? 9/25 Scout Bounce? AMPT=533, +4.25=444

Hello ...if you'll go to your thread title and put a question mark prefix on it will draw attention more quickly . Scout is a beauty :)
 
Can anyone help me out?
Bounces are a reaction to fast drops, or dropping lower than they are used to. With no test data at night, I'd be only guessing what could have happened. Getting those before bed tests will really help clarify what is happening. Many, if not most, cats go lower at night. We make dosing decision based on how low the dose is taking the cat, hence the need to do those night time spot checks. The preshot tests are necessary to make sure it's safe to give insulin, but we can't make any other decisions based on that data.

Here is the link to your previous post, which we include for connectivity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/evening-pt-in-yellow-9-19-scout-amps-442-7-166.219528/ In that post, you say Scout bites. Have you tried a cat sack or a burrito roll with a towel?
 
Bounces are a reaction to fast drops, or dropping lower than they are used to. With no test data at night, I'd be only guessing what could have happened. Getting those before bed tests will really help clarify what is happening. Many, if not most, cats go lower at night. We make dosing decision based on how low the dose is taking the cat, hence the need to do those night time spot checks. The preshot tests are necessary to make sure it's safe to give insulin, but we can't make any other decisions based on that data.

Here is the link to your previous postIn that post, you say Scout bites. Have you tried a cat sack or a burrito roll with a towel?
I’ve tried a roll with a towel, it still isn’t useful in that he is able to crane his neck and get me good.
If I’m not able to get more data at night, do I wait 7 days and the increase his dose by .25 units again?
 
More daytime tests are always good, but a test last night would have given an idea why so high this morning.

If I’m not able to get more data at night, do I wait 7 days and the increase his dose by .25 units again?
You would have to do a curve first, and only increase if you don't see anything below 150 before then.

Regarding the biting issue, treats really do help. There are pure meat treats in all sorts of protein types, even venison, which is what it looks like you are feeding. Or even catnip, brushing, loving time - whatever makes Scout happy and feel special. Some people do paw testing if they can't test ears.
 
Bumping puts you at top of the list ...wish I could help more ...have had biters too... have you tried Rescue Remedy ? It's an oral natural calmer downer . Or Feliway spray ?? You spray it on a towel and it helps calm too .Wendys suggestion of treats is excellent too .
 
I've also switched to 33 gauge lancets and I hold it in my hand to poke...very fine gauge makes more gentle poke . Really feel badly for you cos you are trying to help Scout ...hoping he understands that soon :bighug:
 
Might also change thread title to Scout Bites...draw attention of others who have gone thru this
 
Thanks Beth, really appreciate your responses! They really help. (I was beginning to think I had bad breath :confused:)
I am going to order the Rescue Remedy, Feliway spray, and 33 gauge lancets-I’ve been using the 28 gauge. I have a plug-in Feliway but never thought about buying the spray and putting it on a towel. Hope trying something new makes a difference!!! Thx again so much:):)
 
Oh Scout! You're such a beautiful boy! I sure hope you calm down soon - your mama is trying to help you.

I sure hope he settles down soon...try to give him as much praise and lovey words in the testing location..don't poke him. Just go thru the motions...hopefully if you do that often enough - instead of being a confrontational time - it's a time for a treat and loving, petting, nice words...I talk to Luci the whole time I'm testing her...not that she understands a single word of it...but she knows that I'm calm and happy and just trying to help her (she was a real spitfire when we started this whole process, now she sits and purrs through most of the tests)...it's all about the food for her...always always give a treat or some food with every 'run thru'... Hope that helps!
 
Thanks Beth, really appreciate your responses! They really help. (I was beginning to think I had bad breath :confused:)
I am going to order the Rescue Remedy, Feliway spray, and 33 gauge lancets-I’ve been using the 28 gauge. I have a plug-in Feliway but never thought about buying the spray and putting it on a towel. Hope trying something new makes a difference!!! Thx again so much:):)
You are so welcome :bighug: Someone here has experienced a biting kitty , I am sure . Poor Scout and poor you :bighug:. I've used Rescue Remedy for years ..gentle natural way to hopefully take the edge off . Wal Mart carries the 33 gauge lancets ...I have always just held the lancet in my hand to control the force of the poke .
 
@Beth 73 @Sue and Luci thank you both so much right now, your responses have helped me more than you can know, I’m literally in tears because I haven’t been able to test like I know I need to and I feel like Scout hates me sometimes.
 
Oh Scout! You're such a beautiful boy! I sure hope you calm down soon - your mama is trying to help you.

I sure hope he settles down soon...try to give him as much praise and lovey words in the testing location..don't poke him. Just go thru the motions...hopefully if you do that often enough - instead of being a confrontational time - it's a time for a treat and loving, petting, nice words...I talk to Luci the whole time I'm testing her...not that she understands a single word of it...but she knows that I'm calm and happy and just trying to help her (she was a real spitfire when we started this whole process, now she sits and purrs through most of the tests)...it's all about the food for her...always always give a treat or some food with every 'run thru'... Hope that helps!
Sue your ideas are really helpful.
 
Yeah ! Hi Susan ! Am I reading right that Scout was in remission before ?? And know, Susan, you have found an awesome, loving , experienced group of people from all over . There are times when not as many people are on the Board and if you don't get a response you can call attention to your thread by doing what you did with the question mark and I've even typed HELP in all caps to get attention :eek:
 
Last edited:
I know that pain ...Elmo was in remission for 2 1/2 years Did Scout bite the first time thru or is this a new deal with him ??Opps, just read thru your old posts and see that he didn't bite before. Has his personality changed in any other way ??? I'm hoping and praying that one or more of the ideas you've been given works with sweet Scout . He is beautiful :bighug:
 
Last edited:
This is a new deal-but he’s started biting me this spring after his dental work. So biting me during testing maybe is just an extension of that. The IM vet can’t figure it out, he may just need his canines removed, because they are starting to have resorption problems.
But in the meantime I am going to try all the ideas that you, Sue, and Wendy have given me today, and a lot of prayers too.
 
This is a new deal-but he’s started biting me this spring after his dental work. So biting me during testing maybe is just an extension of that. The IM vet can’t figure it out, he may just need his canines removed, because they are starting to have resorption problems.
But in the meantime I am going to try all the ideas that you, Sue, and Wendy have given me today, and a lot of prayers too.
. You have my prayers for you and Scout :bighug: I know they work :bighug:
 
Hi!
I had the same problem at the begining whit him biting.
It took me two months before I managed to test regulary and make the weekly curves. I tried all the tricks learned here. What worked was to put him on the windowsill where there was no room for to much movement and give him a tasty treat after.
No biting and scratching since.
 
Back
Top