed!! :D:D
 
DH and I are just along for the ride.

Boy ain't that the truth! I've felt that way for nearly two years!

You're right about the food change - it can cause those numbers to drop nicely - so be watchful of that.

If you get low on strips for the AT, would you consider using a human meter?

Hope you're having a good day :)
 
Boy ain't that the truth! I've felt that way for nearly two years!

You're right about the food change - it can cause those numbers to drop nicely - so be watchful of that.

If you get low on strips for the AT, would you consider using a human meter?

Hope you're having a good day :)

I have a PetTest (PT) meter for LT and one for his drooler diabetic brother, Tucker. I've thought about the OneDrop meter, but because I have a lot of experience with the meter and have been told by a higher-up at Advocate that, for cats, it compares favorably to the AT2, I suppose I'll stay with it a while longer.
 
I know you shot a green on the 27th but today's was even lower so you've earned these!
upload_2019-4-17_18-5-3.jpeg
 
I have a PetTest (PT) meter for LT and one for his drooler diabetic brother, Tucker. I've thought about the OneDrop meter, but because I have a lot of experience with the meter and have been told by a higher-up at Advocate that, for cats, it compares favorably to the AT2, I suppose I'll stay with it a while longer.

Oh yes, I remember now! I also use the OneDrop system - love it! Never have to worry about running out of strips! The numbers are good as well... :)
 
LT has drifted off the sand and into the lagoon. Silly boy deciding to do a little drop so his mom has to check again. Lots of pokes today, but consoling him with tiny pieces of Pure Bites salmon.
 
LT has drifted off the sand and into the lagoon. Silly boy deciding to do a little drop so his mom has to check again. Lots of pokes today, but consoling him with tiny pieces of Pure Bites salmon.

Yes, I caught on early that Luci too, will work for food :) She just loves those freeze dried treats! Glad to hear LT finds them tasty too...
 
A little bit before dinner, LT threw up some brown, food smelling, liquid with another hairball. He's done this before, but usually not this much. He's eaten and had his insulin and is feeling fine. I'll watch his BG as usual. Is there a diabetic safe hairball treatment I can give him, ie not raise his sugar?
 
I gave a tsp. MC food (15%) I absolutely have to go out of town tomorrow about 2 hours after his shot. I'll separate the gravy out, but I just wanted to get it in him. I canceled last week because of LT. Oh no...…….
 
No one to monitor on 9/4. I had already scheduled a willing friend to come on Friday to learn how to test for when we are gone next week to pick up our daughter at the airport. I just don't think I can get her ready to go before my DH and I leave tomorrow. We'll be back by tomorrow's PMPS.
 
+3.25=69; gave 1/2 tsp LC food with 1 tsp. MC (15%) gravy. test 20 minutes from now
Holding steady which is great. Be sure to document in the comments section of the SS what/when you fed.

Check this condo in the AM before you shoot. I am hoping someone will chime in. If not, I would skip since you are out of town unless there will be some one to monitor. I have to get to bed. You are doing great. 2 hours without food and maintaining (holding steady or climbing BG numbers) before it is safe to stop testing .

Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA)

I hope someone will post :bighug::bighug:

Stay safe LT :cat:
Suzanne, you may need a cup o' java.
 
No one to monitor on 9/4. I had already scheduled a willing friend to come on Friday to learn how to test for when we are gone next week to pick up our daughter at the airport. I just don't think I can get her ready to go before my DH and I leave tomorrow. We'll be back by tomorrow's PMPS.
Again, unless someone with more experience says otherwise, skip AM shot and be sure to leave food down (maybe, even MC).

Better a day too high than a moment too low :bighug:
 
Ok, for in the a.m, we'll skip - can't risk hurting my boy. I'll check before I leave tomorrow which will be at +14 and will leave out some food. Plus, I have someone coming to walk the dog and I'll have her check in on him.

Thank g-d you chimed in :bighug:
I feel better now. I hate to have to skip after all the hard work we've put in, but I just can't cancel this meeting a 2nd time and LT has to be safe.
 
Skip tomorrow....call it a furshot and let his depot drain a bit

See where you're at when PMPS rolls around

Another benefit of skipping the AM shot....if you want to adjust his shot times earlier, you can shoot the PMPS (if he's high enough) when you want to.
 
Back
Top