9/28 KT PMPS 223 +1-260 (Shot light)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good Morning LLand! Yesterday's bounces

What a scary surprise KT handed me this morning!

+12 - 90 - didn't believe it so retested, was 86
+12.5 - 98

I haz no BOS tuday so I'm stallin'.....15 mins at a time. He is rising but I still ain't shootin' into a 98! He's been threatening little by little to take this dive.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 NO BOS HERE-STALLING

Good luck!!! KT- what are you doing????
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 NO BOS HERE-STALLING

Looking at KT's SS, I understand why you are hesitating. I would encourage you to stall until you see numbers are rising and in the blues -- maybe 120 or so. Basically, you want to see that numbers are on the rise. However, you need to keep in mind that your PM shot will be 12 hours from the time you shoot this morning and I know you have some limit on PM testing. I would not like to see you skip given that you're beginning to see some momentum.

I'm going to be heading out soon. Please take a look at the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers if there's no one around to guide you.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

I'm around and can help you. Just let me know...please post your numbers as you get them and, as Sienne said, as soon as he gets above 120.... SHOOOOOTTT.

You are going to be there to monitor and have plenty of strips, HC food, karo, etc, right?

I'll hang out with ya ;-)

And thank you so much for your support and kind words to us in the last few days. It has meant alot.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

Still stalling - +13 - 86

He's SO full of himself this morning too. He's jumped both brothers wanting to play and just swatted one of the puppies on the butt as she ran by. Brothers aren't 'morning' cats - they gave him dirty looks and are now under their respective beds gone btb.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

Lyresa:

How long can you stall? I'm here all morning so whatever you can do, that's fine.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

Thanks Sienne and Marge! Marge, BIG hugs to all of you this morning too....

I'm prepared for whatever KT throws at me.... :-D Got PLENTY of strips THANKS TO LLEF! Got hypo kit together long ago - fully stocked but don't expect to need it. I can't believe he's STILL this low - he ate a whole 3oz can of FFeast fishy something PLUS a little bit of Friskies turkey pate. There should have been a food spike starting at 13...
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Lyresa:

How long can you stall? I'm here all morning so whatever you can do, that's fine.

Can't stall past 10am as it affects my pm cycle. As Sienne said, I have pm time restrictions due to hubby's illness. I really need to add that to our profile.

.........another pokie time...brb...
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

I'm sorry...I missed that you had fed him. How long ago did you feed?

eta: for future reference, if you stall, don't feed ;-) ;-) We all want to because they are hungry and gosh darn it is breffis time!!!

The caveat to that not feeding if you are stalling is the 40s. If you ever get a 40s PS, then wait 15 mins, retest, and if he's not up, it's probably a good idea to get him up with some food.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

just fyi for next time, when you're stalling you don't feed them. what you're looking for is to see that they are clearly rising on their own because the insulin is wearing off. once you've got food in them it's hard to know what is going on "under" the food. fish has almost no carbs, though - i think it's something like 2%, so that might not affect her much.

if you're going to be around during the day to monitor, i'd go ahead and shoot - but of course, it's up to you. see what marje says.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 NO BOS-STILL STALLING

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'm sorry...I missed that you had fed him. How long ago did you feed?

He ate between +12.5 and +12.75.....

He just handed me another 85 now at +13.5...still stalling...

Edit to add - THANK YOU BOTH! This morning is a bad hubby morning also so was rushing things (fed) before had to deal with hubby's paralysis attack. I'm running back and forth like a crazy woman right now...luckily hubby's pulling out of this one right now...THANK HEAVEN!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 -STILL STALLIN

He's just got a really nice surf going here.

If you get out an hour from the feeding and he gets up to 120, I'd give it 15 more mins, get a second rising number, and then shoot.

When you say you can't stall past 10 am, could you please tell me how many hours after when you normally would have shot that is? So ...would it be +14?
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 -STILL STALLIN

Yes, +14. I'm Central Standard time....but if I need to still stall, I'll just have to deal with it and work him back...
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 -STILL STALLIN

Hi guys .. wow what a morning rush! I hope KT surfs this beautifully the rest of the day for you! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 -STILL STALLIN

So you are coming up on +14 now and he's still surfing.....

There's nothing that says you can't stall longer than +14 but most of us don't just because of time schedules. I know you don't want to lose momentum by skipping and he is the same as he was at +12. Since you have stalled, it is like a reduction. You can choose to do a couple things:

1. shoot a token dose (say .25u less) and get a +1, +2 to start with
2. shoot his regular dose but you'll have to monitor the heck out of him..in fact, I'd do a +.5, +1, +2
3. skip and pick up tonight at your normal shot time or if you wish to change it, you could move it to whatever time you want.

If you pick door #1 or door #2, you can shoot early by 15 mins tonight. And then tomorrow, you can shoot each 12 hour cycle 15 mins early or you can just do 30 mins early once a day starting tomorrow evening.

How do you feel about it?

eta: if you shoot...I'll still be here to help you through any low numbers.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 +14-95 STALLIN

+14 - 95! Still a surfin' - and I'm still stalling. Hubby's going down again too - that huge potassium dose didn't 'reconnect' him.........CRAP!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 +14-95 STALLIN

I'm so sorry about DH...I hope you can get him up.

Did you see my choices for you on shooting? I believe we cross posted.

eta: Lyresa...I have to feed Grace. BRB.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 +14-95 STALLIN

So my regular dose right now is 2.75u - shoot 2.5? That still seems high to me but this is new dance steps for me...

EDIT TO ADD: I shot 2 units at 10:10 (+14.25) BG # was 95...
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 +14-95 STALLIN

You can shoot less if you are more comfortable doing so. It has to be what you are comfy with but remember two things:

1. you've stalled two hours so that acts like a reduction
2. you are going to shoot less

You still have to be vigilant because sometimes....even if you skip....the carryover from the higher dose will still affect this cycle.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 +14-95 STALLIN

Marge - see edit above. I went ahead and shot....and am going to test test test for a while. Hubby is 'reconnecting' now so he's starting to be able to move on his own.

I'm still in MY pj's...too much excitement for me to find my clothes this morning.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMBG 90 +12.5-98 +13-86 +13.-86 +14-95 STALLIN

Lyresa:

You must have posted your edit as I was submitting my last post cuz your edit wasn't there yet.

Great job. You have your hands full and so I'm glad you shot what you are comfortable with. Please be sure you get a +1 and let's see where he's going.

I'll still be here. You can change your subject line to AMPS 95. You can show it on your SS as +14.25 under (AMPS) so folks know you stalled.

Glad DH is reconnecting. You're amazing!!!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 - Reduced Dose at +14

THANK YOU MARJE! You all don't know how comforting it is to have help with this. I'm not used to having anyone else help with any issue - I have to figure it out all by myself then always second guess the outcome. I had to figure out hubby's potassium doses, his required meds, his foods, everything because the 99.99% of the medical community doesn't know about hypokalemia periodic paralysis....including any doctors within 200 miles of us. His doctor just does what I ask.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 - Reduced Dose at +14

We're so glad you found us so that we can help you....you have enough on your plate. I cannot imagine what responsibility that is. Your DH is a very lucky man but I am certain he knows this. So sad about the medical community.

I wish for you both a peaceful day and and great cycle for KT. I'll keep checking in.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 - Reduced Dose am+14

Doing great.....if he will let you and you will feel better about it...you can do a +1.5.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 - Reduced Dose am+14

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Doing great.....if he will let you and you will feel better about it...you can do a +1.5.

I think I could pokie this cat every 15 minutes without him getting upset with me! NEVER would have believed it! I'm about to do a +2. He's still giving everyone around here heck which is what he USED to do long ago........his stuffed mouse has been under the dryer 200 times already.

+2 - 50!! YIKES!!!!!!! Breakin' out the gravy....
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! YIKES! WHERE WE GOIN?

Very nice job this morning. When things settle down, do take a look at the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers. Sorry for not mentioning to not feed -- bad assumption on my part that you knew this.

I'd get a +2.5. KT seems to mean business. I'd love to see him get the dose reduction. I'd pull out the HC. I think you're going to need it!

If you could post by +10, depending on whether KT bounces, you may be able to shoot early in order to get back closer to schedule.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! YIKES! WHERE WE GOIN?

Yes...please give him a little HC gravy.
Pls recheck in 30. Thanks!!

The +1.5 would have let you catch hiim dropping but I do know you are taking care of him and DH.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! YIKES! WHERE WE GOIN?

lyresa, i just want to give you kudos for all the caretaking you do. i know how hard it can be and you do so well. good job!

i'm sure kt will be more than happy to get the gravy. that's the best part of punkin's life! "wahoo, gravy!"
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 - GRAVY & KARO?

+2.5 - 48! Damn this is scary! He got gravy - should I add a little karo?

All - I KNEW not to feed him so this was MY fault, not anything ANYONE did or didn't say.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 - GRAVY & KARO?

Lyresa:

It's ok....really...just breathe. Give him a little more gravy and you can add a drop of karo but remember it will wear off so you have to stay vigilant. Or you can just give more HC gravy and give him a chance to come up. There isn't any difference between 48 and 50. You're doing great.

And pls recheck in 30.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 - GRAVY & KARO?

+3 - 61

He had about 1 tbsp gravy with a big drop of Karo in it at 12:35 (+2.6ish)....

THIS is the day I knew was coming - both hubby and KT needing watched. Thought I was mentally prepared-I'm better than I THOUGHT but it's still scary. Hubby doesn't understand why I'm so concerned - to him, this is where we were trying to get and we're there so the world is perfect. He doesn't seem to get 'hormone' vs. 'chemical' meds so doesn't understand the potential fluctuations.

I sure am glad I have YOU!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 +3-61 Gravy+Kar

Fabulous.....and you are welcome!! Someone has taken us all through it and one day you'll help someone.

Ok...now the fun part....I don't know when he normally onsets. So you may see him come back down. Since he tolerates it so well, I'd stay on top of it and keep testing every 30 mins until you get a couple rising numbers. I will still be here checking in on you every 30 mins. If he goes back down, don't panic....just breathe and give him more HC gravy.

You are doing wonderful!!!! We never know when they will throw us a turn in the road so I am hoping DH is doing better now so you don't wear yourself out.

See you in 30.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 +3-61 Gravy+Kar

Lyresa,

I've been watching, silently rooting you on, and learning a lot. You're amazing!! Weezer starts lantus today. I'm getting my dancing shoes out!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74

You all amaze me - how did I get so lucky to land here? Wait, I DO know - you all are the answer to my 'how can I do this?' prayer. What a wonderful gift every one of you are.

We're rising a little now but he's had HC gravy from dog food AND a drop of Karo so neither will keep it up there long will it?

+3.5 - 74

I'll do another test at +4 - if that one's still rising, I'm going to give his ears a break for an hour between instead if that's OK.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50!!! +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74

You are doing super!!!

Exactly....if you get a rising number at +4 then give him a break of an hour. You do have to keep an eye out for the karo wearing off and numbers turning around on you, though. Also, it is possible that with the reduced dose, his shed is draining a little so you may see his numbers go ahead and start up. Don't you love this??? :lol:

YAY for you!!!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74 +4-9

OK, I got to take THREE breaths all in a row! WHEW!

+4 - 93 Much more comfortable with that....

KT seems to be just fine with these numbers. He's been dipping about +10 - I'll check him approx. hourly for rest of the day. Hubby is starting another paralysis attack so I know what I'll be doing for the next little bit....I can breathe thru those tho'.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74 +4-9

Good...I'm glad all is ok and he is at numbers that will give you breathing room. If he really starts to come up alot, you don't even have to test hourly.

Hope DH is ok and you get some time to rest.

Since all is good now, I think I'm going to do a few more condos and Mike and I are going to go out for a bit.

You did great today.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74 +4-9

Hug Mike for me so YOU get one too. THANK YOU for sitting with me thru this. I'm a HUGE 'pay it forward' person - I'll return it three-fold.....
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74 +4-9

Thank you and I will....he has good hugs :-D :-D

You are so welcome; and I know you will. You already do just by being you and being here.

Healing vines for your DH....you have my utmost admiration.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74 +4-9

Whooohooo!! You and KT did great!!!

KT broke the 50 barrier and gets a dose reduction!!

I'm glad Marje was around to coach. The first couple of times your kitty is in these lower numbers can be a bit nerve wracking. It does get easier -- lots easier!!

Remember to post at +10 so we can sort out whether you can make up some of the stall time.
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +3-61 +4-93 +5-118 NOW surf!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Whooohooo!! You and KT did great!!!

KT broke the 50 barrier and gets a dose reduction!!

I'm glad Marje was around to coach. The first couple of times your kitty is in these lower numbers can be a bit nerve wracking. It does get easier -- lots easier!!

Remember to post at +10 so we can sort out whether you can make up some of the stall time.

a BIT nerve wracking? Now that's an understatement.... :-D THANKS Sienne!

+5 - 118
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +2.5-48 +3-61 +3.5-74 +4-9

Glad Sienne chimed in on the dose reduction. I was thinking they could help you with all of that tonight at +10 but it's good she brought it to your attention.

If you've been doing .25u reductions at a time or if you have done any reductions, then you would give him a .25u reduction from his normal dose of 2.75u so his dose tonight should be 2.5u.

Congrats on the reduction and do check in at +10. Sienne can help then...I may still be out. We're going to pick up Teddi's paw print......
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +3-61 +4-93 +5-118 NOW su

This will be our first REDUCTION! WOW! It's finally starting to work for my wooley booger. I'll find Dancin' Nanners later!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +3-61 +4-93 +5-118 NOW su

banana_dancing-2821.jpg


good job today! after today it gets easier!
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80 +2-50 +3-61 +4-93 +5-118 +6-134

+6 - 134

He's tellin' me he's tired of me wakin' him up from his beauty nap- they beez vury important..............
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80/50/61/93/118 +6-134 +8-249

Can we say BOUNCE? Booiing Booiing.........

+8 - 249

nice to bounce into yellows (so far) instead of pink..

+10 for me is 8pm CST
 
Re: 9/28 KT AMPS 95 +1-80/50/61/93/118 +6-134 +8-249

WOW is all I can say after reading your condo what a day KT and his Bean had you sure had your hands full what happens with your DH sounds similar to what one of my vets wife has she actually wears a insulin pump now that gives her magnesium injections and she takes potassium I forget how many times a day but it took countless paralysis spells and finally a specialist to find out what she has its some long word and it has to do with her kidneys not working right, and now she even has lupus poor thing.Anyway hope your Dh is better (((((HUGS))))) to you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top