? 9/27 - Xander | STALLING, please help - Shoot? Reduce? | AMPS 94

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Previous post: 9/26/25

Has had a pretty low morning off and on. Brief "LO" around 5:45 (+9.25) that he pulled himself out of in minutes. Struggled to get him to eat his gaba breakfast (which is typical), but I thought he may be nauseated so I gave him some ondansetron in the 21% gravy that I can usually get him to eat. He finished most of it by 6:05 (1 hour 55 min before preshot), finished the final residue by 6:27, so technically that will be the last time he had any HC (though very little). That was 1 hour and 50 minutes ago.) He has since eaten about half his normal breakfast aside from that. He does seem to want food right now at normal preshot, but sometimes I think that and he doesn't eat anyway. He didn't need any Mirataz yesterday, so I could give him some soon and hopefully keep him eating later. A possibly important detail: his HC food is too solid for post-dental AFAIK, so I can only give him the gravy from it. I will be here all day to monitor.

Just hoping for advice. Should I shoot today? Should I stall more? Reduce for one dose? I would normally be shooting in 9 minutes right now at 8:30. In the past 30 minutes he's floated between 84-104.
 
Last edited:
139 now, so I guess I'm gonna shoot and hope.

Edit: By the time I shot a couple minutes later he's back down to 106. 🙄 Remember when I said that he absolutely does show activity at the very end of the cycle when he supposedly shouldn't be? 😒
 
Last edited:
And now 79. Ugh.
Hi Brianna, so sorry you couldn’t get some help. I was out taking a 3 mile walk 😞

He may have been doing a Lantus double dip (they drop down at the end of a cycle breaking a bounce)
But, his cycles of insulin have been off all week long so his Depot is all messed up with all the skips and such due to all the procedures.
I almost feel like after multiple skips their body seems to read it as an increase until they acclimate to their dosage and the Depot rebuilds 😢

You’re doing all you can to support him and watching him closely as he stabilizes. It’s good you can use the gravy to boost Xander if you need to.

Hopefully the mirtaz and Zofran will help his tummy feel better if he’s feeling off.

Sending you lots of hugs, you’ve got this and the Libre lets you know his range. So you can stay on top of things.
Wishing you a calm rest of the day. Hugs to you and your sweet boy 💖❤️‍🩹💝🙏🌊
 
Oh Brianna, I’m so sorry no one got to your question 🙁 and that you’re having a difficult morning with Xander. Sending you big supportive hugs 🤗
Hi Brianna, so sorry you couldn’t get some help. I was out taking a 3 mile walk 😞

He may have been doing a Lantus double dip (they drop down at the end of a cycle breaking a bounce)
But, his cycles of insulin have been off all week long so his Depot is all messed up with all the skips and such due to all the procedures.
I almost feel like after multiple skips their body seems to read it as an increase until they acclimate to their dosage and the Depot rebuilds 😢

You’re doing all you can to support him and watching him closely as he stabilizes. It’s good you can use the gravy to boost Xander if you need to.

Hopefully the mirtaz and Zofran will help his tummy feel better if he’s feeling off.

Sending you lots of hugs, you’ve got this and the Libre lets you know his range. So you can stay on top of things.
Wishing you a calm rest of the day. Hugs to you and your sweet boy 💖❤️‍🩹💝🙏🌊
Thanks, Kat and Staci. 😞 Not your fault! Guess I made the wrong choice though.

He hit the 50s pretty quickly after my last post so it looks like it's going to be a fun day. He wouldn't eat the snack I gave him immediately after shooting even though he'd been excited about it at the time. I put half a tab of Cerenia in some gravy once he hit the 50s. Ate maybe half of that and half the regular food, but the rest is sitting there. Also gave him half a dose of Mirataz. *sigh*

Sure hope I'm not gonna be bringing him to the ER for a glucose drip. 😭
 
He may have been doing a Lantus double dip (they drop down at the end of a cycle breaking a bounce)
If this is what's happening, what does that mean effectively for the day? Is he going to be ridiculously low all day? Or does that usually wear off by the time the next dose sets in? I'm terrified and have no idea what to expect.

He was 139 and rapidly rising, so I shot, and then he dropped back down to the 50s within minutes. There's only so much I can do to make a decision. I'd been skipping and skipping and I figured since he was rising and well past the 2 hour threshold for HC food that he'd be good now. 😞
 
Please don’t be hard on yourself, you’re doing amazing. ❤️

You can always use some Karo or honey if you need to boost his numbers if he won’t eat. Maybe, if you have a small syringe with no needle, you could try to suck up some of the gravy from the HC food?
 
Please don’t be hard on yourself, you’re doing amazing. ❤️

You can always use some Karo or honey if you need to boost his numbers if he won’t eat. Maybe, if you have a small syringe with no needle, you could try to suck up some of the gravy from the HC food?
I'm more just terrified of what's gonna happen now. 😞

I have honey, I was just under the impression that it doesn't last very long.

I do have a syringeless needle, but I'd be sooo afraid to try syringe feeding for the first time when he's got 8 extractions' worth of dental stitches. 😓 :nailbiting:
 
Hi Brianna. I've been catching up on your recent updates on Xander. Glad to hear that Xander does not seem to have cancer, which is great news. I hope you have get him some treatment for his intestinal issues, and that he has a good recovery from his dental extractions. Wow, you have had such a lot to deal with recently,

And now a day of watching that BG like a hawk - hoping that as a Saturday you have the time to monitor without it taking you away from work. As Kat suggests, maybe some honey and/or gravy to keep him up now in the beginning of the cycle?

In my experience with Noogi a small amount of honey (1/4 teaspoon) is some gravy food lasts about half an hour or so.
 
I'm more just terrified of what's gonna happen now. 😞

I have honey, I was just under the impression that it doesn't last very long.

I do have a syringeless needle, but I'd be sooo afraid to try syringe feeding for the first time when he's got 8 extractions' worth of dental stitches. 😓 :nailbiting:

Totally understand! I know his little mouth is sore and was just trying to think of an idea to get his numbers up without him wanting to eat anything solid.
 
Hi Brianna. I've been catching up on your recent updates on Xander. Glad to hear that Xander does not seem to have cancer, which is great news. I hope you have get him some treatment for his intestinal issues, and that he has a good recovery from his dental extractions. Wow, you have had such a lot to deal with recently,

And now a day of watching that BG like a hawk - hoping that as a Saturday you have the time to monitor without it taking you away from work. As Kat suggests, maybe some honey and/or gravy to keep him up now in the beginning of the cycle?

In my experience with Noogi a small amount of honey (1/4 teaspoon) is some gravy food lasts about half an hour or so.

Thank you, Helen!!

Thankfully I am here all day.

Should I be giving him honey and more gravy before I see a sign of him going back downward, or should I wait until he seems to drop again?
 
Should I be giving him honey and more gravy before I see a sign of him going back downward, or should I wait until he seems to drop again?

Looks like he was at 122 at last reading? If that is right in your place I'd hold off for now.
But if he starts to drop suddenly and/or hit lime I'd consider it as he is so early in the cycle. You are just going to have to watch and see.

And keep encouraging to eat, even if its just half a teaspoon at a time. Hopefully the appetite stimulants do the trick.

Are you adding some water to his food to make it less solid and easier to eat?

Eight stitches - poor baby!
 
Looks like he was at 122 at last reading? If that is right in your place I'd hold off for now.
But if he starts to drop suddenly and/or hit lime I'd consider it as he is so early in the cycle. You are just going to have to watch and see.

And keep encouraging to eat, even if its just half a teaspoon at a time. Hopefully the appetite stimulants do the trick.

Are you adding some water to his food to make it less solid and easier to eat?

Eight stitches - poor baby!
Well I thought he was, but then the Libre removed it from the graph and showed him at ~112 instead. Right now at +1 he is supposedly at 124; not sure it'll stay that way.

So I should just feed his normal food for now and not keep throwing in any HC stuff?

Yes, I always add water to his food, even before this. He doesn't use the water dish at all, so it's the only way he'd get any lol
 
Thanks, Kat and Staci. 😞 Not your fault! Guess I made the wrong choice though.

He hit the 50s pretty quickly after my last post so it looks like it's going to be a fun day. He wouldn't eat the snack I gave him immediately after shooting even though he'd been excited about it at the time. I put half a tab of Cerenia in some gravy once he hit the 50s. Ate maybe half of that and half the regular food, but the rest is sitting there. Also gave him half a dose of Mirataz. *sigh*

Sure hope I'm not gonna be bringing him to the ER for a glucose drip. 😭
Time for the karo syrup? Hope he pulls up and there's no need for the ER. 🤗
 
If this is what's happening, what does that mean effectively for the day? Is he going to be ridiculously low all day? Or does that usually wear off by the time the next dose sets in? I'm terrified and have no idea what to expect.

He was 139 and rapidly rising, so I shot, and then he dropped back down to the 50s within minutes. There's only so much I can do to make a decision. I'd been skipping and skipping and I figured since he was rising and well past the 2 hour threshold for HC food that he'd be good now. 😞
Sometimes it’s a bit of a guess I feel. Not always textbook case.
But since you have carbs on hand, just use them as needed.
Hopefully, as the cycle goes on the insulin will wane.
Just use a small amount of food or gravy (or honey) as needed (want to try not to upset his tummy).
🫂❤️‍🩹
 
Hi Brianna, Looks like you've had a rough night and now a rough day! Ugh!! What a difficult decision this morning. It looked like his bounce had broken, and that with the slightly higher AMPS, he appeared headed back up, even though he wasn't all that high at his preshot (but still safe to shoot). Apparently, Xander's pancreas had other plans. Just so you know, I would probably have shot as well. Jude did a similar thing last night. I shot when he was low (69), and thought he'll continue to go up as he normally does prior to onset (in typical Lantus fashion), but noooooooooo. He dove like he was going for pearls, and I had to carb him most of the cycle (which is a bit unusual for him). I hope Xander levels out for you today and that you don't have to do too much hovering and carb maintenance. Please keep us posted.
 
Well, we're at almost +3 and he's in the 180s, so either he's bouncing or the new cycle hasn't really hit yet.

Unfortunately, despite the ondansetron, Cerenia and Mirataz he's not eating. I'm wondering now if his mouth hurts. He does still have gaba, but his last Onsior was on Thursday. 😞

I don't know what I can do. His numbers are safe (for now) but he just doesn't want anything. 😩
 
Hi Brianna, Looks like you've had a rough night and now a rough day! Ugh!! What a difficult decision this morning. It looked like his bounce had broken, and that with the slightly higher AMPS, he appeared headed back up, even though he wasn't all that high at his preshot (but still safe to shoot). Apparently, Xander's pancreas had other plans. Just so you know, I would probably have shot as well. Jude did a similar thing last night. I shot when he was low (69), and thought he'll continue to go up as he normally does prior to onset (in typical Lantus fashion), but noooooooooo. He dove like he was going for pearls, and I had to carb him most of the cycle (which is a bit unusual for him). I hope Xander levels out for you today and that you don't have to do too much hovering and carb maintenance. Please keep us posted.
Glad to know that it's not just me who makes these mistakes, but I'm sorry you had a rough night too! 😞
 
Still nothing. 😔 The vet is closed on the weekends, or I'd ask for more pain meds or something. I'd think if it was nausea the other meds would've worked by now.
 
If you need to give him honey, I have put it on Jude's nose, and he licks it off. I just keep dabbing, and he just keeps licking. It doesn't take an awful lot to boost them.
 
He's trembling a little, twitching and breathing kinda fast. I'm thinking maybe we need an emergency vet. 😞
I would not hesitate, just to be safe, dear Brianna and Xander.
When one of my cats had a dental, several years ago, one of the stitches opened and caused him a lot of pain. I didn't know what to do.

Get him looked at to make sure his mouth is healing properly, and he has enough pain meds. Just my two cents, but he sounds like he could use some help, and you could use some assurance that he's okay!
 
What is his bg? And, listen, do what you need to do, Brianna. I have never regretted going to the vet when I was worried. We're supporting your decision to know and do what is best for Xander.
He was about 125 when we left. Not hypo, unless the Libre is wrong in the opposite direction than usual. 😔

I would not hesitate, just to be safe, dear Brianna and Xander.
When one of my cats had a dental, several years ago, one of the stitches opened and caused him a lot of pain. I didn't know what to do.

Get him looked at to make sure his mouth is healing properly, and he has enough pain meds. Just my two cents, but he sounds like he could use some help, and you could use some assurance that he's okay!
Thank you Lara 💙💙💙

We're at the vet now. They agreed it sounded worth looking at over the phone so we came in. I'm also feeling like it's pain from dental. I didn't even think of stitches reopening but that's awful! I'm hoping it's as "simple" as dental pain.
 
They're not sure if it's his teeth (she said she did see some bleeding) or something GI-related. I doubt anything significant in his GI could've changed this much since Wednesday, but who knows. They have no ultrasound here and would have to transfer him to another hospital so we asked her to just do everything they're able to here for now.

His BG is fine (200s, not very high for vet stress), potassium is fine. WBC is high so they're gonna check for a UTI, pancreatitis, etc. Going to give him fluids, antibiotics and pain meds. Looking like they want to do a 48 hour hospitalization. He's gonna be terrified and not understand why I abandoned him here. 😭😭😭😭
 
They're not sure if it's his teeth (she said she did see some bleeding) or something GI-related. I doubt anything significant could've changed this much since Wednesday, but who knows. They have no ultrasound here and would have to transfer him to another hospital so we asked her to just do everything they're able to here for now.

His BG is fine (200s, not very high for vet stress), potassium is fine. WBC is high so they're gonna check for a UTI, pancreatitis, etc. Going to give him fluids, antibiotics and pain meds. Looking like they want to do a 48 hour hospitalization. He's gonna be terrified and not understand why I abandoned him here. 😭😭😭😭
If they have to do the hospitalization, remember what Wendy said about leaving something with your scent on it? I'm not sure if that's possible at this point. An elevated WBC is definitely worrisome. Poor little buddy!!
 
I’m so sorry, Brianna. You did the right thing bringing him in. I know it’s super hard to have to leave him but he’s where he needs to be right now. Sending vines 🍃🍃🍃🍃 hugs 🤗 🤗 and loads of supportive thoughts 💜
 
I've brought a blanket we use when we cuddle to every appointment since she mentioned it. He'll have it! 🥹
Oh Brianna, I’m Sending you love and hugs. I’m sorry for all the scary stuff going on. He’s in good hands ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹🫂🫂🫂🫂
Ask them to do fluids on opposite side of body from the Libre (fluids can mess up the Libre readings making them look completely off, as in way too low).
 
They're not sure if it's his teeth (she said she did see some bleeding) or something GI-related. I doubt anything significant in his GI could've changed this much since Wednesday, but who knows. They have no ultrasound here and would have to transfer him to another hospital so we asked her to just do everything they're able to here for now.

His BG is fine (200s, not very high for vet stress), potassium is fine. WBC is high so they're gonna check for a UTI, pancreatitis, etc. Going to give him fluids, antibiotics and pain meds. Looking like they want to do a 48 hour hospitalization. He's gonna be terrified and not understand why I abandoned him here. 😭😭😭😭
Ask them if at this point hospitalization is necessary, or whether you can take him home & return for the tests.
Ask them how serious this is looking, and if it isn't seeming serious, see if you can take him home - with pain meds as needed! Sending lots of love.
 
Back
Top