9/25 Jack: 159@amps, 152@+3

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Very Active Member
I can't believe the last time I posted was over a month ago! ( 8/20 Jack: 152@amps, 43@+3 ) It has been SUCH a crazy month personally, professionally, and with the cats. I don't even know where to start!

Due to family & work situations, I've been out of the house, away, or unable to test a lot so I had decided to 'reset' Jack's normal dose at 4u. I expected to have to go up, but he surprised me, and started going low at night. In an attempt to get to a consistent dose, but manage my life, I started a 4u in the AM and 3u in the PM regimen, which honestly has gone pretty well. Most people will probably think he has too much blue on the sheet, but with the unpredictability of my availability (and lack of consistent, FD educated petsitters/caretakers) I'm ok with it. If he can sustain the blue/dark green zone on a regular basis, I have a better idea of what to tell the sitters to do for him. Plus, even though he may be 'above normal', the fact that I'm getting less bouncing is better for his organs overall, right? (Honest question, I thought bouncing was worse than staying high) Also, as the fourth year of dealing with Jack's diabetes comes to a close, comparing where we were in Jan of 2022 to where we are now, there is no room for complaints. Most days I honestly never thought we would ever be at this dose, with these colors on his sheet. Having the teeth out helped a great deal, as did the resulting (and much anticipated) elimination of kibble from his diet. Even the LC Elsey's kibble would hike his numbers. I do feel bad, he misses the dry food terribly, especially now that his mouth is fully healed from the dental surgery. So, every day after he and the kittens (3 year old terrors in reality) are done with their segregated breakfasts, I do let him 'find' 5 pieces of the Hill's c/d kibble that he can eat. And if he goes low, he does have around 5 Temptations treats. But the quality of his coat is improved, as well as his overall activity, and possibly even his weight, so I don't feel too bad about it. He does see some lower numbers (50s & 60s) on this dose as well...and the resulting yellow bounce unfortunately, so I am nervous to increase and start getting limes I can't manage. Jack takes a looooong time to do anything with a dose, so for now we just keep on keeping on, and hope & pray for the best.

Abby just had her thyroid levels rechecked this past weekend, and I'm expecting the numbers to be higher when the results come in next week. She is not consistently cooperative with the transdermal methimazole, and is honestly so miserable when I do get it on her, that I fear we will have to get the radioactive iodine done. For those who don't know her, she is my soon to be 18yo, mostly blind girl, who even when she was young, had a very 'small world' She is not adventurous, does not interact much, and has never been away from the house. I'm deeply concerned what being hospitalized for a week, and away from everyone and everything she has ever known, will do to her emotional and physical well being. I don't want her to think she is abandoned and just 'give up' on life, or get so stressed out she has a heart attack. Heart problems took her biological brother & sister at very early ages, and she does have an on again-off again murmer. This is one of the hardest treatment decisions I have ever had to make, and I just pray I make the right one for her.

Otis is an ongoing saga. Too much to type out on him, suffice to say he has good days and bad days. His new regimen is: First breakfast, and then about 45 mins later, a pain pill (50mg gabapentin) and an antacid pill (5mg famotadine) with some Temptations treats. Then he has lunch, with 1/4 teaspoon of nutritional yeast sprinkled on top (to boost his immune system and provide fiber for his diarrhea issues). Then he has First dinner, and before bed, Second dinner/supper. He has metronidazole and tylosin on hand to deal with his new IBD issues. I am starting to believe he thinks he is a hobbit with all these meals and supplemental feedings. He has had another round of antibiotics and steroids for his feet (he developed the plasma-cell pododermatitis) and I am praying the nutritional yeast has an immune boosting effect that makes those monthly injections no longer necessary.

The rest of the herd is hanging in...the kittens (soon to be 3 year olds) are passing the sneezies around, and my other old ladies Lily (18) and Smudge (16) are due for their check-ups and bloodwork, but need to wait on my Abby decision before they can be budgeted in. They seem ok, and quite content to be crabby old ladies!

I tried to check in with folks, apologies if I missed anyone- I didn't go past page 2 of this forum. Please know even if I'm not active on the board, you, and especially the kitties, are all active in my thoughts and prayers. Sending love, good health, and peaceful wishes to everyone here....
 
I can't believe the last time I posted was over a month ago! ( 8/20 Jack: 152@amps, 43@+3 ) It has been SUCH a crazy month personally, professionally, and with the cats. I don't even know where to start!

Due to family & work situations, I've been out of the house, away, or unable to test a lot so I had decided to 'reset' Jack's normal dose at 4u. I expected to have to go up, but he surprised me, and started going low at night. In an attempt to get to a consistent dose, but manage my life, I started a 4u in the AM and 3u in the PM regimen, which honestly has gone pretty well. Most people will probably think he has too much blue on the sheet, but with the unpredictability of my availability (and lack of consistent, FD educated petsitters/caretakers) I'm ok with it. If he can sustain the blue/dark green zone on a regular basis, I have a better idea of what to tell the sitters to do for him. Plus, even though he may be 'above normal', the fact that I'm getting less bouncing is better for his organs overall, right? (Honest question, I thought bouncing was worse than staying high) Also, as the fourth year of dealing with Jack's diabetes comes to a close, comparing where we were in Jan of 2022 to where we are now, there is no room for complaints. Most days I honestly never thought we would ever be at this dose, with these colors on his sheet. Having the teeth out helped a great deal, as did the resulting (and much anticipated) elimination of kibble from his diet. Even the LC Elsey's kibble would hike his numbers. I do feel bad, he misses the dry food terribly, especially now that his mouth is fully healed from the dental surgery. So, every day after he and the kittens (3 year old terrors in reality) are done with their segregated breakfasts, I do let him 'find' 5 pieces of the Hill's c/d kibble that he can eat. And if he goes low, he does have around 5 Temptations treats. But the quality of his coat is improved, as well as his overall activity, and possibly even his weight, so I don't feel too bad about it. He does see some lower numbers (50s & 60s) on this dose as well...and the resulting yellow bounce unfortunately, so I am nervous to increase and start getting limes I can't manage. Jack takes a looooong time to do anything with a dose, so for now we just keep on keeping on, and hope & pray for the best.

Abby just had her thyroid levels rechecked this past weekend, and I'm expecting the numbers to be higher when the results come in next week. She is not consistently cooperative with the transdermal methimazole, and is honestly so miserable when I do get it on her, that I fear we will have to get the radioactive iodine done. For those who don't know her, she is my soon to be 18yo, mostly blind girl, who even when she was young, had a very 'small world' She is not adventurous, does not interact much, and has never been away from the house. I'm deeply concerned what being hospitalized for a week, and away from everyone and everything she has ever known, will do to her emotional and physical well being. I don't want her to think she is abandoned and just 'give up' on life, or get so stressed out she has a heart attack. Heart problems took her biological brother & sister at very early ages, and she does have an on again-off again murmer. This is one of the hardest treatment decisions I have ever had to make, and I just pray I make the right one for her.

Otis is an ongoing saga. Too much to type out on him, suffice to say he has good days and bad days. His new regimen is: First breakfast, and then about 45 mins later, a pain pill (50mg gabapentin) and an antacid pill (5mg famotadine) with some Temptations treats. Then he has lunch, with 1/4 teaspoon of nutritional yeast sprinkled on top (to boost his immune system and provide fiber for his diarrhea issues). Then he has First dinner, and before bed, Second dinner/supper. He has metronidazole and tylosin on hand to deal with his new IBD issues. I am starting to believe he thinks he is a hobbit with all these meals and supplemental feedings. He has had another round of antibiotics and steroids for his feet (he developed the plasma-cell pododermatitis) and I am praying the nutritional yeast has an immune boosting effect that makes those monthly injections no longer necessary.

The rest of the herd is hanging in...the kittens (soon to be 3 year olds) are passing the sneezies around, and my other old ladies Lily (18) and Smudge (16) are due for their check-ups and bloodwork, but need to wait on my Abby decision before they can be budgeted in. They seem ok, and quite content to be crabby old ladies!

I tried to check in with folks, apologies if I missed anyone- I didn't go past page 2 of this forum. Please know even if I'm not active on the board, you, and especially the kitties, are all active in my thoughts and prayers. Sending love, good health, and peaceful wishes to everyone here....
Hi Christine! Oh my what a saga. It really does get long when there's been so much happening!
Jack's spreadsheet looks beautiful!! Congratulations on getting him so nice and stable!! (I'm jealous!)
And glad he has really given up the kibble! Big deal in your house!!

I really hope Abby's T4 is ok! I know how difficult the decision is about the I131.
You know I can relate to that one, I don't think Ivy would fare well either being away and not eating.
It's such a huge problem, I really wish it could be just an overnight stay! 😪😭

I hope you can keep Otis as stable as possible, he's got so much you are balancing and doing such a great job as always. Your entire gang is so lucky to have you as their mama, Christine!❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹

Sending you and the herd lots of hugs and healing vines 🍃🍃🍀🍀 for everyone! It's awesome to see your post and hope you are able to find some time to try to relax. Thanks for checking in 😻❤️‍🩹❤️:bighug:🫂
 
Wow! Your sweet little clowder--just limping along:bighug:And you're doing your best to care for them all!
Your sweet little Abby...good luck with that treatment decision. 18, blind, and living in a "small world." That's a tough one. My last clowder had two in it, and one of them had the radioactive iodine treatment; he did fine, but he had a fairly strong sense of self-esteem. Also, the people at the clinic fell in love with him and loved on him a lot.
Tell me about the kittens? I, too, have three kittens, 2.5 years old. All healthy; Harper just went through a month-long antibiotic treatment for bordetella and chlamydia felis; so far, the runny eye has not returned, so I'm hoping we are through that battle. Also, they are all just about through The Crazy stage. Yay. John Lewis is my destroyer of any and all things, but he's also the sweetest of them all, including the non-kittens, Jude and Hazel. He's a 17 lb house panther.
 
Back
Top