9/26 Obie PMPS 87, +1 - 101, +2.5 -130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
pmps! This is the lowest I've ever busted him at pm shot. Do I lower shot dose?
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

he was 101 25 minutes ago on pet meter
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

gave him 1.25 instead of 1.50
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

Make sure you get a +1 test to see if Obie is going up or down. You may need to monitor closely tonight. Do you have plenty of testing supplies?
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

Yes, and I have stuff to feed him to raise him back up.
I wonder if this means a dose reduction in the morning too?
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

The protocol says to reduce the dose if he drops below 50 on the Relion (I think it is below 80 on the AlphaTrack). It will be interesting to see what he does tonight. Are you okay dealing with lower numbers tonight? I see on his SS you've dealt with some recently.
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

I know how to deal with the low numbers.
I am just blown away that out of nowhere he hit low at shot time.
I'll probably see 4-500 in the morning.
This is kind of scary and cool at the same time. He went up 24 pts in 25 minutes.
 
Re: Obie just clocked in at 87 on human and 125 on pet meter

Can you please update your first subject line with the new test results so everyone can see them?

It is scary and cool to be shooting a green at PS time. This is a good learning experience since you can monitor. You'll get good data for the next time.
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

He is at 101 +1 on relion. Up from 87.
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

I am assuming you fed. If so, that could just be a food spike. I would get a +2 to be on the safe side and make sure he's really going up.
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

Yea. I fed at the time. He doesn't sit still for testing without his head buried in a bowl. I may wait until +3 for the test to make sure the food is wore off.
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

Good job shooting that 87 tonight! :mrgreen: Another alternative option for you when you get a low number is to delay about 20-30 minutes and test again. If he's coming up, you are good to shoot the full dose.

How about splitting the test difference and getting a +2.5 tonight? if kitties are looking for a reduction, often they'll do it early so those tests early on can really help you manage the cycle. I hope you'll be able to monitor Obie tonight. By the way, a reduction is earned if kitty goes below 50 on the human meter and 68 on the pet meter. If Obie doesn't go below 50/68 this evening, your dose in the morning would be 1.5U.

A request - can you use just one meter or the other? It's too hard to see what's happening on Obie's spreadsheet when you are switching from human to the pet meter. If you want to test the same blood drop with both meters, that's fine, but stick to one when you are reporting. We like to look for trends and it's hard to do when you have to translate back and forth. Thanks!
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

I have to use both meters. One because my vet makes me use the pet one with the expensive strips. And I use the human one in between because i'm broke as a joke.
You arent the first to request that. :) I'll get a test at 2.5. :)
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

his +2.5 reading was 130
 
Re: Obie was clocked at 125 pmps on the AT. 87 on relion

One because my vet makes me use the pet one with the expensive strips.

I would tell your vet that unless he (she?) is going to pay for the test strips, you're going to stick to the human meter. He can do the calculations to translate the "human" number to the "pet" number. ;-)

Good job shooting tonight. Shooting greens is always a little scary. nailbite_smile You might want to go back to your very first post and edit the subject line: 9/26 Obie PMPS 87, +1 - 101. If you'll update it like that, it will be easier for people to see from the main page what's going on with little Obie tonight. Otherwise, they might miss some action!

Hope Obie surfs safely for you tonight. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top