? 9/3, Jake, 18, Lantus, 2.75 u, AMPS 369, +2 286, +4 170, +6 97 TR.

Sharon & Jake

Member Since 2022
Wondering what dose Lantus I should shoot this morning. He was at 2.75 but last night his PMPS was 60 so I waited and took it again and it was 64 so I shot 1 unit. I left out food with some honey and maple syrup. +8 was 130. I’m wondering if he’s ready for another reduction this morning. He seems to be doing really well on Lantus.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1S15-dJ5nHpXmzr2qcIBX2yg6u3q6q79_l3qQ8A0dQdI/edit

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-30-jake-18-lantus-3-u-amps-83-3-48-tr.267771/
 
Reductions are earned if under 50. He had a nice cycle last night. I would not reduce. However since you skipped and gave a reduced dose last night shoot through the bounce this morning and unless still high tonight I would try a reduction to 2.5. It might not hold but if not he can go right back up. Lantus likes consistency. Better to try this than skip and shoot reduced doses.
@Bandit's Mom What do you think?
 
Last night I did the 1 unit at 8:10. His normal time is 7:30. I just checked his sugar and he’s 130. Seems pretty good for only getting 1 unit last night. I’d like to keep him on the 7:30 schedule because some days of the week I have 8am appointments that take me 20-25 minutes to get to. Thanks for all the help. I’m going on a trip in 2.5 weeks so I’m trying really hard to get him regulated for the sitter who will come twice a day. I just bought a timed feeder so we can set it to a blank space 2 hours before feeding
 
Considering he was in low greens in the second cycle after a skip, it looks like he may be headed lower in dosing. I agree with Elise that you can try 2.5U from today. I won't be surprised if he heads lower in dosing. :-)
 
Considering he was in low greens in the second cycle after a skip, it looks like he may be headed lower in dosing. I agree with Elise that you can try 2.5U from today. I won't be surprised if he heads lower in dosing. :)
Thanks. I gave him 2.75 this morning. I’ll keep an eye on him today and if he’s good I’ll do 2.5 tonight. I upped his reconcile/prozac to a half lol after talking to the vet and we’re on our secondary of no litter box problem. And he’s grooming again. Looks like he’s improving.
 
His numbers are good today. +6 down to 97. Better than yesterday so I’m expecting low tonight.. we’ll see if the trend continues. Expecting to get to 2.5
 
Thanks. I gave him 2.75 this morning. I’ll keep an eye on him today and if he’s good I’ll do 2.5 tonight. I upped his reconcile/prozac to a half lol after talking to the vet and we’re on our secondary of no litter box problem. And he’s grooming again. Looks like he’s improving.
His PMPS is 62. I’m thinking of doing just 1/2 unit tonight. Definitely going down in the morning to 2.5
 
Wow! he is definitely done with 2.75U. Did you give 0.5U tonight?

I think you might want to try an even lower dose tomorrow morning. Say 2U. You can always go back up if needed. The idea is to find a dose you can shoot consistently shoot AM and PM without skips and token shots.
 
I skipped tonight. You really think 2 U tomorrow. I’m good with that. Rather that than having to skip at night.
 
After 2 consecutive nights of a skip and a token dose, he is at 62. That tells me he wants a dose much lower than 2.75U. How much is anybody's guess. So we try a dose and see if it sticks or whether he needs more or less! :-)
 
After 2 consecutive nights of a skip and a token dose, he is at 62. That tells me he wants a dose much lower than 2.75U. How much is anybody's guess. So we try a dose and see if it sticks or whether he needs more or less! :)
I agree. Today I’m going with 2 units and seeing how he does. Maybe we’re on the way to remission!
 
Back
Top