9/26 Apollo PMPS 342, +2 378, +3 383, +6 399

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401

Good morning! Glad they are getting used to the wet food. That was a huge issue and you have really done a great job getting them converted, especially with 4 of them.

Not bad AMPS today. Hope the increase helps and brings him down even more!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401

Hi guys .. oh so close to pink! Almost apollo, almost! Glad to hear the kitties are adjusting to the wet cat food and new feeding times .. it will be worth it .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151

YAY APollo!!!!!! Hurray for BLUE that is really great- happy dance! :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151

596392.gif
WOOT!! Apollo is blue!!!!!
596392.gif


Doesn't that feel GREAT!!! Good work, John!
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151

That was a great number to log in and see!! Go Apollo!!

(Don't be alarmed if he bounces. He's not used to blues.)
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151

awesome!

please get a +7, john. we want to find out if he's still dropping. if he's still dropping at +7, see if you can get him to eat some. just so you know, we usually don't feed 100s to stop a drop, but he doesn't need to drop any further today. the 259 point drop from amps will set him up for a bounce as it is.

i'll be watching for the +7...
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151

Just saw your post. Going to take it now and will post back shortly. It will be a +7.5.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151

Go Apollo! What a wonderful feeling it is to see such a lovely blue number. Thrilled for you and Apollo.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

Green too huh? Definitely feed, keep an eye on him, and post so Jill can help you through it! Quite the drop for the big guy.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

john, mix a little karo or syrup in his food. karo, syrup, honey, etc.

he's not that low, but we don't want him to go lower.

retest in 30 minutes, please.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

WOW again! It is truly great that you have gotten him down to this. Keep testing as instructed and he will be fine.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

He ate most of what i put down before i had a chance to add the syrup. He had a bite or 2 of the syrup filled food mixture. I put maybe a half teaspoon in the food. Not sure how much to give, but now he is just laying and resting.

I'm a little freaked out now that he has dropped so low. Will he be ok? When should he start to go back up?
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

I just usually give a couple of drops of karo in the food. Also, you only want to feed a couple of tablespoons at a time when you are trying to bring them up. The reason is, if you need to feed again and retest, you don't want them to be too full to eat.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

what you're experiencing is common. you haven't seen numbers this low before.

you're in control. testing and using food/karo will help stop the drop and bring the numbers up.

he will be fine. you will be fine.

what we need to do is continue testing to see when his numbers start coming up.

btw, do you have any high carb wet food (food with gravy) in the house?

retest 30 minutes after getting that 95, please.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

No high carb wet food, but I do have some of his old dry food. I will test again now. Be back in a few.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

you're doing great, john!

trust me, if apollo were to drop into dangerous territory, i will tell you. he's really doing fine. all i want to do is stop the drop since he started out so high this morning. there's no reason to worry about the actual green number we're seeing.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95

Ok. He is now at +8 93. He is just sitting and resting now. Not really hungry anymore. I can force some karo on him if need be, just let me know and if so how much.

Thanks for the reassurance. I was getting a little scared.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93

we ALL get scared the first time we see green!

he's holding for now, but let's try to bump him up, ok?

squeeze the "juice" out of a can of food and put a couple drops of syrup in it. see if he'll lick it up.
if he doesn't, let me know.

retest in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93

hey, he's holding... not dropping. that's good!

i'd still like to see if we can bump him up a little though because once the syrup wears off he *could* drop again.

how about trying a little food (about a teaspoon) with a couple drops of syrup in it?

if it's a no go, please let me know.

please retest at +9.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

No he is still dropping. He was at 95, then 93 and now at 91.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

same difference. take 2 readings off the same droplet of blood and you'll see the same thing.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

Hi John, it's great to see Apollo on the green floor. You're doing a super job! It's a little freaky the first time but then you're really glad that he's in the healing numbers.
Liz
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

Thanks for the encouragement, and yes it is a little scary. I just keep having flashbacks of when he when hypo. Scariest thing to go through.

He did eat about half a teaspoon full of food with about 3 drops of syrup in it and pulverized purebites on top.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

sorry, john. the board is hanging up on me. couldn't post.

happy to hear he ate. see you at +9. that food should have bumped him up.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

Hey John!!

You're doing great. Jill's having difficulty getting the Board to load.(The Board was hanging up for me, too.) How about a test at +9? Basically, you're going to keep doing exactly what you're doing -- small amounts of food (HC or a combo of LC + HC) to keep the numbers stable. As the HC wears off, numbers can wobble.

It is absolutely unnerving the first couple of times. You'll be a pro at this in no time, though.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

Looks like the site went down for me for a bit too. Ok his +9 was 125
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +8.5 91

yaaaaaaaaaaaaay! nice bump! that's what we were looking for.

i'd recheck in about 45 minutes (+9.75) to see if he still going up or if he's dropped again.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +9 125

Ok sounds good. Do I need to give him any more food or syrup? He is starting to get annoyed with me.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +9 125

i'm sure he's annoyed. give him a break... and you take one, too!
nice work!
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +9 125

So how come he dropped so low so quickly? Is that normal? Is our dose too high now or is this just how it works? I was sort of expecting more slow drops and slow rises.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +9 125

great job today!

What you're seeing is actually pretty normal. We tend to see breakthroughs happen all of a sudden, rather than gradually. That is one reason why we preach patience around here, because we know things can change overnight.

Let's see how the rest of the cycle goes, and we can decide what to do tonight.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +9 125

John & Apollo said:
So how come he dropped so low so quickly? Is that normal? Is our dose too high now or is this just how it works? I was sort of expecting more slow drops and slow rises.
what you saw is very common in the beginning. it takes awhile before you can achieve those low flat curves lantus is known for. apollo will undoubtedly bounce from dropping lower than what his body is used to. this is also normal.

as far as dose goes...
is the dose too high? i don't think so. the insulin is doing exactly what we want it to do... bring him down into greens. the only reason i wanted you to stop the drop is because we're in unchartered waters with apollo and i didn't want you to get in a situation you're not ready for yet. eg. time to get that "hypo tool kit" together.

however, let's see how he does the rest of the cycle. at this point, we don't know if he'll continue upwards slowly, zoom to the moon, drop again, or surf the low 100s. at +9.75 we'll know more. let's go from there. depending on what he does, i may present you with options concerning dose, but it's too early to discuss all the "what if's" now.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +7.5 95, +8 93, +9 125

ok, he's beginning to rise on his own. :mrgreen:

imho, you can hold off on testing him until pmps, BUT if it's not too much trouble will you please test him about 15 minutes early and then post the number BEFORE you shoot him? i'd like to touch base with you about dose at that time.
do-able?

you really did a nice job with him today. testing makes all the difference in the world! you can avoid hypos by getting those spot checks. :-D
now that apollo has had this break through it's time to get a hypo tool kit together. the link should be in all the stickies. it's also a good time to review the "shooting and handling low numbers sticky.

ps --- it would be a good idea to withhold food until shot time to make sure he'll eat then.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +8 93, +9 125, +9.75 166

I'm confused? Why would I shoot him at PM when he went so low today? Wouldn't I want to skip the shot and let his body recover? If I shoot him tonight won't he just go hypo since at AMPS 401 he went all the way down to 91. Wouldn't anything close to a 2.5 dose make him go hypo for sure? I guess I'm just confused as to how Lantus works. I didn't expect him to drop so suddenly and to be honest I'm pretty shaken right now.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +8 93, +9 125, +9.75 166

John & Apollo said:
I'm confused? Why would I shoot him at PM when he went so low today? Wouldn't I want to skip the shot and let his body recover? If I shoot him tonight won't he just go hypo since at AMPS 401 he went all the way down to 91. If his PMPS is like 200, wouldn't a 2.5 dose make him go hypo for sure? I guess I'm just confused as to how Lantus works. I didn't expect him to drop so suddenly and to be honest I'm pretty shaken right now.

john, you want him to see green. it's what you're working towards. chances are, his numbers are going nowhere but up from here.

one of the hardest things for people to understand is you won't see the same kind of drop from a high number as you'll see from a low number. look at alex's spreadsheet. her amps was 72. she received her full 2u dose. she was 67 at +10.5 and will likely be lower at pmps because she generally has a late nadir. eventually, this is where you'll be going with apollo.

get that +11.75. if it's too low for you to feel comfortable shooting we'll talk about making an adjustment that you're comfortable with.

ps --- alex has had some some health issues which have affected the way i'm treating her. if you want to see an illustration of what happens when following the tight regulation protocol click on the 2009 tab at the top of her spreadsheet. i purposely tested more often than necessary to help people understand.
 
Re: 9/26 Apollo AMPS 401, +6 151, +8 93, +9 125, +9.75 166

Hi JOhn

I'm an old timer who hasn't been around in a long time because my kitty went OTJ and has stayed that way for 18 motnhs, all thanks to the wonderful people here who helped me through. I am not giving any specific advice, but I see no one is around to answer your question. So I want to encourage you to follow through and not skip a shot unless someone with a ton of experience tells you too.

I watched lots of people skip shots, jump all over the place with doses, etc, because "intuitively" it seemed the right thing to them. But this is a science and I think you will find that following the protocol will get you and your kitty where you want to be more quickly. Great job today and best of luck!

ETA: Jill and I simulposted!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top