9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, pmps 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim 'n Shadow

Member Since 2010
this is how we started out yesterday except that today she didn't help herself to a snack right before test time so I'm more hopeful that she'll stay out of the 40's today. not that I'm complaining, she's come so far. this is the 2nd dose of her reduction. 3/5 P's so far today. temperature is yummy here today even tho it is rainy. I had plans to go btb, the hubz is a football referree and is out the door already but after reading a few condos, I'm starving for a rooty-tooty breakfast, not sure why :lol:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=25836
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82

Hi Kim and yes I am tired still hooked to my coffee IV drip :lol: trying to get myself in motion and its a slow go today great amps for Shadow this morning :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, I'll be darn!

Two days in a row. Even with a dose reduction. What gives?

Doing the +1,+2,+3,+9 minimeals overnight. Is this too little food?

If I leave off the +9, does it work in reverse and bring her BG up? :smile:

Will this change her dose again? This soon? We are wanting momentum but not at the sake of safety.

eta: not nervous about this, I have all my stuff, at least it isn't a 35.:shock: but I'm puzzled.

What if she gets MC at +9? I'm may try this tonight.
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, I'll be darn!

sometimes the trip down the dosing ladder is a fast ride.

Please feed a little HC and test again in 15-20 minutes to be sure she's coming up. It's early in the cycle to be this low.
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, I'll be darn!

Looks like another reduction to me
smiley-happy057.gif
but confirm that with others, first :-D
Shadow is doing so so good. Exciting times!
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, I'll be darn!

she got 18%, up to 78.

what if she gets MC at her +2, Or +3? Is there a way to plan food for her and not have this happen?

eta: gave another rounded tsp 18%, retest in 30. I read somewhere 3 rising numbers and it's pretty much over, so that's my game plan.
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78

Nice! and good luck! maybe Shadow spent time last night reading Mannie's condo and thought it would be a good idea to try out the 40's...
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78

Kim 'n Shadow said:
she got 18%, up to 78.

what if she gets MC at her +2, Or +3? Is there a way to plan food for her and not have this happen?

eta: gave another rounded tsp 18%, retest in 30. I read somewhere 3 rising numbers and it's pretty much over, so that's my game plan.

3 rising numbers and *maybe* it's over. :mrgreen: It's still early in the cycle, so you need to be sure she can get past nadir without dipping again.

I'm generally not a fan of feeding higher carb food just so you can shoot. Some kitties do need that sometimes, but generally it's best to just stick to the protocol until you've proven that the protocol doesn't work for your cat. That means I would recommend reducing to 2.5 tonight. Shadow is doing great. :smile:
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78

Wow!! Shadow is doing great!~!! Looking great and feeling great! Whooo Hooooo!!!!
What a great Job you are doing!
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78

Libby - good to know. that's exactly what we'll do. we've never had this happen 2 days in a row, I'm trying to anticipate how to keep it from becoming a regular thing. wow - 2.5u tonight. party_cat I think I'm gonna have to open a beer. wow. dancing_cat

eta: +4 77 18% again, see y'all in 30

+4.5 97 gonna recheck in 60.
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78, +4 77

chat122.gif
whoo hoo look at Shadow go but I think we need to inform him that 40s are not needed he has been listening to Mannie's mermaid stories I think :lol: Shadow is really doing so great for you Kim
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78, +4 77

Wow Kim......Shadow's got some kinda run of numbers going today.....

When does Shadow usually nadir?
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78, +4 77, +5.5 87

Hi Tena - Shadow nadirs usually somewhere in the +3 to +5 range. she used to have second smaller dip about +9 but I feed her a snack around then and I don't see that second drop so much.

but 2 of these things in a row shakes me a bit and reminds me there's a lot about this that I don't know.
keeps me from getting cocky, I guess. :-D

I have it balanced with my work schedule that most days, I can get the +4 on the way out the door and that keeps me from worrying as much about leaving her. After a weekend like this, I'll have some butterflies when I have to leave for work on Monday. hopefully, this will level out but then. Sigh - I'm a worrier.
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78, +4 77, +5.5 87

Nice numbers for Shadow! I hope she slows it down a little for you, she seems to be in a hurry to get down the ladder! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/25 Kim's Shadow amps 82, +3 41, +3.5 78, +4 77, +5.5 87

Kim 'n Shadow said:
Hi Tena - Shadow nadirs usually somewhere in the +3 to +5 range. she used to have second smaller dip about +9 but I feed her a snack around then and I don't see that second drop so much.

but 2 of these things in a row shakes me a bit and reminds me there's a lot about this that I don't know.
keeps me from getting cocky, I guess. :-D

I have it balanced with my work schedule that most days, I can get the +4 on the way out the door and that keeps me from worrying as much about leaving her. After a weekend like this, I'll have some butterflies when I have to leave for work on Monday. hopefully, this will level out but then. Sigh - I'm a worrier.

Sounds like our kitties are doing the same thing...nadir 3-5. I too have my work schedule changed so I can get the +4 as I leave.

Can totally relate to the butterflies as I leave. I started getting +2.5 readings in the mornings before work...so I can try and steer her numbers....she definitely gets more pokes on weekday mornings. Poor thing.


Shadow is looking great....Look at you...shooting a 82.....cool.
 
my favorite time of night - medication is done, food is done. she gets a few snacks overnight and I'll set an alarm for +4 BG, but everything else is done. what a couple of days for my big kitty-girl. she's sick of pokies, grumpy_cat I get the low rumble when I "invade her space." she got the neosporin with pain relief tonight, although she doesn't like me messing with her ears.

have a good night friends. I am very grateful for all the help.
 
Very nice day for Shadow indeed. after a while shooting the lower numbers gets easier. I think you're doing a great job with Shadow - such nice numbers. Have a great weekend!

Hey Shadow - I hear you on the pokies grumpy_cat ~~ Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top