? 9/25 Leo AMPS 392 DOSING HELP PLEASE

Still searching for advice. I can't seem to get his numbers to come down and I was wondering if its time to up his dose. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. ? - 9/24 Leo PMPS 366
Hi Tresa,
I am sorry you didn't get any answers on your last post.
If you still don't get answers, it's best to post again (as you did) and use the drop down question mark (as you did yesterday) and put something like DOSE HELP NEEDED in your title, that way someone will see you need some help.
It's a very busy forum and I know those who can answer your questions look for questions when they scan through the posts.

I am hoping with this title change and this response, we can get you some suggestions for Leo's insulin dosing.
It's great you are able to get several tests in both cycles, this helps us to know how and when he is dropping and where his nadirs may be.

Also going to try to get help for you.
@tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Hi Tresa,
I am sorry you didn't get any answers on your last post.
If you still don't get answers, it's best to post again (as you did) and use the drop down question mark (as you did yesterday) and put something like DOSE HELP NEEDED in your title, that way someone will see you need some help.
It's a very busy forum and I know those who can answer your questions look for questions when they scan through the posts.

I am hoping with this title change and this response, we can get you some suggestions for Leo's insulin dosing.
It's great you are able to get several tests in both cycles, this helps us to know how and when he is dropping and where his nadirs may be.

Also going to try to get help for you.
@tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Hi Tresa,
I am sorry you didn't get any answers on your last post.
If you still don't get answers, it's best to post again (as you did) and use the drop down question mark (as you did yesterday) and put something like DOSE HELP NEEDED in your title, that way someone will see you need some help.
It's a very busy forum and I know those who can answer your questions look for questions when they scan through the posts.

I am hoping with this title change and this response, we can get you some suggestions for Leo's insulin dosing.
It's great you are able to get several tests in both cycles, this helps us to know how and when he is dropping and where his nadirs may be.

Also going to try to get help for you.
@tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I put dosing help in my title so hopefully that will get results. Thank you for your response
 
Previous post

It looks to me like Leo is bouncing. Bounces drive everyone crazy! If you notice, whenever Leo drops into the blue or green zone, his numbers then shoot back up. What that tells you is that his body hasn't gotten used to being in normal numbers yet. As a result, his liver and pancreas go into protective mode (because his body is more used to the high numbers and reads the normal numbers as dangerous) and dump a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into his system. Hence the spike.

The good news is that it's looking like he's clearing those bounces often within one cycle. The hard part is that you base your dosing on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. Leo's nadirs on the 3.0u dose are in the 90s - 70s when he's not bouncing. If it were me, I'd increase his dose to 3.25u. But, are you going to be around to test and are you comfortable with bumping his numbers with food should his numbers drop below 50? (Remember, 50 is your dose reduction point.) The only concern with a bounce is that if you increase when a bounce is breaking, there can be some momentum behind a drop in numbers. Keeping an eye on Leo's numbers would be important.

All of that said, it looks like you shot his 3.0u dose this morning. It also looks like it's a lower pre-shot than you've seen in a few days. I'd see how the cycle plays out and if he's in high numbers at PMPS, you can increase.
 
Previous post

It looks to me like Leo is bouncing. Bounces drive everyone crazy! If you notice, whenever Leo drops into the blue or green zone, his numbers then shoot back up. What that tells you is that his body hasn't gotten used to being in normal numbers yet. As a result, his liver and pancreas go into protective mode (because his body is more used to the high numbers and reads the normal numbers as dangerous) and dump a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into his system. Hence the spike.

The good news is that it's looking like he's clearing those bounces often within one cycle. The hard part is that you base your dosing on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. Leo's nadirs on the 3.0u dose are in the 90s - 70s when he's not bouncing. If it were me, I'd increase his dose to 3.25u. But, are you going to be around to test and are you comfortable with bumping his numbers with food should his numbers drop below 50? (Remember, 50 is your dose reduction point.) The only concern with a bounce is that if you increase when a bounce is breaking, there can be some momentum behind a drop in numbers. Keeping an eye on Leo's numbers would be important.

All of that said, it looks like you shot his 3.0u dose this morning. It also looks like it's a lower pre-shot than you've seen in a few days. I'd see how the cycle plays out and if he's in high numbers at PMPS, you can increase.
Thank you so much for getting back to me. I've been a nervous wreck. I will be home the next couple of days so I will be able to do the 3.25 increase. His numbers are coming up from AMPS so the increase feels like a good idea. Again, thank you! Your response is appreciated more than you know!
 
Thank you so much for getting back to me. I've been a nervous wreck. I will be home the next couple of days so I will be able to do the 3.25 increase. His numbers are coming up from AMPS so the increase feels like a good idea. Again, thank you! Your response is appreciated more than you know!
Good luck with the increase Tresa. Please post if you have any questions 💖
 
Back
Top